We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fasinating place to stay”
Review of JailHouse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Preston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
JailHouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Preston B&B and Inns
Lombard, Illinois
2 reviews
“Fasinating place to stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just saw a review in the newspaper about JailHouse Inn and wanted to add that we enjoyed it so very much in our stay a while back. The accommodations were fun, the owners were very accommodating and the food wonderful. All the others we met were so pleasant to talk to and share our trips.
Thanks and hope we can come again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgq2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

When we arrived there was no-one home. The door was open so we went in and called out but no-one came. Eventually we found a note left for us directing us to our room. They have only 12 rooms, in an historic converted jail. The rooms were only 1/2 occupied when we were there. Our room was large. We had a comfortable bed, 2 chairs, and and broken down couch which we couldn't sit on but used for our luggage. The ensuite bathroom had a tub with telephone shower attachment but no shower curtain, so the water from the shower went all over the floor. I used two of the towels to mop up after.

As to the building itself. The restoration work which was done is top notch, and had been done before the present owners obtained it. The rooms are all different. Breakfast was excellent. They have a commercial kitchen, are proud of their cuisine, and cater to parties and special events there also. They have a special wine tasting room which is gorgeous.

We were a bit nervous because they told us their policy was to demand payment in advance. So we sure hoped the place wouldn't close or go under, or they would lose the record of our payment, etc. Most B&Bs allow you to hold the room with a credit card, but they don't process it until you are there. In the end they didn't charge us until we were there, which was nice but not what they had told us in the first place. We paid $108 with tax. There was no Wifi, no TV, no microwave and no fridge. Just a basic room. Rather pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierz, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Jailhouse Inn is definitely a one-of-a-kind experience. We spent a wonderful long weekend and wish we could have stayed longer. The Innkeepers are delightful. The breakfasts each morning were superb. We stayed in the Detention Room which has an attached deck area with rocking chairs, etc. The Inn, itself, has so much character, history, and personality, that one could spend days just inside of the Inn exploring, and relaxing in each unique area. The location in proximity to the other Root River Area towns and attractions was nice. We did do some trail biking while in the area and to get to the trail was simple from this location. They do offer indoor bike storage which was nice and easy. We hope to be able to return in the future and spend more time exploring and enjoying this wonderful place, and the delightful Innkeepers.

Room Tip: Make sure to read your room descriptor careful, because some rooms have different types of bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruber123Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnetonka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My second visit. Once with family and once with husban Both times were better than we expected. Food is excellent and included a stash of homemade cookies. The lock up room is a hoot! Owners are very accommodating. Nearby Dining choices were limited, it would be nice to have a selection of menus available to review.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonka_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, IA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husbands comment was that everything was done well here, and I agree!

Quality and attention to detail were evident from the flowers surrounding the building to the beautiful presentation of our breakfast (waffles with fruit and whipping cream, fried potatoes, and a fruit cup). The Oriental Room on the third floor was quiet (we never heard another guest and the inn was full) and well-appointed. While we decided that we'd prefer a regular shower next time, the large claw foot tub with brass wand shower suited the ambience and worked just fine. Soaking in the deep tub was great after a day of biking! We didn't use the fireplace or sample the sherry in the decanter on our antique dresser...this was a 90+ degree weekend so we were happier with the cold water and air conditioning!

In addition to the beautiful inn itself, the innkeepers were helpful from the moment we called to inquire about a room, until they wish us a safe drive home as we checked out. They offered suggestions for dining and biking, and we enjoyed conversations with them.

All in all, this was a wonderful 2-night get-away. We hope to go back!

Room Tip: Look at the website to get a good idea of your options. Every room has its own special features, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowa_is_my_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

An ideal B&B. Good beds, great breakfasts and gracious hosts. The Court Room, where we stayed, was spacious, quiet and had direct access to a patio with chairs and tables. It is a great place to read, lounge or dine outdoors,

I would add a third b for biking. The Jailhouse Inn Is a few blocks from a well maintained biking trail. Lanesboro is just a 10 mile ride away, and is a great spot to stop for lunch or a cone before heading back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Superb hospitality, quiet, clean rooms, fabulous breakfast (they cater to food allergies) and lovely neighborhood. We visited during the Bluff County art show which is well worth the time and drive; lots of talented artists. Will definitly go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
15.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
13.1 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
8 reviews
20.8 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JailHouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JailHouse Inn

Property: JailHouse Inn
Address: 109 Houston St NW, Preston, MN 55965-1099
Region: United States > Minnesota > Preston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing