We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue for a Conference & Banquet, lacking in the bar and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I've been at this venue 2 times for a conference, and I'm headed back for a third. The conference rooms are wonderful for their spacious and comfortable rooms. You can really get a good crowd in there and be able to get a great session going.
I would avoid the bar, and the restaurant onsite. I had to wait for more than 45 minutes for a simple hamburger, and the waitress told me that she actually had to put it on the grill. In that same conversation, she said the food was on the house, and I only paid for the drink. In the bar, I paid for a drink, and had to ask for my change ($7 for a drink and no change from a $20). There was a single bartender for the 8-10 people in the place, but it was not nearly full. After the lunch service wait, it was still disappointing to have to wait again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank GuillermoSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

GuillermoSparks,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West. We are glad to have you back and are thrilled to hear about your conference experience. As of May 2013 we have just completed an 8 million dollar renovation from guest rooms, dining areas, public space and our entire conference center. So you can understand why we are delighted to hear about your experience and why we do meetings! We also want to thank you for sharing your dining experience. Guest feedback is imperative to our success and as much as we love seeing great reviews these are very helpful as well. Our dining staff and culinary team will find your feedback very useful and show us where we can improve.

Thank you again for taking the time to write and we look forward to your next visit!

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. The staff was friendly, the rooms and hotel were clean, the conference room was wonderful and the food was delicious. There is even a Keurig in the rooms!!! My only complaint and this is a HUGE one is the walls are way too thin. I could clearly hear the conversation and TV of the person on one side of me and snoring from the other guest on the other side of me. This made sleeping not great. This hotel has great potential but something needs to be seriously done about the thins walls!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without an adjoining room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovestravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Lovestravel10,
Thank you for the great review of the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West. We are glad you were able to experience so many of the great things about our hotel. It’s the little things that can make a difference when choosing a great hotel. Our entire team will be very happy to hear that the friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of our rooms, the award winning food and our great conference rooms made the difference in your stay! Even items like the Keurig Coffee makers in every guest room can really make it feel like home. Since we specialize in guest service and making a difference in our guest’s stays we would be thrilled to make any arrangements we can to help even the lightest of sleepers.
Thank you again for choosing the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West and we hope to see you soon!

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for work. The rooms were nicely done and clean. The staff was very nice and informative. I ate at the restaurant for dinner both nights and it was very good. I would recommend for any business traveler.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhprom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hhprom,
Thank you for the great review and we are thrilled to see you back again at the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West! We will be very pleased to pass this review on to all of our departments and are very grateful that you not only choose us when you stay in Plymouth but that you also take the time to share you experience with us.

We thank you for the return business and hope to continue to be your first choice while visiting the Minneapolis West Metro.

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here recently from Friday till Monday. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Food is good, especially the Sunday brunch which is more breakfast than lunch. Very clean. Large fitness center attached. Can be very busy as it is a conference hotel. Their shuttle took us up to drug store. They were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Sandyprints,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West. It makes our week to hear you felt welcomed by our friendly staff and they always appreciate hearing feedback about the guest experience they deliver. We are also very glad to hear that no matter the business levels you felt accommodated. This is what we strive to do and we love to hear that it makes the difference in a guest experience.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for the time you have taken to write a great review of our Hotel!



JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just booked a hotel with a pool through hotwire for a quick get away for myself and my two boys (age 12 & 7). Pleasantly surprised to get a room at the Crowne Plaza. Very nice hotel. Was a bit worried when we walked it because it seemed very nice and possibly not very kid friendly. The front desk was very helpful and told me about all the options they did have for the kids to play, pool hours, etc. We went swimming a couple times, used the athletic club, shot some baskets, played in the small arcade, and played a few games of free pool. (tables are pretty bad and crooked but hey, it's free)

Only issue was a clogged shower drain in the morning. Didn't call to have it fixed, just left a note for them when we checked out. Still got our showers in.

Would recommend for any situation. Business, couples, family, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmeyer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Tmeyer01,
Thank you for the great review of the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West! We are thrilled to hear that you had an unexpected but very nice experience with us. We hope that we will be your new Hotel choice for the Minneapolis Western Suburbs. We are a perfect location if you are looking for that quick weekend getaway and always feel free to bring the boys with you when you stay with us. We have plenty of things to keep them busy and entertained especially when we hit the spring and summer months. We have many outdoor activities and equipment rental such as bikes for the local trails, volley ball, tennis and basketball courts. Next time you decide to visit please feel free to visit Crowneplaza.com where you will always find the best available rates for that quick and last minute getaway.

Thank you for the outstanding review and we hope to see you soon.

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel as a lot to offer, some positive points, and some not so great.

The building is very nice, the rooms comfortable and quiet. The bar is nice and comfortable, and we heard the luxurious restaurant food was really great, but we had eaten elsewhere before we arrived.
The hotel also boasts a very fancy conference center and lobby area.
It has a fitness center, BUT it's March and the indoor climate was set so uncomfortably high we couldn't take advantage of available facilities. The ball courts, too warm. The cardio room is on a balcony above the pool area, so hot and humid you sweat standing still. Who wants to get on an elliptical in that kind of environment (while breathing chlorine vapor)? The hot tub was loaded with kids up until closing time so adults had no available time to relax in it - no hotel time limits set. We weren't interested in the pool, but it was a fair size.
As long as its hot anyway, and you can't relax in the hot tub, how about a relaxing sauna with your spouse? They tell you on the website there is A sauna, when in fact there are two. But they're each in the men's and women's locker rooms, so you'll have to go by yourself. Nah, we came here to have a getaway together. How boring is it to sit in a sauna alone while your spouse does the same on the other side of the wall?
We specifically chose to stay at this hotel because of the availability of the fitness center, hot tub and (believed co-Ed, single) sauna, but couldn't use ANY of them.
Even the TV in our room didn't have a 'sleep' mode - in a hotel!
All we got out of the stay was a short visit to the bar, and a bed. We could've gotten just that anywhere else for a lot less!
We would've loved to like this place, but we'll never stay there again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MJFrog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Opearations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

MJFrog55,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback and will use your experience to improve our product. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel classy and rooms comfortable and quiet. I’m very sorry to hear about the temperatures in the Athletic Club the day you were here. We will look into why it would have been so warm. Because our Athletic Club is open for memberships we do not provide coed saunas. The club does however, provide a multitude of coed programs should you find yourself here in the area again. Please feel free to contact me to discuss these issues you have experienced as I know we can help find just what you are looking for.
Thanks again and I look forward to hearing from you.

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a review of the Europa Room restaurant within the Crowne Plaza.

We had a large group reservation and instead of one large table like we've had previous times here, we were seated at three smaller round tables of 8.
The Friday pasta buffet is an all you can eat "build your own" deal at a set price of $15.95, not including beverage. It includes a salad bar and dessert bar. You queue up and select your meats and vegetables into a small bowl, then bring that to two chefs who heat it up in showy fashion and combine it with the pasta of your choice. The food is ok - no real surprises in taste or anything. The desserts look very nice and they have a good variety, but none tasted as good as they looked.

The poor ranking comes from the level of service we (didn't) receive. Our group arrived as couples and slowly filled up the tables. The first couple got there early and scored a bottle of wine. We were the second to arrive and waited a long time before the waiter finally showed up again and we convinced him to take our drink orders. We waited about 45 minutes from the time we sat down before the drinks ever showed up. Our entire group had slowly arrived and still no drinks, and no one interested in taking our food order.
My wife went in search of someone and found two managers and inquired about our drinks and service, as it did not appear they were all that busy yet to account for the delay. One of them told her that no, they were really busy and that's why it was taking so long. Typically you see a manager jump in to fix a problem - maybe even deliver some drinks themselves, but not here.
When someone else asked, they got a very curt "they're coming", but still nothing came.
Keep in mind, everyone in the room was there for the buffet. There's no food orders or food delivery to do, there's nothing but delivering drink orders and clearing plates (which there weren't any yet since no one had started eating). It appeared there was only one waiter for our entire half of a large room - so we can only blame management for way understaffing the room and for not caring enough to chip in and help if he was overwhelmed.
We eventually gave up waiting and just went up to the buffet. Finally by the time we got through with some food, our drinks had arrived.
Forget about another round of drinks - we'd still be there.
To really cap it off, because we were a large group, they automatically added 18% gratuity to every couples' bill.
Really can't recommend going back to this place. Every single waiter can have a bad day, but the level of disinterest exhibited by the restaurant management to address the problem just tells me the same thing is likely to keep happening.
We won't be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frozen-in-MN-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod S, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Frozen-in-MN_US,
We thank you for taking the time to review our Friday Night Pasta Buffet. We are terribly disappointed to hear about your dining experience with us and certainly share your concern. It is disheartening to hear that this one experience trumps all the other times you have joined us for a Friday Night Pasta Buffet that has kept you coming back time and time again. We do have outstanding reviews and awards not only in food quality but also service that our culinary team, hotel management and staff take great pride in.
We will be working with the management team and service staff to bring an already award winning dining experience to a higher standard with the help of your review.
Thank you for your candid review and we hope to have you return soon to the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West and expect the same great food and service you have returned for so many times in the past.

JERROD SIMKINS
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
E: Jerrod.simkins@cpplymouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Minneapolis Plymouth
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#4 of 8 in Plymouth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plymouth Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis / West-Minnetonka
8.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Minneapolis Maple Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West

Address: 3131 Campus Dr, Plymouth, MN 55441-2620 (Formerly Radisson Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £62 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location in Plymouth just minutes from downtown Minneapolis, the Crowne Plaza has won many awards for its guest satisfaction scores as well as meeting facilities. The Crowne Plaza has undergone a major renovation of guest rooms, restaurants, Athletic Club and Meeting Facilities with major capital improvements to come in 2012. This location is an ideal suburban location with guest rooms overlooking woods and wetlands for a true Minnesota experience. This location offers complimentary shuttle service to the areas shopping and business locales. The Plymouth Creek Athletic Club is a 21,000 square foot facility attached to the guest room wing of the hotel and is free to all registered hotel guests. Complimentary wi-fi is available throughout the facility. Be sure to check out one of the area's best Sunday Brunch in the newly remodeled Europa Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West Hotel Plymouth
Radisson Hotel Plymouth
Radisson Plymouth
Plymouth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing