We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean(relatively) But Smelly Room, Dirty Exterior, HORRIBLE BED!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Plymouth
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean(relatively) But Smelly Room, Dirty Exterior, HORRIBLE BED!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

1. Room was clean, but sheet's looked to be burnt.
2. Non Smoking room reeked of smoke, and this is coming from a former smoker.
3. My wife's hand became covered in some black filmy substance when walking down the stairway in the breezeway.
4. The bed was the hardest thing I've ever paid to sleep on in my life. I bolted up awake every half hour in pain.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDOC2135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnPlymouth, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
JDOC2135,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Plymouth Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. I am glad you found your room clean, however please accept our sincerest apologies for the smoke smell in your non smoking room and your experience with our beds. We are in the process of upgrading our bedding so I will make sure the room you referred to gets to the top of the list!

At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

J. Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    26
    14
    13
    13
See reviews for
17
17
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fridley, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

since i have been at the red roof inn i only plan my trips around locations that have red roofs. I absolutely love the people who work there and the bedding is always freshly washed and the rooms always smell good , i even started telling friends and i have alot of friends country wide and they will also be staying at red roofs now. TANYA and jeffrey the manager are wonderful assets to the company and should be greatly rewarded for their hospitality attention to details even small perks, also great peronalities i can have some pretty corny jokes sometimes and they graciously always laugh.I LOVE that and hope lots of people read this review, kudos to the other workers as well emily, corrinne and pablo all super duper workers and very personable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnPlymouth, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Michelle T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at the Plymouth Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are so grateful you chose the Red Roof Inn, Plymouth. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

J. Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral Point, WI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I have stayed at the Plymouth MN Red Roof Inn several times when in the area on business. I have always found the rooms clean. The personnel are always great and go out of their way to make your stay at your home away from home as pleasant as possible. Broadway Pizza is right next door and has excellent pizza. If you are looking for a clean comfortable room and don't need a lot amenities, you found it right here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjbuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthCares, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
rjbuss,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at the Plymouth Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are so grateful you chose the Red Roof Inn, Plymouth. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

J. Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Great place to stay close to ever thing Staff is great clean rooms and they make you feel like your home

Room Tip: ask they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mean-gal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthCares, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
mean-gal2010,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at the Plymouth Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It is our pleasure to accommodate you while your house is being repaired. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

J. Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

I have stayed at this Red Roof Inn long enough to report the people are wonderful and professional. I really appreciate the high quality sheets, very comfortable. I prefer the superior king room with the large bed, refrigerator and microwave. The location is right in between getting into Minneapolis or driving west to the country. I am a guy who likes to eat. Food is up the steps or across the street, and everything you could want within 15 minutes. And good coffee 24 hrs/day. The direct outside access makes taking Mr. dog for a walk very easy.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas_Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

My girlfriend and I have stayed at this hotel before there prices are great and the staff is as well. All our other stays were great other than the elevators that smelled like body odor and ashtray. But this last stay was the worst I have seen first of all the room had a musty smell like an old closet or attic, the heater looked like it was manufactured in 1960 and was covered in dust which is amazing for a persons who suffers from asthma. Then there was the 12 inch black hair on the back of the toilet and the yellow stains on the bottom of the comforter. The light above the sink flickered a bit but never turned on, oh an then there was the horrible internet connection and the greasy fingerprint covered laminate that outlined all the “great” features the Red Roof had to offer.

Over all it was an ok stay maybe its because we were on the ground level all the other times we were on the second or third floor those seemed to be much cleaner and better maintained in order to get to those floors you have two amazing options the first is that you can ride the 100 year old locker room smelling elevator or your second option is to climb all the stairs with all your bags just to avoid smelling like an ashtray.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

This Red Roof Inn is the poster child of Red Roof Inns:
Good Basic Accomodations: Clean beds/ rooms/ newly rennovated design
Good Location: Close proximity (within 1 mile) of 10+ restaurants
Adequate Cable TV: 25-30 channels including HBO
Free Wi-Fi
Good Coffee/ Hot Chocolate (located in lobby)

Improvements can be made in bedding comfort.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hypshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#4 of 8 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plymouth Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Minneapolis Plymouth
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth

Property: Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth
Address: 2600 Annapolis Ln N, Plymouth, MN 55441
Region: United States > Minnesota > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Minneapolis - Plymouth is located at I-494 and State Route 55, just minutes from downtown Minneapolis. This hotel allows guest access to the Mall of America, nearby restaurants, gambling and the Minneapolis - St. Paul International Airport. Accommodations offer free WiFi in all rooms, an elevator and select rooms include microwave & refrigerator. Guests staying at our hotel enjoy free WiFi in all rooms and an elevator for easy access to the upper levels. Select rooms offer microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer and iron & ironing boards are available at the front desk. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. At time of check-in, all adult guests staying in the room must present a valid picture ID with current address. (Picture ID needs to be a state or government issued ID such as a driver's license or passport.) One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing