We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Night in Jail”
Review of JailHouse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Preston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
JailHouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Preston B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Night in Jail”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed here on our way out west. The house was tastefully decorated and felt very cozy. We stayed in the Cell Block Suite. The experience was worth the extra money. The bed was comfortable and the huge tub for two was more luxury than you would expect for a night in jail. The room does have some original features, including the sink and unique toilet. IN the evening the hosts offer complimentary tea, coffee and cookies. They have soft drinks and beer and wine available for an extra charge. If we're ever in the area we'll stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Traveling_Bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed here for our Anniversary. Everything was going perfect that day. We had dinner in town and bought baklava pastry to enjoy by the fireplace, with our 'help yourself' hot tea. It was very quiet, no one around, we had not seen the innkeepers, and there was a log, newspapers, and box of matches sitting in the sitting room by the fireplace. Assuming we were to help ourselves, as all signs indicated, my husband started the log on fire. Apparently the flew was not open and smoke started to come into the room, we frantically tried to open the flew, and opened the front door to let out the smoke. THEN, the innkeeper (a man we had not met) showed up out of nowhere, and proceeds to yell at us, insulting us with rude remarks, as if WE had done something wrong. I tried to tell him we had opened the flew, but it was plugged or something was wrong, because smoke kept coming in no matter how we adjusted it. He just left in a huff, and had ruined our evening, being so rude. If they didn't want guests using the fireplace, they should have had a sign in sight indicating that, and they should not have logs, paper and a box of matches there. If it were not for that, I would stay there again and recommend it to my friends. But that was so awkward, I don't want to be around those kind of people, it is not relaxing. They served a good homemade breakfast in the morning, and the room was very nice and quaint. We had a clawfoot tub. When we talk about the incident now, we laugh, because we felt like it was an adventure, and it made us feel like we were getting chewed out by our parents or something. But that guy needs some lessons in PR, if you know what I mean. That's not how you treat your customers.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iowamidwestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2009

I stayed at the Jailhouse Inn after reading the reviews on this website and I am so glad I did. My colleagues and I each booked rooms in August 2009 for three days while on a business trip. The innkeepers were the highlight of the trip and extremely accomodating. We needed a work room and were concerned about our late hours and loud voices so the innkeepers gave us free reign of the lower level wine cellar. This made for some productive, if not a little tipsy, meetings. The food was the second highlight. The innkeepers cooked the most incredible breakfasts each morning, and even accomodated our early morning start times. Last, but certainly not least, were the cozy rooms. Each room was comfortable and inviting. I even got to spend a night in the Cell Block and it was neat. The Jailhouse Inn is a must if you are in the Fillmore County area.

Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank worksalot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We have just returned from our 7th stay at the Jailhouse Inn in Preston Mn.
This is the origional 1669 Fillmore County jail that was completly rebuilt inside and out as an Inn. It has 12 rooms including the original cell block which is great for familys with kids.
The other rooms are furnished with period furniture, excellent beds and increadible service and value.. The hosts had previous experience in the hospitality industry and are the perfect fit to operate this inn. They also live on site which is very nice for the service you need.
The gourmet breakfast is excellent and they always have coffee and tea available and home made cookies every evening.
WiFi is available, bring your own laptop.
Preston Mn is in the scenic Root River Valley of southeastern Mn, about an hour south of Rochester and the Mayo Clinic. There are miles of paved bycycle trails through the scenic valleys and woodlands of the area. Also this area has some of the best trout fishing and Wild Turkey hunting in the Midwest.
Nearby Lanesboro is a senic river town with many shops, restaurants and the new Commonweal live Theater.
There is also a winery with excellent local wines, you can visit Amish farms with their many crafts for sale, canoeing on the Root River or book a float trip.
The fall colors are absolutely outstanding in this area and a little known secret is there are hardly any mosquitos in the summer due to the lack of standing water.
Visit two caves and Forestville state park with it's interpretive history center.
Prices are very reasonable in this area. A wonderful place to visit.
This is also a wonderful place for a small wedding or family reunion.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unklray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waconia, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2005

We have recently booked our 3rd annual biking and B&B weekend. We happened upon the Jail House Inn two years ago and fell in love with it. It is so serene and the innkeepers are fabulous. From the wonderfully comfortable rooms to the spectacular breakfasts, this place is the best of the best. One of our favorite things to do is start and finish our days on the porch relaxing in the rockers and listening to the peacefulness surrounding the inn. It is a MUST DO if ever in the Preston area.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happycustomer0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2004

My wife and I just returned from our second stay at the Jailhouse Inn B&B.
The Jailhouse Inn is the best combination of informality and privacy I've experienced in a B&B. The various "theme" rooms are a treat (each with their own bathroom). Everything in this B&B is superbly appointed, and the gourmet breakfasts provide a great start for a bike ride on the fabulous Root River Trails, or hiking in nearby Forestville State Park.
Preston is a quiet, lovely community in the bluff country of SE Minnesota, and the Inn is on a shady street overlooking the town. The Innkeepers have thought of EVERYTHING. There's always great bean brewed in the kitchen, fine wine in the fridge (for sale on the honor system), and a living room/parlour made for lounging.
I love the region, and I love this B&B!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UpperMidwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
15.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
13.1 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
8 reviews
20.8 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JailHouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JailHouse Inn

Property: JailHouse Inn
Address: 109 Houston St NW, Preston, MN 55965-1099
Region: United States > Minnesota > Preston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing