We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlelight Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candlelight Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A very relaxing weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed in the Butternut Suite. The room was very comfortable, although a bit dark in the day and a bit too bright at night. The bed was too firm for my preference, but not that's not unusual. The two person Jacuzzi tub was very enjoyable. We stayed two nights and Lynette gave us two excellent breakfasts. We were especially fond of the wild rice, bacon quiche. Our favorite spot was the screened front porch. At check-in they have wine, cheese, sausage and crackers available, so there is no need to go out for happy hour. The Inn was fully booked both nights and it was fun meeting the other couples. I think Lynette seems a bit burned out after 14 years keeping this Inn. There was not a lot of enthusiasm, and she did tell us that the Inn is for sale. She was still very welcoming and gracious. The home is in a very quiet neighborhood.

We walked to Barn Bluff (about 1.5 miles away) and hiked up to the top (3/4 mild uphill) for a beautiful view of the town and valley. There is a nice spot to park at the east end of the bluff if you don't want to walk there. We had a great meal at Red Wing Brewery, and a disappointing meal at The Brickhouse Pub.

Room Tip: The Butternut room is the largest, is the only one with TV, and the only one on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eyehep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
89
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Would have been a 5 if not for one thing...Beautiful place, friendly staff and owner, great breakfast, nice room, horrible mattress in The Rose Garden Room. Would have been a perfect nights stay is the mattress had been better and I could have slept better.

Room Tip: Rose Garden has a BAD mattress, can't comment on the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenWelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlerw, Owner at Candlelight Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We are so sorry to hear we did not exceed all your expectations. We had a complaint about the mattress in that room in November of 2011 and replaced it then. We hope you will give us another chance on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

No creepy dolls, and not overly flowery! This is a lovely Victorian house, fairly well restored. A nice place ot stay most days of the year, though the inn's heating had trouble keeping up with the sub-zero temperatures outside on the night of our stay, so I couldn't hang in the best common room, the library. .

Breakfast was a bit heavy on the sweet stuff, but the quiche was delicious, and they accommodated my request for no pork.

The inn provides a complimentary happy hour (cheap wine, cheese, crackers) and a fridge with soda and bottled water. What was missing was any-time coffee/tea/cocoa, which are pretty standard for B&Bs. Overall a nice place to stay for a couples getaway.

Room Tip: Recommend Margaret's Room (smaller, cheaper, good morning light) and The Rose Garden Room (for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We received a living social deal for Christmas so we went the first of January. We stayed in the butternut suite, which was great! Had a nice fireplace, two person jacuzzi tub, a canopy bed and a mini fridge. They had wine and appetizers waiting for us when we checked in. The woodwork of the house was incredible! The innkeepers were nice and made the most delicious 3 course breakfast. The room had a journal of all the people who had stayed there which was fun to read. We also took part in the coin hiding game, in which coins were hidden throughout the room and then you rehide them for the next guests. It was fun to explore and go back in time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Positives: We had a living social package, so the value was good for the cost. The Butternut Suite is definitely worth the minor upgrade in cost. The house is gorgeous, and has remained fairly true to its original character. We loved the fireplaces in each room and the parlor was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The bed in the Butternut suite was pre-civil war era, and the woodwork details are all original. We loved those details, along with the fun game of hidden coins all over our room. What a fun, quirky detail that made our experience memorable. Food was beautiful but a bit rich and heavy for our taste in the morning.

The only regrets we had were: Zig and Lynnette were not there to serve us, as their daughter was married a couple days prior. (Understandable, obviously!) The gals we worked wih were very nice but didn't know a ton about the history.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannaS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I had an excellent time when we spent the night at the Candlelight Inn this past weekend. Red Wing was a fun town to spend a day wandering around, and we enjoyed having everything easily within walking distance of the inn. The Inn itself was cozy, well maintained and clean. The Innkeepers were friendly, and breakfast was outstanding. We enjoyed hearing about the history of the Inn, especially after the delicious breakfast, which was very filling. This was actually our first time visiting a B&B, and we would not hesitiate to return to the Candlelight Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEEGEE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had a great overnight at The Candlelight Inn. We did a Sunday night stay in the Rose Garden Room. The gas fireplace was cozy, we loved the small Japanese style soaker tub, and we were blown away with our multi-course breakfast. Luckily, we decided to skip dinner downtown (not many places open on a Sunday night) and we're glad we did. The only negatives of our stay were the somewhat uncomfortable mattress and the fact that the old house ran out of hot water when I wanted to take an evening bath. By morning the hot water was in ample supply. We loved the cheese and crackers in the cozy library upon arrival.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TyAnneGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Inn

Property: Candlelight Inn
Address: 818 W 3rd St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2205
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five enchanting bedrooms, all with private baths and fireplaces, some with whirlpools. Victorian antiques, stained glass windows and Quezal light fixtures complete the authentic look of the home. Minnesota Register of Historic places. Charming river town with shopping, golf, skiing, bike trail, Sheldon Theatre. Mid-week discounts. Full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing