We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was really impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Andor Wenneson Inn

Andor Wenneson Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Andor Wenneson Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterson B&B and Inns
Manchester, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Was really impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was a very nice, historic inn that was restored beautifully. We stayed in a beautiful, spotless room with our own bathroom and had a secure place to store our bikes. There was a large porch to sit and relax in the quiet little town and a beautiful fountain. She had roses and other flowers for us to enjoy. Our hosts were very friendly and full of stories and history of the area! We had a wonderful breakfast. We will definitely stay there again! The only thing is we had to go to another town to eat supper. A little restaurant or pub there would be nice!

Room Tip: go to their website and look at the different choices. They also have a bank they are re-doing that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    2
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I spent last weekend at the Wenneson Historic Inn. Our hosts, Barry and Pam could not have been nicer. We were treated with first rate hospitality. The room was nicely decorated, charming and spotless- we've never been in a cleaner room. The common areas were warm and welcoming. We had a nice breakfast - Belgian waffles,pastries,fresh fruit,juices- with good conversation with Barry and Pam. The location was convenient to all of the local attractions including right off the bike trail. Barry and Pam graciously helped us with our minor bike repair and helped us schedule a golf outing. We would highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a quiet get- away

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan and Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I recently spent a weekend in Peterson as guests at the Wenneson Historic Inn.
Not only is the inn itself very unique and charming, but the hosts were very gracious and accomodating to us, such as offering to lock our bicycles into their own garage overnight for safekeeping. We stayed in a separate building - an old bank(!) building that has been converted by the Inn owners to a residence-type room. This building is about a block away from the main inn, and when I accidently locked our key in the room on the first day there, a quick call to the owner brought her walking over to let us back in. The room was nicely appointed, very large, comfortable, and quiet even though it is on Peterson's main street, next to a restaurant. We are already making plans to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We can not thank you enough for such a wonderful weekend. You not only meet but exceeded all of our expectations. The room was extemely comfortable, breakfast was great and the game of 'Words with Friends' will not be the same without you. Our very best to you and your bed & breakfast. We cannot wait to come back to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spent this past weekend at the Wenneson Historic Inn. We were very pleased with our room selection (The Loft) and the thoughtfulness of the hosts, Pam & Barry Erickson. We had selected the Wenneson Historic Inn due to its proximity to the Root River bicycle trail, which we are very familiar with. Pam & Barry offered us the opportunity to store our bicycles in their garage, which was a huge benefit, so that we didn't need to haul them all over with us when not actually bicycling. They provided a very artistically presented continental breakfast, including fresh waffles, which were a great start for days of bicycling. The fresh fruit was fabulous as well! The hotel was very clean, the whole area is very quiet, which was a nice benefit for us, as we tend to enjoy quiet pastimes. Pam and Barry were very pleasant conversationalists, entertaining the guests at breakfast time. We will definitely return.

Joel and Betsy Sullivan - Minneapolis, MN

Room Tip: We loved The Loft - a nice quiet location with its own entrance - (may not be suitable for folks who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I read the recent posts from the family that stayed here and was a bit surprised. This was not our experience AT ALL. It's sad that an entire family (who obviously does not like rules - which most B&B's have very strict rules) would sign up on tripadvisor just to post bad reviews. My first thought while reading these reviews was that they must not stay at B&B's regularly.

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for some couple time and to bike the Root River Trail (another benefit to this B&B is that you can leave your bikes locked in their garage overnight, which is a very nice perk if you have expensive bikes). Another perk is that this B&B is literally 50 feet from the Root River Trail.

We stayed in the Coachman's room which was beautifully decorated. This B&B is spotless. The room was a little cool when we arrived, but my husband likes it that way and I figured it would be nice coming back from our ride to a cool room. When we returned that evening from our ride, the room was warm. We talked to the Innkeeper, Pam, who gladly set out to find out what the problem was. She must have found it because it started to cool down shortly after that. Thank you, Pam! We enjoyed a very quiet, undisturbed night at the Wenneson. Most B&B's usually have very strict quiet time (they are not hotels) and this B&B was no exception. It was quiet all night.

On Sunday morning we slept in and I thought we had missed breakfast. The B&B's I have stayed at in the past serve breakfast at a specific time. The Wenneson served breakfast starting at 8:30 until 10:00. When we walked in at 9:50 Pam was waiting in the kitchen with muffins, danishes, coffee, milk, orange juice, waffles, cereal, fresh fruit at hand. She greeted us, offered to make fresh waffles (which we declined since we were so late). Pam chatted with us and told us the history of the B&B. We were going to head out for another ride but it started storming. Pam hung out with us on the porch for 2 hours talking with us. She is a wonderful host. We did not get to meet her husband (who did most of the handywork at this beautiful establishment), but we can only assume he is just as friendly as Pam. When the skies did finally clear, we set out for our ride. Pam told us we could just leave our truck there for the day with no problem.

The majority of B&B's we have stayed at were in Alaska and these B&Bs had very strict rules governing quiet time and the Innkeepers will not disturb you nor will they come into your room while you are staying there. Most B&B clients use B&B's for the quiet time and that is why they are avid B&B'ers - they do not like the hustle and bustle of hotels. We loved this B&B and we will return hopefully soon. If you are looking for quiet, relaxing, undisturbed time away this is your place to be! If you are looking for a place to party, I would suggest a hotel.

Room Tip: The Coachman's Room is on the top floor away from the other rooms. If you want to be away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

we were very excited to book all the rooms in this inn, thinking it would give us a great place to be together for our family reunion. while we certainly enjoyed our time together, we were made to feel like a major imposition on the owners. they graciously allowed us to have our party, but we were told we could not use the microwave or oven. the doors to the common areas were locked after the party and we couldn't use them for the rest of our stay. thankfully the weather was nice so we could gather on the porch. the rooms were pretty and spotlessly clean, but there was no closet or place to set your suitcase. the most frustrating part was the owners unwillingness to communicate. they left several rude notes rather than speaking to us in person. they were completely unprepared to have a full house and made up rules as they went along. we provided our own garbage bags at the owners request, and they still made us haul it off ourselves. i'm sure pam and barry are nice people, but they have a lot to learn about the hospitality industry. it wasn't like staying at grandma's house at all.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tande13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
This is the same family that has been giving us bad reviews because they're mad. They rented all our rooms but thought they owned our place. They told me when they reserved, two months prior they only needed the front porch for the get together.We had originally been told it was a small, (Quiet) family get together.We were informed shortly before their stay that their would be 50, then it turned out to be 66, we just hoped for the best. The common areas that they are talking about are our private areas that we live in and only open for breakfast.
We opened it up for them for their party on Saturday because of the quantity of people but closed it Sunday afternoon when we were not home. We had to get out a while because we were seeing our historic Inn and home abused. The notes that we left were on the thermostats because they kept turning them down in our living quarters, and we were freezing in our bedroom. After notes they still turned them down to 60 and opened windows on a hot humid day. We finally had to pull the plug on our personal quarters central air-conditioner. These people thought they owned the whole house just because they rented the rooms. We have no public laundry which they claimed we wouldn't let them use but they never asked ,yet they went through my cupboards and used my iron without asking, as we found it in one of their rooms. We have no public restroom yet they claimed we wouldn't let them use it-All guest rooms have private bathrooms. We let them use our refrigerator in our private garage, we locked it after midnight,when we asked them to quiet down on the front porch, never 10 as they claim.We have tools in our garage so we lock it at night. After 18 years this is by far the worst weekend we have ever had. After this we really appreciate and enjoy our normal guests. It's hard to believe we bent over backwards to let them have a nice party (no charge) and they get mad because we held them responsible for the party garbage which our country neighbors found next to their road and also our city worker found some of it next to the bike trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Andor Wenneson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andor Wenneson Inn

Property: Andor Wenneson Inn
Address: 425 Prospect St, Peterson, MN 55962-9502
Region: United States > Minnesota > Peterson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterson
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andor Wenneson Inn was built in 1904 along the tracks of the Southern Minnesota Railroad, now the beautiful Root River State Trail. Built by businessman W. Andor Wenneson, the hotel served rail travelers coming through Peterson for many years. The building changed hands several times, also serving as a boarding house and eventually as apartments. It then sat empty for about ten years. In 1994, it was completely restored and renovated to its historical beauty and charm. In 2001, the carriage house was built into four more rooms, making a total of nine rooms in the Inn. Each room is complete with a private bath available for guests, including two with whirlpool tubs. The third-floor suite has two bedrooms and a sitting room; with elegant dormers and window seats overlooking the courtyard and bluffs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing