We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great MN HIstorical Society site”

Historic Forestville
Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Preston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk across the Carnegie Steel Bridge into 1899 Forestville. Explore the Meighen family store which is filled with original 19th-century merchandise, discover what's cooking in the kitchen and help the hired hands with chores in the garden and farm buildings. Costumed guides portray residents and their daily activities.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great MN HIstorical Society site”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We are staunch supporters of the MN Historical Society and we were not disappointed with our first visit to this location. The docents were very knowledgable and able to effectively communicate a lot about life in Forestville in 1899.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great historic slice of Minnesota”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The historic site has tour guides operating as town residents from1899. It is fun to hear about their life and work, lots of work. It was still too hot to hike beyond the historic buildings, but there would be more to explore. I would have liked to visit the old Zumbro cemetery. Great combo to also Tour nearby Mystery cave.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A step back into time”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We visited Forestville with our 5 year old grandson. He really enjoyed the outdoor setting under the big trees. He was somewhat interested in learning about all the items in the old General store and the family home (too much he couldn't touch), but loved walking through the big kitchen garden. He helped grind corn and then fed the many chickens which were wandering through the little old town. It was a hot day but the huge old trees kept the area shady and beautiful. We had a great time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank freyagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin mo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

go try it, you will be surprised. bring your family and friends there. they will love it

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A very interesting park, and very well maintained!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Check ahead to see whether the buildings are open.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Forestville also viewed

 

Been to Historic Forestville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing