We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful river hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Nest B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reads Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The River Nest B&B
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful river hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Bill and Carol are a lovely couple and know what true hospitality means..... We spent one night and needed to be up early the next morning. They were very flexible to our specific needs. The jacuzzi is excellent, a fireplace sits right next to it. The train was loud, yet we were not bothered by the many that passed as we slept. Ear plugs are provided. We enjoyed Wabasha, the town next to Reeds Landing- the Dunn's even had coupons for the shops/restaurants in the town....
The breakfast is delicious, four courses and delightfully presented...... We hope to come again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ch00sym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thank you Bill & carol for restoring my faith in bed & breakfasts. We arrived to a charming welcome & a beautifully maintained b & b and it only got better from there. The rooms are luxurious and quite easily compare with any 5star hotel.
We were given a jacuzzi suite overlooking the mighty Mississippi River.
Our breakfast consisted of a pre breakfast breakfast of coffee & home made cinnamon scrolls covered in caramel sauce. An hour later we were given the breakfast which was a 3 course experience complete with dessert - all sourced from Bills beautifully maintained gardens.
Bill & carol are wonderful hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I highly recommend the River Nest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Bobbie Rae and I just happened to be traveling through the area and at the last minute ended up in the local pub. After a few beers we inquired about a nearby place to stay and were directed to Carol and Bill Dunns wonderful B&B The River Nest. We are so glad we found this place. Not only was the food so great (Carol readily and deliciously accommodated our low fat plant based nutrition preferences), the views of the Mississippi were unbeatable and the trains going by fascinating. We heartily recommend this place!
Dave and Bobbie Rae

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the Mississippi in Minnesota. Bill and Carol are fun hosts that make me feel right at home =] Both suites are terrific. I would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

1st time b&b stay, was the only place in town that had a fureplace, jacuzzi and overlooked the river. Enjoyed eagle viewing from sitting area. Food was just amazing!!! Do not bring your diet plans. Very welcoming hosts with excellent suggestions for things to do in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thatonechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the second time last weekend. What a wonderful, relaxing weekend we had. Imagine getting up to hot caramel rolls, coffee and juice delivered to your door. Then imagine an excellent breakfast of fruit, egg dish, fresh hot bread, homemade jam, juice and coffee an hour later. What a treat! And to top it off, there was dessert. The first morning it was the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten. When we weren't eating, we really enjoyed watching the eagles across the river, about a hundred all in one place. The room was comfortable with a see through fire place between the bedroom and the sun room. The Jacuzzi next to the fireplace in the sunroom made for a very relaxing soak. Carol and Bill were terrific with suggestions for dinner places. They greeted us warmly when we returned from our dinners or outings and made us feel very comfortable. I cannot rave enough about this place.

Room Tip: Bring your binoculars. Bill provides a set but you will each want a pair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequent63Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at The River Nest for our anniversary trip and it was the first time we had ever stayed in a bed and breakfast. What a wonderful place it was. Carol and Bill were excellent hosts and they made us feel at home immediately. The suite we had was wonderful and it overlooked the Mississippi River at Reads Landing near Wabasha,MN. We could watch the eagles soaring and nesting from our windows. The train tracks were across the street so we got to watch trains and that was interesting as well. The room was decorated very comfortably and included a large bathroom, bedroom, fireplace, jacuzzi, porch and deck. Carol's food was fantastic and you do not need lunch after the huge tasty breakfast. We really felt at home there. I am sure we will return again. We would highly recommend this gem of a B and B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reads Landing
11.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
11.3 mi away
Willows on the River
Willows on the River
#3 of 3 in Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Nest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Nest B&B

Property: The River Nest B&B
Address: 20073 County Road 77, Reads Landing, MN 55968-6831
Region: United States > Minnesota > Reads Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Reads Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New construction in 2005. The River Nest B&B is on the main channel of the Mississippi River in Reads Landing Mn 90 miles south of the Twin Cities, and 2 miles from Wabasha. Fantastic eagle viewing and bird watching. Train enthusiasts will have the main track of Canadian Pacific and Amtrak right out front. Only 2 suites, so quiet and intimate. Both suites have private bath with walk-in shower, queen bed, fireplace, jacuzzi, sitting room, private deck, TV, wi-fi, and refrig. Carmel rolls and coffee in your room and then main breakfast in dining room an hour later. Breakfast includes fruit dish, and egg-bake main course, breads, jams, and DESSERT. We grow our own raspberries and strawberries and use our own fresh garden produce as the season allows. We would love to host you! GLUTEN FREE, SUGAR FREE, MEAT FREE BREAKFAST UPON REQUEST!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing