We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepless in Perham, MN” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perham
Certificate of Excellence
MN
Level Contributor
290 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Perham, MN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

On 9/15/12, we attended a class reunion in the area and stayed at Crossings Inn & Suites in Perham, MN. When we made our reservation, we specifically requested a quiet room. We were thrilled that Crossings Inn & Suites is a new and is a smoke-free and pet-free facility.

We came back to our room after a wonderful reunion and went to bed, unaware that our room was in the middle of a block of rooms reserved by a wedding party. Members of the wedding party returned to Crossings Inn & Suites at 1 AM and continued with their 'partying'. People ran from room-to-room, slamming doors, shouting, drinking and smoking. A woman was even wrapped up in sheets, sitting on the floor outside of her room. People were 'partying' in the hall around her. We placed a call to the front desk night staff person and were told that the unruly behavior would be addressed. Things quieted down for a short while. [The police were called, but as soon as they left, the unruly behavior of the wedding party escalated again.] At 3:00 AM, our repeated calls to the front desk went unanswered. Finally, by 3:15 AM the front desk night staff person answered the phone. We informed her that the awful situation with the wedding party's behavior was unacceptable and that we expected to be reimbursed for our room. The next day we learned that the night staff person was new and inexperienced in dealing with problem situations.

In the end, we didn't pay $$$ for our room, but we did pay for it by not getting any sleep and having our weekend ruined by other disrespectful guests. It's unfortunate that the night staff person was poorly trained and that there was not a plan in place to provide backup management support to her.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravelersMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy K, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thanks for your comments, and I am sorry to hear of your experience. I want to express that
while certainly not the norm at our property. While we do enjoy a lively atmosphere, we also want each of our guests to feel they are treated with the highest level of service! I’ve brought your comments up with our team, so we can always stay on top of any questions or concerns which may be voiced.
I’ve brought this example up with our team, so we can be sure the level of service we expect from ourselves and other guests is consistently being offered to each of our guests. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again, so we may show you our true standard of service. Please let me know how I can help in arranging this.
Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    51
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
118
31
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in a king suite for 2 nights. Beds were extremely comfortable. Room was equipped with everything we needed. Kids enjoyed the pool and play area outside. We also took advantage of the grill outside and the fire pit. We had forget to bring ketchup and the front desk provided it to us. The breakfast was great with lots of items to choose from. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birchbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy K, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know all the great experiences you had while staying with us. We truly value our guest comments. We strive to make every guest experience, one to be remembered. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and made your stay GRAND! We are so thankful for your continued loyalty to the brand and we look forward to having you as a guest the next time you visit the Perham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Recently stayed at the Crossings while attending a family reunion. Rooms were clean, and in good order. Free WiFi. Free breakfast - more than continental, but short of full options. However, it should meet the needs of most people. I noticed they had a nice patio with a large gas grill for use. Very convenient as a grocery store is right next door. Staff was very friendly. I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCDave64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy K, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you so much for the kind comments regarding our hotel. We are very proud of the work that we do and your comments continue to motivate us to be the best in the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed in a nice large room with a king bed and a Whirlpool tub. The room was clean and in excellent condition. The only thing we didn't like about the room was the shower head. It sprayed in a cone with no water in the middle, which made it difficult to rinse off.

The facility had an indoor pool, which was well used (not by us). The continental breakfast was a little better than typical with a few more choices. This facility would be our choice when we stay in Perham Minnesota again.

Room Tip: The room with a Whirlpool tube was only $10 more, which was a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy K, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you so much for the kind comments regarding our hotel. We are very proud of the work that we do and your comments continue to motivate us to be the best in the business. We are always looking for feedback that will help us improve our hotel and our guests’ experience. We already have taken care of the water pressure issue for the shower. It ended up being a fairly easy fix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We checked in very late, around 11pm. I asked the desk clerk if I could get any extra pillows. Her response was very short, NO. She must have read the expression on my face and then she explained that there are 4 pillows on each bed, but there are no extra pillows in the hotel.

I was taken aback when we arrived and stepped out of our vehicle. The hotel is in a very rural area and there was a very strong smell of cow manure outside and circulated into the room when the A/C was started.

No ventilation in the bathrooms, and No grab bars in the tub.

The mattresses were ok but appear to be worn.

I passed on the breakfast buffet, I could not eat with the smell.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy K, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Good Afternoon Trisha-
I appreciate your comments. It helps us provide better customer service to our guests. I wanted to address the issues you have addressed. I wanted you to know that we were awaiting on the arrival of the pillows we had order, so that is why we did not have extra pillows in the hotel. However, I do apologize greatly for how she responded to you. I spoke to our Front Desk Staff that had assisted you at check in and addressed the issue with her as well.

In regards to the ventilation in the bathroom- the fan/vent is built in and is silent. We are working on putting grab bars in all the suites. At this time we only have grab bars in our handicapable suites.

Our hotel is now almost 4 years old and the mattresses are slept on quite bit. We are in the process of replacing mattress as they get worn out. We are able to do this as guests advise us when they are staying and to which rooms we are needing to provide extra attention.

The smell you had smelt is from a lagoon near our area. This is an issue the city takes very seriously as they are working on diminishing the smell that you had run into while here. It rarely occurs now.

I do hope you come & stay again. I would love the opportunity to "WOW " you.

Sincerely & Respectfully,

Amy
General Manager
Crossings Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

From the checkin to the checkout it wexceeeded expectations. The front desk staff went overboard in making us feel welcome. Special kudos to Amy. Pool nice and having something hot for breakfast made it one extra step. Will definitetly be back when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy K, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you so much for all the wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to have gained you as a loyal customer. We strive each day to be the best in the business. We are very thankful to have had the opportunity to "WOW" you.

Sincerely
Amy K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I recently stayed overnight for a business trip. The hotel does not have an elevator, the only reason i rated it average. There was a bar and a breakfast bar and the room accommodations were great. Checkout was a breeze.

Room Tip: Pick a higher number if you want a more quiet room, away from the stairs and lobby noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoulek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy K, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for your comments. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Please let me know if you will be back with us soon and I’m happy to help with any questions or concerns .Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns, and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perham
10.7 mi away
Thumper Pond Resort
Thumper Pond Resort
#1 of 2 in Ottertail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
18.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#4 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
19.6 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#6 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
19.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
#2 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
Address: 231 Market Dr, Perham, MN 56573-2120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Perham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GrandStay(R) Hotel & Suites Perham is conveniently located off Hwy 10 and MN-78 in the heart of lake country. Resort like stay all year long here at our hotel. Come and stay in one of our 4 Extended Suites (sleeps 4) w/fireplace. It is a One Bedroom with a King bed & the living room has a Queen sofa that pulls out. Included in suite is a Kitchenette. If you are here on a romantic getaway try out our King Whirlpool suites. Whether you're here on business or vacation, you're sure to enjoy your stay. We offer complimentary hot Grand Start Breakfast, free WI-FI, indoor pool, whirlpool, Moonlight Lounge/Bar, playground, gas grill & fire pit. You're more than a guest, you're family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing