We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Andor Wenneson Inn

Andor Wenneson Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Andor Wenneson Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterson B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I recently spent a weekend in Peterson as guests at the Wenneson Historic Inn.
Not only is the inn itself very unique and charming, but the hosts were very gracious and accomodating to us, such as offering to lock our bicycles into their own garage overnight for safekeeping. We stayed in a separate building - an old bank(!) building that has been converted by the Inn owners to a residence-type room. This building is about a block away from the main inn, and when I accidently locked our key in the room on the first day there, a quick call to the owner brought her walking over to let us back in. The room was nicely appointed, very large, comfortable, and quiet even though it is on Peterson's main street, next to a restaurant. We are already making plans to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    2
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We can not thank you enough for such a wonderful weekend. You not only meet but exceeded all of our expectations. The room was extemely comfortable, breakfast was great and the game of 'Words with Friends' will not be the same without you. Our very best to you and your bed & breakfast. We cannot wait to come back to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spent this past weekend at the Wenneson Historic Inn. We were very pleased with our room selection (The Loft) and the thoughtfulness of the hosts, Pam & Barry Erickson. We had selected the Wenneson Historic Inn due to its proximity to the Root River bicycle trail, which we are very familiar with. Pam & Barry offered us the opportunity to store our bicycles in their garage, which was a huge benefit, so that we didn't need to haul them all over with us when not actually bicycling. They provided a very artistically presented continental breakfast, including fresh waffles, which were a great start for days of bicycling. The fresh fruit was fabulous as well! The hotel was very clean, the whole area is very quiet, which was a nice benefit for us, as we tend to enjoy quiet pastimes. Pam and Barry were very pleasant conversationalists, entertaining the guests at breakfast time. We will definitely return.

Joel and Betsy Sullivan - Minneapolis, MN

Room Tip: We loved The Loft - a nice quiet location with its own entrance - (may not be suitable for folks who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I read the recent posts from the family that stayed here and was a bit surprised. This was not our experience AT ALL. It's sad that an entire family (who obviously does not like rules - which most B&B's have very strict rules) would sign up on tripadvisor just to post bad reviews. My first thought while reading these reviews was that they must not stay at B&B's regularly.

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for some couple time and to bike the Root River Trail (another benefit to this B&B is that you can leave your bikes locked in their garage overnight, which is a very nice perk if you have expensive bikes). Another perk is that this B&B is literally 50 feet from the Root River Trail.

We stayed in the Coachman's room which was beautifully decorated. This B&B is spotless. The room was a little cool when we arrived, but my husband likes it that way and I figured it would be nice coming back from our ride to a cool room. When we returned that evening from our ride, the room was warm. We talked to the Innkeeper, Pam, who gladly set out to find out what the problem was. She must have found it because it started to cool down shortly after that. Thank you, Pam! We enjoyed a very quiet, undisturbed night at the Wenneson. Most B&B's usually have very strict quiet time (they are not hotels) and this B&B was no exception. It was quiet all night.

On Sunday morning we slept in and I thought we had missed breakfast. The B&B's I have stayed at in the past serve breakfast at a specific time. The Wenneson served breakfast starting at 8:30 until 10:00. When we walked in at 9:50 Pam was waiting in the kitchen with muffins, danishes, coffee, milk, orange juice, waffles, cereal, fresh fruit at hand. She greeted us, offered to make fresh waffles (which we declined since we were so late). Pam chatted with us and told us the history of the B&B. We were going to head out for another ride but it started storming. Pam hung out with us on the porch for 2 hours talking with us. She is a wonderful host. We did not get to meet her husband (who did most of the handywork at this beautiful establishment), but we can only assume he is just as friendly as Pam. When the skies did finally clear, we set out for our ride. Pam told us we could just leave our truck there for the day with no problem.

The majority of B&B's we have stayed at were in Alaska and these B&Bs had very strict rules governing quiet time and the Innkeepers will not disturb you nor will they come into your room while you are staying there. Most B&B clients use B&B's for the quiet time and that is why they are avid B&B'ers - they do not like the hustle and bustle of hotels. We loved this B&B and we will return hopefully soon. If you are looking for quiet, relaxing, undisturbed time away this is your place to be! If you are looking for a place to party, I would suggest a hotel.

Room Tip: The Coachman's Room is on the top floor away from the other rooms. If you want to be away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

we were very excited to book all the rooms in this inn, thinking it would give us a great place to be together for our family reunion. while we certainly enjoyed our time together, we were made to feel like a major imposition on the owners. they graciously allowed us to have our party, but we were told we could not use the microwave or oven. the doors to the common areas were locked after the party and we couldn't use them for the rest of our stay. thankfully the weather was nice so we could gather on the porch. the rooms were pretty and spotlessly clean, but there was no closet or place to set your suitcase. the most frustrating part was the owners unwillingness to communicate. they left several rude notes rather than speaking to us in person. they were completely unprepared to have a full house and made up rules as they went along. we provided our own garbage bags at the owners request, and they still made us haul it off ourselves. i'm sure pam and barry are nice people, but they have a lot to learn about the hospitality industry. it wasn't like staying at grandma's house at all.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tande13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
This is the same family that has been giving us bad reviews because they're mad. They rented all our rooms but thought they owned our place. They told me when they reserved, two months prior they only needed the front porch for the get together.We had originally been told it was a small, (Quiet) family get together.We were informed shortly before their stay that their would be 50, then it turned out to be 66, we just hoped for the best. The common areas that they are talking about are our private areas that we live in and only open for breakfast.
We opened it up for them for their party on Saturday because of the quantity of people but closed it Sunday afternoon when we were not home. We had to get out a while because we were seeing our historic Inn and home abused. The notes that we left were on the thermostats because they kept turning them down in our living quarters, and we were freezing in our bedroom. After notes they still turned them down to 60 and opened windows on a hot humid day. We finally had to pull the plug on our personal quarters central air-conditioner. These people thought they owned the whole house just because they rented the rooms. We have no public laundry which they claimed we wouldn't let them use but they never asked ,yet they went through my cupboards and used my iron without asking, as we found it in one of their rooms. We have no public restroom yet they claimed we wouldn't let them use it-All guest rooms have private bathrooms. We let them use our refrigerator in our private garage, we locked it after midnight,when we asked them to quiet down on the front porch, never 10 as they claim.We have tools in our garage so we lock it at night. After 18 years this is by far the worst weekend we have ever had. After this we really appreciate and enjoy our normal guests. It's hard to believe we bent over backwards to let them have a nice party (no charge) and they get mad because we held them responsible for the party garbage which our country neighbors found next to their road and also our city worker found some of it next to the bike trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

So sad to say how rude these people were, stomping around upset becuase guests(which by the way were all related) were up past 10;00 pm visiting on the porch because were not allowed in living area. Brothers and sisters and their families that havent been together in 10 years. No other guests around. We are not roudy people, we just wanted to visit.... telling adults to go to bed at a certain time, locking doors, No use of micro waves and one frig to put food and drinks in, which by the way was locked at 10 pm. I was asked by several people to bring a brochure, they were also interested....nope ....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
This family is mad because they had 66 people to our 9 room B&B and we asked them to Please quite down at 12PM ,I see that they are writting 10PM ,The second night I didn't say anything and they were out to1:30AM. I think that the thing that really made them mad was we told them that they were responsible for getting rid of a pickup load of party trash. Every one of their complaints are fabricated, some are almost funny. We found the party trash on a hill road about one mile out of town. The MN DNR is investigating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Quite frankly, I never complain. However, after spending 3 nights with several other unsatisfied family members, I felt this time it was necessary. The Inn was extremely CLEAN and WELL MAINTAINED on the interior except. The exterior of the building is in need of a full painting and front deck/porch maintenance. The owners forced us to keep the thermostat at 74 degrees with just the fan on (this does NOT move any cooler air, despite it being nearly 90 degrees outside. Wanted the lights out and complete quietness at 10 PM. We had no access to the living room, dining room, public bathroom, kitchen, etc. areas at all in the evening hours. And yes, we supplied our own garbage bags and ultimately the family took the owners pickup to empty the garbage on their own, as the owners were seemingly not able to do so on their own. LOOK ELSEWHERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andersons6_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
We have central air conditioners, keep them at 73-74 degrees with the airconditioner fan on at all times so all three floors stay the same temperature. If you turn off the fan of course it will be cooler downstairs and upstairs it will be hot-that is what they did. I don't know anyones airconditioner that could keep up when there ends up being over 66 people having a party going in and out of the door, and then openning windows wide open in 90 degree weather. The guests or their guests did this, not us. We also have no public restroom, no public laundry, and we always keep the kitchen and dining areas locked when not serving breakfast. It is my private kitchen, there is no public kitchen. Not once did anyone even ring either of our doorbells to ask for anything. When we talked to guests they said they had a nice party and were enjoying time together.
Some of their relatives who live in a nearby town said they could take some of the garbage bags as our dumpster was not big enough. There was at least 11 leaf size bags full from the party I didn't charge them for,even though it turned out to way, way more than we had been discussed when they first booked the rooms.I never would have let them have it here if I had known. I also never would have suspected they would throw that garbage in a ditch outside our town. Who does that this day and age?
We have NEVER told someone they had to go to bed at 10 pm. ever. My husband should have called the sheriff the first night when "after midnight" he asked them to quiet down so the neighbors could sleep and one of the intoxicated men tried to come after him but a table was between them and then one of the men stopped him. One of their comments was-"We don't have to quiet down, I don't think they have any police in this town anyways".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Andor Wenneson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andor Wenneson Inn

Property: Andor Wenneson Inn
Address: 425 Prospect St, Peterson, MN 55962-9502
Region: United States > Minnesota > Peterson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterson
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andor Wenneson Inn was built in 1904 along the tracks of the Southern Minnesota Railroad, now the beautiful Root River State Trail. Built by businessman W. Andor Wenneson, the hotel served rail travelers coming through Peterson for many years. The building changed hands several times, also serving as a boarding house and eventually as apartments. It then sat empty for about ten years. In 1994, it was completely restored and renovated to its historical beauty and charm. In 2001, the carriage house was built into four more rooms, making a total of nine rooms in the Inn. Each room is complete with a private bath available for guests, including two with whirlpool tubs. The third-floor suite has two bedrooms and a sitting room; with elegant dormers and window seats overlooking the courtyard and bluffs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing