We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of JailHouse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Preston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
JailHouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Preston B&B and Inns
cbarrow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The renovated jail house was amazing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The owners were very accommodating and we enjoyed visiting with them. I would definitely go back for another visit and I would highly recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a more family members than just 2, the jail house suite would be very fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

A spur of the moment decision to get our of town led us to the Jailhouse Inn in Preston, MN. We stayed in the Bridal Suite - a very comfortable king sized bed, two person oversized whirlpool jacuzzi. Working Wood Fireplace. Private lavatory. No TV, No Internet, No connection to the world. A great opportinuty to spend time with the person you love. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast. Scones, Fresh Fruit, a variety of juices to start. Then herb omelet, home fries, sausage. All delicious. Marc and Jeanne are wonderful , gracious hosts that have converted the Preston Jailhouse into a first class B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycnative1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My family stayed in three rooms at the Jailhouse Inn during a bike trip along the Root River. I was incredibly impressed with how well the jailhouse had been converted into a beautiful B&B. The rooms were lovely, the beds were incredibly comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. Only two blocks from the bike path. Our host recommended dinner at Quarter/quarter, in Harmony, MN, and they also deserve a shout-out. Great atmosphere, service, and food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooners717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our first time in the Lanesboro area - Preston is just a few miles away and charming. The Jailhouse Inn has a fun theme, but more importantly, the place is well-appointed and well-run, with spacious rooms (very quiet), wonderful bedding, all the creature comforts you'd expect. The owners are lovely people, intelligent, funny, helpful but not obtrusive. Their recommendation for dinner (The Quarter Quarter in Harmony) was spot on -- delicious fare and delightful hosts.

In the morning, my wife and I rode the bike trail along the Root River, very peaceful and serene, with views of the woods, river, and fields. We even came across two fawns, who watched us awhile before bounding off the trail! Breakfast at the B&B was just right -- big blueberry muffins and fresh OJ, followed by perfect Quiche Lorraine and roast potatoes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amish Room which is large and comfortable, and had the 2nd floor balcony to ourselv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakotaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have stayed here twice and enjoyed it both times.
The first time we brought the kids (9 &12) during spring break 2010 and stayed in the Cell Block room that has three beds, a bathroom and a whirlpool tub. The beds are actually in three separate original cells with little curtains for privacy. The bathroom is in the fourth cell. The toilet is an interesting experience. When you sit on the wooden seat it flushes continuously until you get up! The kids loved the whole experience of staying in a real jail. :)
In May we stayed in the Court Room. We toured almost the whole place when we were here last and there really isn't a bad room. All have amazing antique furniture and neat bathrooms. The pillows and linens are all of top quality. (And we are sticklers...) The breakfasts are great! Fruit, homemade scones, and egg dishes are a delicious way to power up for biking the Root River Trail to Harmony or Lanesboro. We really liked the dining area in that we sat at our own table (instead of at a big one with strangers...)
The only thing that drove us crazy is the CD they play throughout the common areas is on a 3 minute loop. That's one song! The owners were so sweet and accommodating we didn't feel like we could "complain".

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzette38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Never having been to this part of Minnesota before, we wanted to stay in Lanesboro, a picturesque town in the heart of Amish country; however ALL of their B & Bs were already booked for a weekend festival. So we tried nearby towns and found that the JailHouse Inn in Preston, 7 miles to the west, had available rooms. What a find! Built in the 1860s, the building served as the county's jail through the early 1970s. Now converted in to a period B & B, some of the rooms have a jail theme (Drunk tank, Processing Room, Court Room). We stayed in the Sheriff's Master Bedroom located on the second floor in the front of the building. It is furnished with a queen-size bed and a massive walnut headboard, a sitting area with a wood-burning fireplace and an unusual equally massive side-filling tub (no shower). The room was tastefully decorated and relaxing. Special touches were the chocolates left on the nightstands and a carafe of sherry left on the bureau, both refilled daily. Breakfasts (Belgian waffles one day, cheese omelets the next) were thoughtfully planned and accompanied by a variety of fresh fruit and delicious coffee. The hosts, Marc and Jeanne, were delightful to talk to, friendly and quite knowledgeable about the area. We are already looking forward to our next visit - what a gem!

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces, some have porches as described on the Inn's web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STPtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I stayed four nights and each day the breakfast was something new and special. Very close to the bike trail and river on a quiet street. Preston is a wonderful quiet base for biking, boating, hiking, and excellent trout fishing, all within a couple of blocks of Jailhouse. I even worked out my own shuttle for a 13 mile float on the Root River: drove downstream, road my bike back to the hotel, carried my inflatable boat to the water, and floated back to my car. There is a grocery store but evenings I had a little trouble finding a decent place to eat nearby, especially on Monday. Preston is tiny with few shops or restaurants. My room was small but cozy and clean. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Wi-fi was good. Small TV with cable available on request, but then you don't go to Preston, MN to watch TV!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troutman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to JailHouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JailHouse Inn

Property: JailHouse Inn
Address: 109 Houston St NW, Preston, MN 55965-1099
Region: United States > Minnesota > Preston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing