We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay - August 2012”
Review of Andor Wenneson Inn

Andor Wenneson Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Andor Wenneson Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterson B&B and Inns
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay - August 2012”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spent this past weekend at the Wenneson Historic Inn. We were very pleased with our room selection (The Loft) and the thoughtfulness of the hosts, Pam & Barry Erickson. We had selected the Wenneson Historic Inn due to its proximity to the Root River bicycle trail, which we are very familiar with. Pam & Barry offered us the opportunity to store our bicycles in their garage, which was a huge benefit, so that we didn't need to haul them all over with us when not actually bicycling. They provided a very artistically presented continental breakfast, including fresh waffles, which were a great start for days of bicycling. The fresh fruit was fabulous as well! The hotel was very clean, the whole area is very quiet, which was a nice benefit for us, as we tend to enjoy quiet pastimes. Pam and Barry were very pleasant conversationalists, entertaining the guests at breakfast time. We will definitely return.

Joel and Betsy Sullivan - Minneapolis, MN

Room Tip: We loved The Loft - a nice quiet location with its own entrance - (may not be suitable for folks who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    2
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I read the recent posts from the family that stayed here and was a bit surprised. This was not our experience AT ALL. It's sad that an entire family (who obviously does not like rules - which most B&B's have very strict rules) would sign up on tripadvisor just to post bad reviews. My first thought while reading these reviews was that they must not stay at B&B's regularly.

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for some couple time and to bike the Root River Trail (another benefit to this B&B is that you can leave your bikes locked in their garage overnight, which is a very nice perk if you have expensive bikes). Another perk is that this B&B is literally 50 feet from the Root River Trail.

We stayed in the Coachman's room which was beautifully decorated. This B&B is spotless. The room was a little cool when we arrived, but my husband likes it that way and I figured it would be nice coming back from our ride to a cool room. When we returned that evening from our ride, the room was warm. We talked to the Innkeeper, Pam, who gladly set out to find out what the problem was. She must have found it because it started to cool down shortly after that. Thank you, Pam! We enjoyed a very quiet, undisturbed night at the Wenneson. Most B&B's usually have very strict quiet time (they are not hotels) and this B&B was no exception. It was quiet all night.

On Sunday morning we slept in and I thought we had missed breakfast. The B&B's I have stayed at in the past serve breakfast at a specific time. The Wenneson served breakfast starting at 8:30 until 10:00. When we walked in at 9:50 Pam was waiting in the kitchen with muffins, danishes, coffee, milk, orange juice, waffles, cereal, fresh fruit at hand. She greeted us, offered to make fresh waffles (which we declined since we were so late). Pam chatted with us and told us the history of the B&B. We were going to head out for another ride but it started storming. Pam hung out with us on the porch for 2 hours talking with us. She is a wonderful host. We did not get to meet her husband (who did most of the handywork at this beautiful establishment), but we can only assume he is just as friendly as Pam. When the skies did finally clear, we set out for our ride. Pam told us we could just leave our truck there for the day with no problem.

The majority of B&B's we have stayed at were in Alaska and these B&Bs had very strict rules governing quiet time and the Innkeepers will not disturb you nor will they come into your room while you are staying there. Most B&B clients use B&B's for the quiet time and that is why they are avid B&B'ers - they do not like the hustle and bustle of hotels. We loved this B&B and we will return hopefully soon. If you are looking for quiet, relaxing, undisturbed time away this is your place to be! If you are looking for a place to party, I would suggest a hotel.

Room Tip: The Coachman's Room is on the top floor away from the other rooms. If you want to be away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Quite frankly, I never complain. However, after spending 3 nights with several other unsatisfied family members, I felt this time it was necessary. The Inn was extremely CLEAN and WELL MAINTAINED on the interior except. The exterior of the building is in need of a full painting and front deck/porch maintenance. The owners forced us to keep the thermostat at 74 degrees with just the fan on (this does NOT move any cooler air, despite it being nearly 90 degrees outside. Wanted the lights out and complete quietness at 10 PM. We had no access to the living room, dining room, public bathroom, kitchen, etc. areas at all in the evening hours. And yes, we supplied our own garbage bags and ultimately the family took the owners pickup to empty the garbage on their own, as the owners were seemingly not able to do so on their own. LOOK ELSEWHERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andersons6_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
We have central air conditioners, keep them at 73-74 degrees with the airconditioner fan on at all times so all three floors stay the same temperature. If you turn off the fan of course it will be cooler downstairs and upstairs it will be hot-that is what they did. I don't know anyones airconditioner that could keep up when there ends up being over 66 people having a party going in and out of the door, and then openning windows wide open in 90 degree weather. The guests or their guests did this, not us. We also have no public restroom, no public laundry, and we always keep the kitchen and dining areas locked when not serving breakfast. It is my private kitchen, there is no public kitchen. Not once did anyone even ring either of our doorbells to ask for anything. When we talked to guests they said they had a nice party and were enjoying time together.
Some of their relatives who live in a nearby town said they could take some of the garbage bags as our dumpster was not big enough. There was at least 11 leaf size bags full from the party I didn't charge them for,even though it turned out to way, way more than we had been discussed when they first booked the rooms.I never would have let them have it here if I had known. I also never would have suspected they would throw that garbage in a ditch outside our town. Who does that this day and age?
We have NEVER told someone they had to go to bed at 10 pm. ever. My husband should have called the sheriff the first night when "after midnight" he asked them to quiet down so the neighbors could sleep and one of the intoxicated men tried to come after him but a table was between them and then one of the men stopped him. One of their comments was-"We don't have to quiet down, I don't think they have any police in this town anyways".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

If you book this place, please note the following:
1. You may not stay up after 10 pm
2. You may not touch the thermostat
3. You may not open the windows
4. You will not be served breakfast Monday -friday
5. If you don't eat the cold cereal and fruit we serve you as our breakfast on Saturday, you will see it again on Sunday
6. You will be reauired to haul the trash you generate In our pick up truck
7. you may use our refridgerator between 9am and 10 pm then we lock it
8. You can trip over our furniture but you may not move it
9. You may not use one of several washing machines
10. You will only see the owner if you are perceived to be breaking a rule
11. You will not have any cell phone coverage
12. You will not get fresh towels or a room tidy
13. You will not get more than one roll of toilet paper no matter how long you stay
14. You will find that this list is incomplete

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Janyne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
This family was telling us how much they loved there stay until we told them that they were responsible for getting rid of the pickup load full of trash that came from the party that they had of over 60 people in our 9 room B&B.We asked them to Please Quit down at 12PM (not 10 )because we didn't want to disturb the neighbors. There response was ( your town doesn't have any police.) and then wanted to argue which I did not do. We tried to hid out in our bed room and hope for the best and wait it out.They kept turning our living quarters temp down to 60 on the central air. We shouldn't have let them us our private space. They warned us that their was 66 people that would give us a bad review .
We found the party trash about a mile out of town on a country hill road. Can you imagine what kind of people these were. I have to replace a window screen repair a wall in our Parlor, and repair a antique light.The MN DNR is coming to take pictures and said they would go after the person responsible for it. All of the complaints are not true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

While the Wenneson is lovely in apprearance and very clean.....it seriously lacks in hospitality.
We were asked to go bed by 10pm, they regulate the thermostats (and they will come in your room and adjust it), they provided no ammenities other than a less to be desired breakfast and our rooms were not cleaned throughout our stay we had to ask for more towels.
There is little to no cell phone service, the WiFi is intermittent, the rooms have no clocks, dressers or closets.
I would highly recommend checking into other B&B's in the area before staying at the Wenneson, the owners clearly do not have the skills to run a successful B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
This person is one of the group that was staying here who evidentally is trying to ruin our business. This group seemed pretty happy and said they had a nice bithday party until it was time for them to leave.
Please see other comments from all our other guests who have been here "Not this group" and had a much different experience. Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We rented the whole house and were made to feel like we were an inconvenience to Pam and Barry. The owners scolded us for being up past 10, requested that we pay for our own trash removal and were not friendly at all. We were afraid to feel at home and it was hot, the kitchen was locked, no breakfast during week and very run down. Skip this one. Sadly memorable for bad reasons. Oh, and spiders in room. Bad memory, won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Same unhappy group as they were evidentally left with the impression that it was a whole house rental--wasn't. I guess they are trying to ruin us now as they have left bad reviews any where they can think of.
Please read other guests reviews and come to your own conclusion. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The place was beautiful and clean but I found the hospitality to be extremely poor. The owners do not like the thermostat touched and locked the door to the public restroom for the majority of the day on Sunday. They locked the doors to the kitchen, dining room and living room. They complained when we were talking to loud on the deck because their window is close but locked the door to the living area. If you are merely just staying here for the bedroom it would be wonderful. However, most people would like be able to use the microwave and eat at a table.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Anonymous2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
I wonder what kind of a place people thought this was, they must think it was a house rental. They left Sunday to go to Lanesboro and go through some cames .I always keep my private kitchen and dining area locked except at breakfast time. I had let them use my dining area for the party they had - This is a Bed and Breakfast not whole house rental. I think the two that reserved the rooms didn't let the rest of the family know this. We don't have a public restroom and ALL their bedrooms have private bathrooms so what was the problem there? There is a parlor right off of the lobby for the guests, open at all times ,and the deck has a covered porch with tables and chairs. The person who rented rooms through me knew all of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Andor Wenneson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andor Wenneson Inn

Property: Andor Wenneson Inn
Address: 425 Prospect St, Peterson, MN 55962-9502
Region: United States > Minnesota > Peterson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andor Wenneson Inn was built in 1904 along the tracks of the Southern Minnesota Railroad, now the beautiful Root River State Trail. Built by businessman W. Andor Wenneson, the hotel served rail travelers coming through Peterson for many years. The building changed hands several times, also serving as a boarding house and eventually as apartments. It then sat empty for about ten years. In 1994, it was completely restored and renovated to its historical beauty and charm. In 2001, the carriage house was built into four more rooms, making a total of nine rooms in the Inn. Each room is complete with a private bath available for guests, including two with whirlpool tubs. The third-floor suite has two bedrooms and a sitting room; with elegant dormers and window seats overlooking the courtyard and bluffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Andor Wenneson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing