We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great layout, wonderful service, huge bathroom, nice breakfast, terrific location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great layout, wonderful service, huge bathroom, nice breakfast, terrific location”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Our room was really comfortable except there was a mechanical sound above one of the bedrooms that kept us up one night - may have been the A/C in the room upstairs. We also had a bachelor party down the hall and a gymnast above. I don't blame the hotel for this but it did get a little loud. The layout of the room was great, the bathroom was huge with a great shower and the location was perfect - about 5 minutes from town. The staff was very helpful and quick when we needed anything. We did have trouble with our room key - having to go back to the front desk several times to get it to work. Check in was slow with the lady at the desk having some trouble getting things right. Breakfast was quite good - make your own waffles, a variety of cereals, juices, coffee, danishes, more. The Smokey Oak restaurant next door is excellent - and a good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arielf3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. It sounds like you had some minor inconveniences with the noise from some other patrons and a key card issue, for which I do apologize. It looks like it didn't affect your overall stay though and that is wonderful to hear!

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Dan Sullivan
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    74
    19
    15
    6
See reviews for
86
75
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Glacial slow check in, inadequate bathroom lighting, dirty soap dish and a miniscule breakfast selection, all for $120.00. Why bother with this when there are several better options available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdie6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Red Wing. I am sorry to hear we did not live up your expectations. We take all comments seriously and use them to improve our overall product. We are turning over new leaf at the Country Inn & Suites, Red Wing. We have an all new management team that is using your comments and feedback to make improvements and address past areas of concern. I apologize for our past mediocrity. We are making great strides in becoming a hotel that meets your expectations. I thank you for comments and hope to see you again in the future.

Dan Sullivan
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central Minn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is an average hotel. It's location is not great, and hwy 61 is very noisy. The worst part was the breakfast. The dining room was filthy, your feet stuck to the floor. Food choices were next to nothing. When we commented to the manager our disappointment he just blew us off. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jerrbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Red Wing. I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We take all comments seriously and we will use them to improve our product going forward. I apologize for your breakfast experience during your stay. Our breakfast presentation and cleanliness is area and we don't take lightly and has become a major focus for everyone on our staff. We are a new management staff as of July and with your feedback we look to improve on all past areas of concern. We thank you for your feedback and encourage you to stay with us in the future. Dan Sullivan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I liked the large room with a separate bedroom. What I did not like was the very loud heating/air conditioning unit which either made the room too hot or too cold without ever touching the thermostat. The breakfast was also not very good with multiple items not restocked even though we ate about 1 hour before it ended. It was an OK hotel but, for the price and given my experience at other country inns, I expected better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjjwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Red Wing. I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We take all comments seriously and use them to improve our overall product. I apologize for the noise from the air conditioning unit. We are in the process of doing a room by room service check on all our air conditioning units as we get into the summer months to assure they are working correctly for the months ahead. As for breakfast, we are making great strides to assure there is a great variety of items available and fresh items during all hours of breakfast and apologize we didn't live up to your expectations during your stay. I encourage you to stay with us in the future and come and see the improvements we have made. We thank you for your comments and hope you visit the area again real soon.

Dan Sullivan
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My company has a project at the Prairie Island Nuclear Plant in Welch, MN and this lovely hotel in Red Wing, MN is the perfect place to stay, right on Route 61. This is my second time staying here and it's such a pleasure.

First off and foremost, the hotel staff cannot do enough for you. They are kind, professional and always helpful. Once you check into your room, they call you to ensure that everything in the room is to your liking ... when's the last time you had *that* kind of attention from any hotel?

The lobby is small but inviting with a lovely fireplace. [In the winter months, however, that roaring fire can make the lobby overly warm.] The hotel offers fresh baked cookies at the front desk 24 hours a day, as well as fresh coffee, and a hot breakfast every morning (in addition to cold and continental breakfasts).

In addition, the wonderful Smokin' Oak Rotisserie & Grill Restaurant is right there on the hotel property, just steps from the front door. Smokin' Oak has fabulous wood fired chicken, pork and melt-in-your mouth brisket, as well as fabulous walleye, steaks, burgers, sandwiches, salads and hoemade soups. I've never had a bad meal there.

The hotel room is clean and lovely, with modern furnishings in pleasing hues. I had a king room with a very comfy bed, two side tables, a comfy easy chair with ottomon, a desk and a large credenza that holds the microwave, mini-fridge and three small dresser drawers. I also had a room that was at the end of a hall (Room 201) which gave me a neighbor only on one side (a plus) and also gave me not one, but two large windows on two different walls of the room (double plus).

There's a coffeemaker, an iron and ironing board. The desk has four electric outlets (yay!). There are also two additional outlets, one in the base of each nightstand lamp. The TV is a flat screen and the cable station selection is plentiful.

The bathroom is wonderfully large and spacious, with plenty of countertop space for all my toiletries. Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, bars of soap (one for face and another for body) are provided, as is a wall-mounted hair dryer. Towels were plentiful (if a bit thin) and there's a full length mirror in the foyer outside of the bathroom.

This hotel has a indoor pool, as well as a business center which offers a computer and printer, and a small gym which has machines and free weights.

If you're looking to fill your in-room fridge, there's plenty of shopping (grocery, liquor store, drug store, etc.) just a short drive down Highway 61.

Red Wing is a charming little town and, if you're so inclined (I was not because it was way too smoky), the Treasure Island Resort and Casino is about 10 minutes away in nearby Welch, MN.

Red Wing's Country Inn & Suites is really a terrific hotel ... this is what you expect from a hotel and, sadly, so seldom receive.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We thank you for your kind words and thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us!

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Dan Sullivan
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed a weekend for a family Christmas party. I liked being able to close the door between the bedroom and sitting room in our king suite. I slept while my wife visited. The rooms were very clean with two wall mounted flat screen TV's. The bathroom sparkling and the tub drained without a problem. The bed comfortable and passed the bed bug inspection. Breakfast was standard hotel fare, but the attendant was super nice. The entire staff, in fact, went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Too much chlorine in the pool for some of the kiddies was the only negative.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Wing, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I was looking for a place to stay for a night away to get a break and relax with the kids, while recovering from surgery. We planned to stay only one night but ended up staying for 2. The pool was great and the staff very accommodating. One of the desk ladies even brought magazines to me at the pool where I was relaxing watching the boys. The room was comfortable and the breakfast filling. We will definitely be staying again and would not choose anywhere else in town to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
2.6 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
316 reviews
2.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
329 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
94 reviews
18.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Address: 4275 Highway 61 W, Red Wing, MN 55066-9200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of Highway 61, the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson of Red Wing is near some of the area’s best attractions. It is just minutes from Treasure Island Casino, Welch Village Ski & Snowboard Area, Cannon Valley Trail, and Historic Downtown Red Wing. Smokin’ Oak restaurant is located next door.Guests at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing are greeted by welcoming décor and convenient amenities. You're welcome to relax in our comfortable lobby with beautiful fireplace and reading library. The Country Inn & Suites Red Wing offers complimentary enhanced breakfast, weekday lobby newspaper, wireless high-speed internet access, a business center, a fitness room, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool.There are a variety of room types to meet your needs whether you are traveling for business or leisure. We have deluxe rooms, whirlpool, two room and extended stay suites available. All of our beautifully decorated guest rooms feature microwaves and refrigerators. In addition, they feature flat screen TVs with cable and HBO, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Suites Red Wing Hotel Red Wing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing