We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough, a little disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding, where all of the other people in our group stayed down the street at the Residence Inn. I've stayed at Crowne Plazas before, and had excellent experiences, so I ignored the rest of our group and stayed here instead. Turns out we shouldn't have.
Hotel is nice, clean, however the staff isn't very friendly. The building itself has a terrible layout, and downright confusing. Stairs everywhere. No convenient way to get to the hotel from the parking garage, particularly with a baby and luggage.
We had a teeny-tiny room in the basement which was not very nice, and smelled a bit musty.
There were two huge weddings and a convention going on the Saturday night that we stayed there, so not only were all rooms fully booked, there were tons of people there that weren't guests, so there was no where to park, and impossibly long waits for service. Also was noisy well into the night. Saving grace of the experience, is that the rates are cheap. Overall, I wouldn't recommend it, unless average hotels at a decent rate is what you're after. I definitely wouldn't associate it with other Crowne Plazas.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalephrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Kalephrr,

We wanted to reach out with our sincere thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really value our guest feedback as an incredible tool to improve on our service and product. As one of the area’s premier hotels, our style hotel isn’t a cookie cutter “Box” type hotel as we were designed by a highly acclaimed Danish architect and cater to many sophisticated events, conferences and weddings on weekends. This year alone we were awarded “Best of Plymouth” in the Event and Hotel categories by Plymouth Magazine; awarded the “TORCHBEARER” award for highest achievement in Guest Satisfaction (Best of the Best for InterContinental Hotels Group) and the “Certificate of Excellence” which is the top 10% of all Business as rated by Trip Advisor. We strive to reach every guest every day with this kind of satisfaction and apologize immensely that you didn’t feel we were there for you.

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

As a Gold Elite member I was treated like royalty, as was my family. We originally booked a double room and left the next day after relaxing and enjoying a King Suite. My kids loved every second of it and my husband slept like a baby in the comfort of the beds. My son loved that he could have a whole awesome living room to himself with his buddy to watch baseball and play games.
The pool and hot tub made the night and next morning wonderful. Having a relaxing chat with my daughter in the hot tub while the boys played in the pool. Perfect family local getaway!
We have named this hotel because of the staff and property, our go to hotel from now on!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyTD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

LadyTD78,
Wow! Thank you for the outstanding review of the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West and we really appreciate your membership in our IHG Rewards program. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be thrilled to share this with our staff! To hear a guest experiences like this lets us know that all the hard work, brand new 8 Million dollar renovation, acknowledgement and training with our staff has paid off! We love knowing your husband enjoyed the World Class Beauty Rest® Mattress, that the whole family loved our gorgeous diplomat suite and you had time to indulge in our 21,000 sq. ft. 3 level Athletic Club.

We can’t wait to have you stay with us again and are very proud to be your “go to” hotel for family get always.

Thank you from all the staff and Mangers here at the Crowne Plaza West in Plymouth, MN!

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Husband is a Platinum member - not acknowledged at check-in. Initial room was basement level with queen bed - smaller than the queen bed at home. Shower and toilet leaked. New room the next day was better - upgraded to king by the manager. Breakfast buffet TH, F nice; Sat vastly understaffed- small groups not allowed to sit at larger tables; ran out of food; long wait, as tables were uncleared. We'll try someplace else next time.

Room Tip: Ask for king, not queen. Don't accept a basement room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

B L,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and are we are thrilled that you found it to be beautiful. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Guest feedback is so crucial to our success and we really appreciate hearing about all guest experiences. Your platinum level status certainly should have been recognized as all IHG Rewards member are incredibly important to us. We would love to have you return to our property as I have no doubt we can deliver the guest experience we are so well known for. I would love to discuss any of the issues you experienced while staying with us and offer you an opportunity to see why we are leaders in the hospitality industry when it comes to the guest experience.
Please feel free to contact me at you leisure.
Thank you again and I look forward to speaking with you.

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Josh was fantastic, made us feel right at home on our visit from Canada. The only downside is the wifi wasn't very good. Excellent stay great city.........beds were great and the hotel was very quiet!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digger_5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Regina,
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our staff and property. I am very excited to share this with Josh and all of our staff members. We take great pride in our staff and their dedication to be the difference maker in a guests stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our World Class Beauty Rest® Mattress, 7 layers of comfort bedding package and newly renovated rooms. Our complementary Wi-Fi has recently been enhanced to triple our bandwidth. Should you experience a problem with the Wi-Fi while staying with us out in-house IT staff would love to make sure you don’t encounter any issues.

Thank you again for taking the time to write and we look forward to your return to the City of Plymouth.


JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed at in Minneapolis. The staff are friendly and courteous. The rooms are nice, bed is great (now that the sleep number beds are gone),plus the fitness center is great.

Sunday brunch is one of the best in town and not expensive, but not to be out done by the Friday night pasta bar, where you build your own dish and they prepare for you while you wait.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter but the view from the north are the best.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Kathy D,
Thank you for the outstanding review of the Crown Plaza Minneapolis West in Plymouth. This is what it is all about for the managers and staff here at the Crowne Plaza West. We live for this type of feedback and will thrive on it! We are thrilled to hear about your experience and that so many of our perks and services didn’t go unnoticed. We are very proud of our property and we know that it’s clean and fresh rooms, a variety of food choices and experiences; great staff and great guest service can make a stay and leave a lasting impression.
From the entire staff we thank you for the great review and your business. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Wow. Service, food, cleanliness, comfort, quiet.........all excellent. I have never felt so well taken care of before. Whether using the facility for conferences or staying for pleasure........superb!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the marsh are very quiet!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Charlotte K,
Wow is right! Thank you for this fantastic review of the Crown Plaza Minneapolis West in Plymouth. It is always our goal to leave this impression with our guests and we are happy that you took the time to write this great review. This will be shared with our whole team from the Guest Service Desk to the Kitchen and culinary teams. These are the kinds of reviews that drive us to excel!
A tremendous thanks you to you and we can’t wait to have you back as our guest!!!

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at the Plymouth Crowne Plaza and probably our last. First, let me say, our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. We drove up to the lobby and there were so many cars blocking the driveway, we couldn't reach the doors, so we decided to park and walk to the lobby. The parking was a distance from the hotel and we had to walk in the rain. I left later to shop and opted for valet parking when I returned. The lobby drive was still very congested, so I did what apparently everyone else was doing...just leaving the car anywhere and handing keys to the valet. At checkout the next morning, I wanted an amended invoice since we had eaten items from the mini bar in our room, the desk person was so distracted, I had to ask 3 times before he actually completed that request.
There were 3 weddings there that weekend and a doll show. They needed someone to organize the drive and the lobby.
The prime rib buffet on Sat. Nite was very good, "Chee " was our very pleasant and capable server.
Sunday morning buffet was again chaos, got tired of waiting in line for an omelet and just had eggs. My suggestion to this hotel: if you want to cater to large crowds, make sure you have adequate numbers of organized staff to handle them.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franklinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

franklinmn,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. First, I would like to extend our sincerest apologies that your arrival to the hotel was inconvenienced. On weekends, most of our arriving guests prefer to check-in as soon as rooms become avaible and this can cause significant congestion in our courtyard. Conversely, most of our departing guests prefer to check-out as late as possible and this can also create delays at our Front Desk. However, we understand that your time is valuable and we apologize for the strife this may have caused.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed the decor of our guestrooms and our Saturday night Prime Rib Buffet as well your server, Chee. She is pleasant, accommodating and certainly an asset to our hotel. I'm disappointed to learn about the delays at the Sunday Brunch. Once again, with the hotel at full capacity on the weekend of your stay, wait times became quite extensive. We will certainly be reevaluating our staffing levels in order to mitigate such occurrences.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback as it is imperative to our success and process improvement.

J. Simkins
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#4 of 8 in Plymouth
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plymouth Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Minneapolis Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Minneapolis Plymouth
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West

Address: 3131 Campus Dr, Plymouth, MN 55441 (Formerly Radisson Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £72 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location in Plymouth just minutes from downtown Minneapolis, the Crowne Plaza has won many awards for its guest satisfaction scores as well as meeting facilities. The Crowne Plaza has undergone a major renovation of guest rooms, restaurants, Athletic Club and Meeting Facilities with major capital improvements to come in 2012. This location is an ideal suburban location with guest rooms overlooking woods and wetlands for a true Minnesota experience. This location offers complimentary shuttle service to the areas shopping and business locales. The Plymouth Creek Athletic Club is a 21,000 square foot facility attached to the guest room wing of the hotel and is free to all registered hotel guests. Complimentary wi-fi is available throughout the facility. Be sure to check out one of the area's best Sunday Brunch in the newly remodeled Europa Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West Hotel Plymouth
Radisson Hotel Plymouth
Radisson Plymouth
Plymouth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing