We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a joy to stay there”
Review of Candlelight Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candlelight Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Wonderfully kept up and decorated old building. The owners really appear to love what they are doing and they do it so well. Nice little amenities like mints, peanuts and chocolate covered raisins set downstairs and a fridge with complimentary water and soda Get there at 4pm to check in and have wine, crackers, sausage and cheese and enjoy the ambiance inside or out on the spacious screened porch. No TV but there are plenty of things to do in town. Tour Red Wing Stoneware, taste at Falconer Winery, shop for antiques, hit restaurants and bars and, if you are there on the right night, hear music in the park. Fantastic breakfast lovingly made by the owner. Wi Fi in the rooms but not a good high speed everywhere. We stayed in the Margaret room and computer ran slow. All in all a wonderful time though and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you really need to use internet ask for a room where it is the fastest or maybe have them reboot...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Candlelight Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

We've stayed in lots of B+B's. This one is not the worst we've stayed in but it's also not the best. It's a Victorian home that has original features which are interesting to see. However, it does need work both outside and inside. The front porch and gardens were a bit shabby. The wallpaper inside was coming loose at the edges in many places. The mattress was a little hard for our liking. The window air conditioner was loud. The blinds were not room darkening so the room was very light in the morning. The sofa was lumpy. The innkeepers did provide some nice extras: wine, crackers, cheese upon arrival; coke and water in a fridge; tea and coffee brought to the room in the morning before breakfast. We stayed Sunday night so got a reduced rate. We are glad we didn't pay more. We'll stay some where else should we return to this area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Finediners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We love to stay in Bed and Breakfasts. Victorian isn't my favorite "style", but his inn is very nice. It is very clean. We stayed in the Butternut Suite. The Inn Keeper greeted us and told us everything we needed to know. There was wine, cheese, and crackers. We spent the evening going to the Red Wing pottery and the Red Wing boot museum. It was lovely sitting down by the water near the visitor center. In the morning, a bell rang outside our door and there was coffee and mini muffins. The breakfast was made and served by a visiting "helper" since the lady of the house was away. She did a fantastic job. I wish we could have met the "lady of the house." The breakfast was a three course meal. Very delicous and generous portions.

Room Tip: Butternut Suite only one with TV. THe whirlpool was very powerful! :)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidsarefun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I arrived at check-in time (4:00 p.m.) and were promptly greeted
at the front door and brought into the parlor. Guests are invited to use the porch or parlor area as they enjoy cheese, meat, crackers, and wine. Since it was a beautiful afternoon we sat on the white wicker porch chairs and rested before getting ready to go out. Our room (Queen Victoria) was beautifully furnished-not too many antique touches-just enough for my taste. The inn itself was built in 1877 and is located on a block with other striking examples of well-kept Victorian homes.
We decided to drive around the area of Red Wing (the bluffs) and saw some beautiful views of the city and river from the various parks and lookouts around town. Then we went to near-by Falconer Vineyard which has a covered outdoor area looking over the vineyard. After the wine sampling, we wanted to stay and have something to eat. They serve only pizza (whole wheat crust) from a wood fired oven and had live music the night we were there. It was a fun experience to be outside and with other small and large groups enjoying a nice evening.
Back at the Candlelight Inn we used the whirlpool (3 of the 5 rooms have a whirlpool), while listening to the soft music from the CD player in the room, The bed was very comfortable.
Each room has a journal to write your impressions, and, to let others know how many coins you have found during your stay-Yes, there are coins hidden around in various places-a curiously fun touch! Actually, there were many special touches at this inn from the candies and nuts placed at the entry to the inn to the morning coffee/tea and muffins delivered to your door before breakfast. (There is no door knocking either-just the pretty sounds of a music box letting you know that the morning treat has arrived.)
The breakfast table was beautifully arranged with name cards at each place. We enjoyed getting to meet fellow travelers and the delicious courses served that day-a chilled strawberry soup, freshly baked cinnamon roll, a sausage cheese egg scramble and a panne cotta with fresh blackberries-everything lovingly prepared and served.
We were so impressed with the service and special attention to details that we left with gift certificates for our two adult children's wedding anniversaries so they could enjoy a restful and fun stay at the Candlelight Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Great place to stay- friendly service, and the details are very well attended to

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandamf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We showed up before the published check in time to find the front door locked. This threw me off a little bit, but we didn't ring the doorbell but decided to tour the city for a bit instead. When we returned my first response seeing the inside of the home was "Beautiful" We were brought to a private room where Lynette sat and spoke with us for a bit. I thought that was a nice personal touch. We were staying in the Butternut Suite, which is perfect for celebrating special occasions. The woodwork in the room is gorgeous. The room is quite spacious with a fireplace, mini-fridge and whirlpool tub. Breakfast was good but not excellent. Apparently some things went wrong in the kitchen that morning, so I suspect Lynette whipped up something out of no where. Overall, we enjoyed our experience at the B&B.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank quinnlavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We arrived (4 of us, 2 couples) We shown to the parlor while other guests were checked in. They had cheese, crackers, summer sausage, and wine while we were waiting. The house is beautiful and clean!!! Then we were brought in to the darling little library that had games, fireplace and a very cozy feeling. At this time, we met the Inn keeper, Lynn, who checked us in and gave us a little tour and told us about places around town to have dinner. We had the Rose room.Our friends were across the hall (can't remember the name of that one) Very inviting.It had an air conditioner and fireplace. an alarm clock/CD player with 3 romantic CD's that we enjoyed. We found coins in the room that we thought maybe another guest left, until we discovered there were several hidden around the room. It was a fun game looking for treasures (coins).The only thing I could see that didn't happen was they said they had free wifi. My ipad could not pick up any signal. Actually this was a blessing in disguise, I could really relax without worrying about emails. After dinner, we sat in the library and played a game. The Inn was full but didn't see many people around. In the morning at breakfast, in which was excellent, we had a nice time meeting the other house mates. Lynn gave the story of the house, which was very interesting.
This experience was what I was hoping for. Will return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenben044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#7 of 9 in Red Wing
359 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.7 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Inn

Address: 818 W 3rd St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2205
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range: £81 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five enchanting bedrooms, all with private baths and fireplaces, some with whirlpools. Victorian antiques, stained glass windows and Quezal light fixtures complete the authentic look of the home. Minnesota Register of Historic places. Charming river town with shopping, golf, skiing, bike trail, Sheldon Theatre. Mid-week discounts. Full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing