We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Proctor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel has been our destination of choice for our ski trips to Duluth. Staff is the best around. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean, any problems are cared for right away. It is also adjacent to the Black Woods Bar and Grill, a great place to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Brandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us again this year!

You picked a great weekend (weather-wise) for skiing over at Spirit Mountain. You should come up in the summer and check out the Timber Twister and Zip Line. I hope you enjoyed all the recent updates that we’ve completed with our renovations. I can’t wait for you to come back again next year and see the rest of the upgrades we’re working on. Next time you have to try the new fish tacos at Black Woods – they’re becoming a favorite already.

Thank you again for the comments and staying with us-

Tony B – General Manger
AmericInn Duluth South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

very accessible, close to interstate without interstate noise, GREAT attached restaurant with excellent service, especially for those cold Minnesota nights! Ryan took great care of the entire family... we'll be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Kentvr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate any feedback we get for our guests. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself at the Black Woods restaurant attached and Ryan’s hospitality. We are anxiously waiting for spring up North – we hope you come back and see us again real soon.

Thank you again for the comments and staying with us-

Tony B – General Manger
AmericInn Duluth South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My boyfriend and I had a very nice 3 night stay over Valentine's weekend, we were able to have an excellent meal without having to leave the buliding (which is nice in a Minnesota winter!) at Blackwoods.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Dottie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you both for staying with us and letting us know that you had a lovely weekend.

We are so lucky to have such an awesome restaurant like Black Woods connected to us.

Next time you stay with us you should try one of our "Honeymoon" suites with the whirlpool and fireplace in it - they are very romantic (and the fireplace is very warm on our cold Minnesota nights).

Thanks again for staying with us!

Tony B
General Manager
AmericInn Duluth South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We picked this hotel over another local hotel after noticing that this Americinn had just been updated. The experience met expectations. Facility was clean and in no way felt tired or worn out. Pool was warm and comfortable. Overall experience was happy, happy, happy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

"Delivering the promise" is what we enjoy best about being your welcoming neighbor.

We are just finishing up our renovations of the entire building - they just finished the first shower with marble walls and glass panel doors - we are very excited and can't wait to show it off. I hope you got to check out our brand new fitness center.

We also just added several new hot items to our breakfast menu this week. Making our guests happy happy happy is what it's all about!

Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to post these very nice comments about your stay.

Until next time,

Tony B
General Manager
AmericInn Duluth Sotuh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A great night's sleep and a real surprise meal at the Blackwood Grill. Awesome salmon sandwich and sweet potato fries. My daughter slept on the sleeper sofa and she loved it.

Breakfast was simple self serve, with great eggs, waffles, juice, fruit and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Ricky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for the terrific review.

I'm glad your daughter enjoyed sleeping on the brand new sofa sleeper!

I agree with you about the salmon at the restaurant attached (Black Woods) - but the Walleye is still my favorite.

Also glad you enjoyed our new hot homemade breakfast items. We're having a great time expanding our rotating selections.

Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts...

Until next time.

Tony B
General Manager
AmericInn Duluth South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I can't say enough about the courteous and friendly staff at the Americinn Proctor. I am a handicapped traveler and they always go out of their way to make sure I have a pleasant visit. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The lobby is warm. Also is adjunct to a very nice local restaurant .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to post such nice words about us.

It is always a genuine pleasure to catch up with you and your family and to make your trip up North memorable. (sorry about all the snow this year)

I can't wait for you to come back and see all the recent updates in the guest rooms - we are very excited to show them off.

Thanks again - see you soon!

Tony B
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great Hotel- For me a great location as I travel on business. All the room were recently remolded. i have been staying here regularly for four years and have NEVER had a bad experience. Tony the manager and his staff are very professional, and accomodating. Havingteh Blackwoods restraurant connected to the hotel makes it even more of a reason to stay...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks for the kind words.

It's guests like you that make our jobs easy and fun!

Wait until you see all the new showers in the jacuzzi suites.

Black Woods is one of my favorite spots, too. They have some new menu items I think you'll really enjoy.

Thanks again - we really appreciate your business.

Tony B
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Proctor
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 31 in Duluth
448 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Duluth North/ Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Duluth North, MN
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center

Address: 185 Highway 2, Proctor, MN 55810-2317
Region: United States > Minnesota > Proctor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Proctor
Price Range: £69 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Duluth South is located in Proctor Minnesota, on the South end of Duluth. Just a quick 10 minute drive from the Downtown/Canal Park area and 1 mile from Spirit Mountain. 67 Newly renovated and updated rooms and suites. Conveniently attached to Black Woods Grill & Bar and Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel & Suites Duluth South _ Black Woods Proctor
Americinn Hotel And Suites Duluth South _ Black Woods Convention Center
Americinn Hotel Proctor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing