We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Trailhead Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Preston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trailhead Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Preston B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the Trailhead Inn in Preston 2x. The location was superb. The Bike trail is right outside your door. Our first stay was at the hotel. Very clean and friendly people. Rooms large enough for bikes to be brought in. If you need anything the staff seem willing to help you out. Nice little store and snack area. Large deck facing the river. Our second stay was at the old school. What a spectacular job was done with that place. Very large rooms with kitchen and super quiet. The place was booked and you wouldn't ever even known there was anybody else there. Preston/Harmony are seems to be nice, quiet quant little towns with everything you could possibly need or want to do. We even had a chance to visit Niagra Cave (something on our bucket list) and do some trout fishing. Best little vacation ever. I THINK WE WILL MAKE THIS A YEARLY TRIP!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    19
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our family just completed a 5 day stay in the Suites. We were in Preston for a family reunion and had an excellent stay. Our reunion was in the conference room at the suites. It worked well for our family with us staying in a suite and the reunion held in the conference room. The conference room has a kitchen, dinin g area and living area to relax. We cooked in the kitchen and were able to go back and forth between our suite. Our family canoed, biked and had a campfire outside the suites. There is lots of room for everyone in the suites with separate bedrooms, full kitchen and a livting area. We have been guests at the suites for the past several years and will continue to return.

Room Tip: Love the Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk River, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Trailhead Inn for a long weekend and loved every minute of it! The rooms were clean and they were nice sized, all the staff that I talked to were extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfast was just what I needed, and the location could not be any better! You are right on the bike trail, close to the river and park, and the scenery is fantastic. If we go back to Minnesota "bluff country", we will stay at the Trailhead Inn again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thetraveler323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neillsville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The motel is very convenient to bike trail and adjacent to a nice little park. The fairgrounds is just a short walk across the bridge if you stay at the end of July. If you are traveling with a pet, the extra charge is $20.00 so be warned.

Room Tip: All rooms connected by a spacious deck that's lovely to relax on and enjoy the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were in the area to visit the Niagra Cave and the Mystery Cave. We had very low expectations for this property so we were all pretty impressed when it wasn't awful. We stayed in the main hotel, rooms 5 and 6, and we found the rooms spacious and clean. The linens were super clean and fluffy with extras in a cabinet by the bathroom. The room had a coffee maker and a generous amount of coffee packets, we didn't use them all. A huge deck spans the front of the rooms with a variety of tables and chairs. We sat out there in the evening and it was so beautiful. We expected to be ravaged by insects but the only bugs were fireflies lighting up all around us. Cons- the tv was VERY small, and the walls are very thin, but it was fine.
Every employee we encountered was helpful and friendly. They helped us with directions and attractions and I heard a lot of help being given to people with questions about the bike trail. Employees were very knowledgeable. Ok, the "breakfast" was a little lame, but we weren't expecting anything, so it was a bonus. We had 3 children and they wanted cereal and sweet rolls anyway! The adults made bagels and had juice and coffee, and it got us to our next meal just fine. I would have to say my only real complaint is the ice. They have ice in gallon Ziploc bags and you get one. You couldn't ice beverages or refresh your coolers with that. At least offer ice super cheap to cover the expense or something a little more accommodating than a Ziploc bag. Overall, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end farthest from the office get poor and spotty wifi. Closer to the office is strong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chipeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

In the area on a mother-daughter trip to enjoy the trails & Root River. Spent 2 nights at the Trailhead for $125/night. We stayed in "suite" 207 which offered one Queen size bed. The kitchen included a microwave, oven, and refrigerator which was adequate aside from the fact that there were very few dishes or linens if indeed you were going to use this part of the room. The bathroom offered only shampoo, no conditioner , and the tiniest bar of facial soap for the both the tub and sink. The bed was terribly soft and had that awful creaky sound whenever you moved.You will also appreciate the sweatbox feeling provided by the plastic mattress cover. No headboard and only one small nightstand were in the room. A small window air conditioner was all that cooled the entire place so all doors needed to remain open in order for it to work at all. There were 2 televisions - a 13inch tube flat screen in the living room and a 13inch tube TV in the bedroom which was so old the screen was the convex shape. WiFi was enabled but my phone consistently was "avoiding poor connection".
My daughter and I didn't use the hot tub but there is one available. The continental breakfast was pretty typical with yogurt, cold cereal,extremely dry store-bought danish, and a waffle maker. (the Weekend spread).The one person working the breakfast was too busy reading to stock the fruit and one of the cereals however, The worst service issue for us, though, was that we got no maid service and found that the only ice we could get was in a gallon size baggie at the front desk.
Also worth noting is that if you stay in the suites, which by now you are aware is a converted school, you will walk a half a block down to another property for breakfast , for check in , for your "free" pound of ice per day, and anything else. Not a terrible walk but unpleasant in the rain which we encountered.
Note, this place is rated 2nd in the town , but there are only 2 places to stay. Its a shame because it could have potential based on its location to the bike trail.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank namewithoutaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I tried to look for all the positives I could during our 3 day stay (Thurs-Sun): The room is spacious (we rented suite 302, a converted 6th grade classroom), the location from the Preston Harmony Trail is perfect (just a block away), the owner was nice (actually came up to our room to say hello) and that’s about it.
I really didn’t want to be negative in this review because I just love the idea of converting an elementary school into an Inn. Sadly, there were just too many things we couldn’t overlook. Our suite was a 2 bedroom suite and there was 1 air conditioner and it was in the living room. The only way we could keep cool was by leaving our bedroom doors open. The kitchen was barely adequate with the refrigerator setting completely freezing all of our fruits and vegetables. The bathroom shower had no shower lining and only a shower curtain which meant after every shower the curtain was a wet mess. If you want ice, you can get one bag free from the office – the bag is a ziplock gallon size bag and we only saw a few that were more than half full. Is it that hard to get ice trays for the freezers?
OK, so these may seem minor, but all added up to a worse than average experience. But we also had no cleaning service – well, on one day the housekeeper came by when we were there but said she would come back in an hour when we weren’t there. She never came back, our towels and bed linens were never cleaned nor was the place ever cleaned or straightened out.
They advertise having a continental breakfast on the weekends and it is barely acceptable. They just recently got a waffle maker, but the waffle mix isn’t very tasty. They have some store bought pastries, bagels and poor quality bread that can be toasted. They have very few choices of cereal, some bananas and bad coffee. We went once and found it to be so awful we never went back even though it was free.
The owners need to start out by looking at their office area and seeing that it is ugly, big, empty looking and uncomfortable. Not the best impression. Freshen it up a bit, get better quality continental breakfast items, provide a warm feeling setting where people can have breakfast, have better selection of cold and hot cereals and definitely more fresh fruit, and make it a great place for people to come by off the trail for ice-cream, amish goods, T-shirts with your logo and a map of the trail on it, cold soda (you had a few selections, but only in cans and no diet soda. That is just weird) and bottled water. Your setting gives the impression that you want people in and out as quickly as possible. Is this really the message you want to send out?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahW109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
20.8 mi away
No photo provided
Cresco Motel
#2 of 2 in Cresco
14 reviews
16.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
13.3 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Inn

Property: Trailhead Inn
Address: 112 Center St., Preston, MN 55965
Region: United States > Minnesota > Preston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing