We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room for Charlie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had tickets to see Charlie Pride, but the casino hotel was full so my family decided to stay at the Country Inn & Suites in Red Wing. As soon as we entered we were greeted by Michelle with a friendly hello and a smile. The room was a two room suite, with a spacious bathroom. The main room had two chairs and a small couch that converted into a bed and it also had a desk. There were two queen sized beds in the bedroom. The pillows were feather down and my brother has allergies to feathers so he called the lobby and Michelle brought up some non-feather pillows. There is no restaurant on site, however there is one within walking distance. The hotel has an exercise room, pool and hot tub. The free breakfast had waffles that you could make, cereal, muffins, toast, breakfast potatoes, and eggs. You had a çhoice of beverages from coffee,tea, 2% and skim milk, and three types of juices; apple, orange, and cranberry. The plates and cups were real china, not paper. If I'm back near Red Wing I will stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our guest rooms and the variety at our breakfast. Our staff is more than happy to assist in any way possible and it is wonderful to see Michelle was able to assist with the correct pillows during your stay. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the restaurant near us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Only paid $77 ($84 with tax) for a very nice and quiet room! Free breakfast also which included eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal, etc. The room had a very big bathroom. Also had a microwave and a refrigerator. There was also a very good restaurant right there off the parking lot which was very good (cannot remember the name of it). Highly recommend this hotel. Red Wing is a very cute town!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trayruots1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of our hotel including our spacious rooms and hot complimentary breakfast . It is our pleasure to make sure each guest has a wonderful stay at our property. We look forward to your next stay here in Red Wing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Took a trip with another couple to Red Wing, none of us ever stayed at a Country Inn. This was such a good experience that we will search for one on another trip. Inn was clean, staff was excellent and loved eating breakfast off of china and drinking my coffee out of china cups, not paper. Beds were so comfortable and air conditioning was quiet! I forgot my pillow when leaving, called the next morning and Michelle had my pillow put on the side so I could pick it up on the return trip home. Ryan was also a big help in making our reservation. Thank you to your staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler1941_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and your room during your stay. Our staff was pleased that we could help locate your pillow! We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is out of town but makes it quieter but close to stores and malls. The night receptionist Michelle was awesome. She made us feel very friendly and was there to help Country Inn guest with anything and always with a smile. We had a 2 bedroom suite and it was great. It had two easy chairs but could have had an ottoman to put your feet on. We at at the restaurant next door and it was good. Must have reservations though.

This was a little pricey but our stay was relaxing and what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and that Michelle was accommodating during your stay! We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here with my family, me, wife and three kids, while visiting family in Red Wing. The hotel is close to the city and the rooms were very nice- seemed like an updated or newer hotel. We had a 1 bdr suite, which worked fine for the family. The pool was big and the kids had fun. There is a good restaurant right in the parking lot of the hotel.
Now, this is where the good parts end... The staff were not the friendliest, appearing bothered when I had to ring the bell to get their attention to check in. Then, the breakfast. It is a small breakfast area that filled up with people quickly both days (a Friday and Saturday morning). We had to bring the food back and eat in our room. Also, food ran out and I just don't mean the below average hot food. I mean the coffee, juice, milk. We had to wait numerous times for this. Also, cups were in short supply. On top of all of that, I found a finger nail clipping in my oatmeal. It did not bother me as much as my wife and with the staff not too friendly (and leaving that day), I did not report this.
If you stay away from the oatmeal and have breakfast out, this will be a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzdndcnfsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

I appreciate the feedback about our breakfast. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any errors we may have in our service. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do or if you would like to discuss your concern further, please call us directly and ask for Catherine, General Manager, 651 388 9000.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a quiet out-of-the way property that you will miss heading out of Redwing on 61 if you're not aware it's tucked to the side of the busy highway with no sign indicating where to turn or the location. After a couple u-turns, we found it. Front desk most accomodating and overall the perception was the hotel is well-used but makes an attempt to do it right. Pool is extremely small and water very cold, but staff agreed to turn up the temperature so that kids could use it. It was so well-used by so many kids, it was closed on the following morning for a few hours to check for bacteria. The pool is just too tiny to accomodate huge influx of users. Breakfast was really just fine. Some reviews ranked it low - but it had nice choices, overall. Even hot oatmeal, which is good for you! Name brand cereals, milk, good coffee choices, waffles, fruit, yogurt, topppings, etc. The only complaint I had was there was only white bread - prefer more choices.

Bring your kids here - it's very nice to have a pool, even tiny, hot tub and an adequate breakfast when you travel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the use of our pool. We appreciate the feedback about our pool, hot tub and breakfast. We now even offer more variety in our breakfast! We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The staff was very friendly, especially the evening desk worker. Made cards for me twice in one night and didn't even complain. My room was clean. Bed comfy. Shower had hot water with good water pressure. Exercise room was decent; treadmills, dumbells, bike and eliptical.. Breakfast was ok; cereal, oatmeal, egg burrito, potatoes, milk, waflle maker, orange, apples. Hot beverages available at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Red Wing. Thank you for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed our evening shift employee as well as our other amenities. We thank you for your comments and hope you visit the area again real soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
2.6 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
3.8 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#7 of 9 in Red Wing
359 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
97 reviews
17.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing

Address: 4275 Highway 61 W, Red Wing, MN 55066-9200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range: £85 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of Highway 61, the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson of Red Wing is near some of the area’s best attractions. It is just minutes from Treasure Island Casino, Welch Village Ski & Snowboard Area, Cannon Valley Trail, and Historic Downtown Red Wing. Smokin’ Oak restaurant is located next door.Guests at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing are greeted by welcoming décor and convenient amenities. You're welcome to relax in our comfortable lobby with beautiful fireplace and reading library. The Country Inn & Suites Red Wing offers complimentary enhanced breakfast, weekday lobby newspaper, wireless high-speed internet access, a business center, a fitness room, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool.There are a variety of room types to meet your needs whether you are traveling for business or leisure. We have deluxe rooms, whirlpool, two room and extended stay suites available. All of our beautifully decorated guest rooms feature microwaves and refrigerators. In addition, they feature flat screen TVs with cable and HBO, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Suites Red Wing Hotel Red Wing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing