We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge invasion of privacy and complete lack of professionalism!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Proctor
Certificate of Excellence
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Huge invasion of privacy and complete lack of professionalism!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I, along with my brother and his wife and 9 year old daughter, took a trip up to Duluth to visit my youngest son who attends UMD. We had reserved a king jacuzzi suite. Upon making a terrible decision to smoke in a non smoking room, we were informed (at 10pm) that we had 10 minutes to collect our things and vacate the hotel and property. The stated they had us on camera smoking in our room!!! Why is there a camera either inside or facing inside a king jacuzzi suite. Where we were standing was directly opposite the bed and jacuzzi---and this area is being video taped????? We will never stay at another Americinn anywhere. I advise everyone who reserves one of their jacuzzi suites to be very careful what they do in that room as their actions are being recorded.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I'm sorry that your stay with us was cut short.

I sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding cameras in the hotel. We do have surveillance cameras in the hallways, lobbies & entrances for our guests safety, but absolutely do not have any cameras in any of our Jacuzzi suites, family suites or honeymoon suites (or standard rooms).

Please know that we took immediate action and re-trained all our staff on how to handle these types of situations.

If you would like to share anything else about this experience, or have suggestions on how you feel we should have handled this situation, please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel (218) 624-1026 or email me at duluthsouth.mn@americinn.com.


Tony B
General Manager
AmericInn Duluth South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    58
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
105
65
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Worst customer services ever!!!! If I could just put a big fat zero instead of 1 I would!! My husband and I decide to take a trip up to Duluth for the weekend and was looking for a place to stay. I called this place and a staff told me that there was a room available. I told her I wasn't sure where I was going to stay and that I'm still looking around for a place, and so she told me to give my bank card to "hold" my room until I'm there so I was like sure. I gave her my card number and name and that night I end up staying somewhere else because my husband did not like the drive. We decide to stay closer to down town rather than going out of Duluth. Three days after my bank got charged, so I contact my bank and asked them. My bank contact the hotel and called me back that I should call the hotel and talk to them instead and so I did. I called in and told my name and that I asked for a hold for a room but my account was charge. I told him I don't understand why I had to pay for a place that I did not even spend a night at and he told me that they are a business and they make money, by my having them hold the room for that night im making them lose money so they had to charged me. I request for a manager because I could not believe how he was treating his customer and he told me that he was the manager. He said their "policy" was told over the phone to me by the staff. I try to tell him that I was not aware of the policy, and the person that made the hold did not tell me anything but the room and the rates of it and asked for my name and bank card number. He just told me that he doesn't understand what I am trying to tell him and that the staff wrote in the comment box that she went over their policy already. It was AWFUL!! SUPER DISAPPOINTMENT BY THIS "MANAGER"!!!!! Not to mention I asked for the customer service toll free number or another place that I can talk to about this issue and he gave me a phone number about some college degree programs in California. I had to go onto the website and find the number myself. Horrible!!!! These people!!! I've worked in retails before and it's always "customer satisfaction" that comes first. This is the first time that I was told that money matters more than having customer and they could care less about what happens to their customer as long as they get money from you!!!!! NEVER EVER GOING THERE OR RECOMMENDING IT TO ANYONE!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My family and I were in Duluth for a college tour of UMD and a trip up the north shore. We had a great time viewing the fall colors and sight seeing. After a day outdoors, the Americinn of Proctor was a very comfortable hotel to stay in. It was nice to be able to go next door for a drink and some appetizers. Thanks for the coupon at the front desk. I will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelBemidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlock, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Beware about getting a room that is near to the restaurant/convention center next door. There was a wedding party the night that I arrived, and the noise from the band could easily be heard from my room. I requested another one, but didn't get it until about 10:30. I then had to move all of my stuff out early in the morning, due to a 7am meeting (they wouldn't let me keep the room), and got assigned a room that afternoon when I returned that was fine. All in all, the staff were helpful, but it was a real inconvenience.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks out over the parking lot and not the restaurant...especially on a weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I received fantastic service from the moment I walked in the door until the time I left. My room was sooo quiet, inviting, and comfortable - so much that I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning! I will never stay another place in the Duluth area. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukon, Iowa, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

AmericInn is beginning to impress me. This is the second one in 2 weeks. Both were after midnight check inn's without reservations. The night clerk, got me the room I wanted, helped with Directions for the following morning and was bright and cheerful at 1:00AM. Not much to say about the room besides it was perfect in every way. I didn't stick around for the breakfast in the morning, but traffic in the hall was raving about it when I left. The franchise is beginning to impress me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The pluses: Comfortable room with microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV and good wifi; lots of seating options in the breakfast area which featured a full breakfast with different choices each morning; nice pool and hot tub area; friendly staff; Black Woods restaurant is attached

The minuses: A trip to the pool necessitates a trip through the lobby area; the bath area, at least in the two-bed rooms, is a little small

Room Tip: No elevator so those with mobility issues should ask for a main floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Proctor
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#12 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
6.5 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
6.0 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
Address: 185 Highway 2, Proctor, MN 55810-2317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Proctor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Proctor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Duluth South is located in Proctor Minnesota, on the South end of Duluth. Just a quick 10 minute drive from the Downtown/Canal Park area and 1 mile from Spirit Mountain. 67 Newly renovated and updated rooms and suites. Conveniently attached to Black Woods Grill & Bar and Convention Center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel And Suites Duluth South _ Black Woods Convention Center
Americinn Hotel & Suites Duluth South _ Black Woods Proctor
Americinn Hotel Proctor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing