We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel,great staff,great breakfast !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel,great staff,great breakfast !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights and could not praise it more.Staff are so friendly and helpful,rooms are spotlessly clean and breakfast was great with lots of choice although opted for waffles everyday,they were so good.It felt more like a small family run hotel than part of a chain.Thank you for making me so welcome !

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aeron41431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I appreciate the kind words and I am glad you really enjoyed our waffles and the rest of our hot buffet breakfast. We do like to treat people like we are a small facility and give everyone that special treatment. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    125
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
149
61
20
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My stay was wonderful. I got there at midnight and there was a lovely fire burning in the lobby which was welcoming and comforting on a cold night. I had a long, late drive to get there so it really made me feel good. I travel many days for business by myself throughout the year so I appreciate great service and friendly people.

The front desk man was very friendly and helpful and there were awesome white chocolate macadamia cookies too!
My room was spacious and clean and comfy and a nice bag of treats of water , chips, and a fruit snacks greeted me when I walked in.
I had a great nights sleep, which helped because I had to be up and out the door by 7:30 am....The breakfast and coffee were great too!

It is a great hotel on the west side of the Minneapolis area and very close to downtown as well.

Room Tip: My room was actually two rooms with an awesome living room area and a comfy bedroom too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PositiveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am thrilled that you had a great stay and I am glad you enjoyed the fresh cookies and warm fireplace. Those are the signature touches that make Country Inn & Suites a great home away from home. I will be sure to pass along your great comments to the staff as well. I hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Thanks,

Drew Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed in the hotel for over a month. For the first two weeks I stayed in the standard room which is larger than the typical room size. The hotel provides free shuttle service to nearby malls which was very helpful in winters esp. when it was snowing. The breakfast was decent. The hotel has been there for long, so it has started showing its age, but they are in process of renovation. For the last two weeks I was upgraded to a different category of room which had separate living room. The rooms are spacious. The indoor swimming pool is great for an evening plunge.
Overall a great stay!! Loved it

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGupta1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am thrilled that you had a great stay and I am glad you were able to be comfortable while being away for so long. I am glad you enjoyed the shuttle service as we are happy to take guest to the mall for a quick shopping trip. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Thanks,

Drew Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for a night with friends. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant, it was very good and affordable. When we got home, my daughter realized she forgot her Ipod touch in the room. I called the hotel, they found it and sent it to us.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SASkog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am thrilled that you had a great stay. I will pass on your comment to Grizzly's as I am sure they would love to have the feedback. I look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Thanks,

Drew Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This one's a little long in the tooth. Staff is friendly, hotel (at least on the 3rd floor) is quiet, & the rate we got was good.

However, this place has been around a -long- time & I definitely showing it's age.

Also, bed was too soft for me . . . But my back appreciates a firm bed - hard to find in most lower-end hotels like this one. It's my impression that the Carlson chain has the same soft beds in all its hotels.

We stayed here because it's the most convenient hotel to the home of the relative we're visiting & the rate for a suite for a week over the Christmas holiday 2013 was good.

The lighting in this suite is pretty helpless. Almost not enough light to sit & knit in the sitting room -- the only window is in the bedroom part of the suite. Low counter in the bathroom. Tub with shower . . . Does anyone really take a bath in a hotel bathroom anymore? Tiny fridge & tiny microwave & tiny sink & coffee maker in the 'sorta' kitchenette area.

Will prolly stay here again if visiting this relative, but mostly because the location is what it needs to be for us & there are no glaring reasons not to.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room on the quiet side -- away from the freeway, but we never heard freeway noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfalstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the property and our staff. I am delighted you had a chance to interact with our great team. Also, thanks for your comments about our room product including the beds and lighting. We are currently prioritizing some improvements and hope that when you come back to visit your family and friends in the area you will experience our improvements.

Happiest of Holidays to you!

Heidi Olson
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stopped on our way to visit family on Christmas. Everything was clean, comfortable and we even got a call from the front desk making sure everything was okay. It had two pools - one being handicapped accessible which I thought was cool. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your review! I am honored you loved your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Happy Holidays!

Heidi Olson
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Expected better. The room HVAC was unable to keep the room comfortable. Additionally, the room was not as quiet as expected - lots of other room noise. The breakfast was a real disappointment. Can't call this a real breakfast especially with the rubber eggs and mystery meat. Work was underway on the entrance door when we were eating - lots of banging and the elevators were simply scary.....Poor value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize your experience was not up to our Country standards. We are currently prioritizing some improvements and hope you will be back in the future to experience our great guest service and improved offerings. Please know we are working hard to improve in the areas you mentioned so future guests experience our best.

All the best,

Heidi Olson
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Minneapolis Plymouth
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis / West-Minnetonka
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#4 of 8 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Plymouth Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
Address: 210 Carlson Parkway, Plymouth, MN 55447-4444 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Plymouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Country Inn And Suites Plymouth
Country Inn Plymouth
Plymouth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing