We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights stay.”
Review of Candlelight Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candlelight Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Quite area with a very good breakfast. They even worked around my food allergies which was very welcome. The room was clean and comfortable and close to the heart of Redwing. We were able to walk to the main street where the restaurants and stores are located.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Breakfast was delicious and very filling. My husband and I have stayed at several B & B's and the breakfast is often beautifully served, but sometimes meager. This certainly wasn't the case at the Candlelight Inn! We didn't need to find a place to grab lunch!
We stayed in a room at the front of the house and it was drafty and the bathroom floor was VERY cold. They accommodated this problem by putting a heater in the bathroom, which helped, but did not solve the problem of the cold breeze felt in the room. We did have the fireplace running constantly, but the draft really bothered my husband and he was constantly chilled. I was not as bothered by it because I don't mind a room that is a bit cooler.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PEJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Spent 2 nights in the Butternut Suite. Met at the door & given a nice introduction to the Inn. Owners and staff were informative and hospitable. Wine and appetizers were available both afternoons. Candy & nuts were always available. Inn is very nice. Gourmet 3 course breakfast, served at a 10 person table each morning was different and fantastic. Inn has a great location allowing us to easily walk around town to visit such places as the theater, and all of downtown. Plenty of on street parking. We were lucky enough to have a half price coupon but would gladly pay full price. Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Butternut Suite has full bath, beautiful, comfortable bed, & is on the first floor. Other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptjohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast, so we were both looking forward to this new experience. The Candlelight Inn did not let us down. Our room had a romantic old world charm to it and the innkeepers and other guests were so incredibly friendly. Lynette makes a lovely 3 course breakfast every morning and comes out to chat with the guests. It felt like sitting down to eat with the family.

I was enchanted by the library with all the built in wooden bookshelves and fireplace. I can't think of a more relaxing place to curl up with a good book. I wish I could have brought it home in my suitcase. This house had some of the most beautiful woodwork. Kudos to the innkeepers for making this such a lovely place to visit.

We would definitely stay at the Candlelight Inn again if we happened to be passing through Red Wing and we will be recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed in the Butternut Suite. The room was very comfortable, although a bit dark in the day and a bit too bright at night. The bed was too firm for my preference, but not that's not unusual. The two person Jacuzzi tub was very enjoyable. We stayed two nights and Lynette gave us two excellent breakfasts. We were especially fond of the wild rice, bacon quiche. Our favorite spot was the screened front porch. At check-in they have wine, cheese, sausage and crackers available, so there is no need to go out for happy hour. The Inn was fully booked both nights and it was fun meeting the other couples. I think Lynette seems a bit burned out after 14 years keeping this Inn. There was not a lot of enthusiasm, and she did tell us that the Inn is for sale. She was still very welcoming and gracious. The home is in a very quiet neighborhood.

We walked to Barn Bluff (about 1.5 miles away) and hiked up to the top (3/4 mild uphill) for a beautiful view of the town and valley. There is a nice spot to park at the east end of the bluff if you don't want to walk there. We had a great meal at Red Wing Brewery, and a disappointing meal at The Brickhouse Pub.

Room Tip: The Butternut room is the largest, is the only one with TV, and the only one on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eyehep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Would have been a 5 if not for one thing...Beautiful place, friendly staff and owner, great breakfast, nice room, horrible mattress in The Rose Garden Room. Would have been a perfect nights stay is the mattress had been better and I could have slept better.

Room Tip: Rose Garden has a BAD mattress, can't comment on the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenWelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlerw, Owner at Candlelight Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

We are so sorry to hear we did not exceed all your expectations. We had a complaint about the mattress in that room in November of 2011 and replaced it then. We hope you will give us another chance on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

No creepy dolls, and not overly flowery! This is a lovely Victorian house, fairly well restored. A nice place ot stay most days of the year, though the inn's heating had trouble keeping up with the sub-zero temperatures outside on the night of our stay, so I couldn't hang in the best common room, the library. .

Breakfast was a bit heavy on the sweet stuff, but the quiche was delicious, and they accommodated my request for no pork.

The inn provides a complimentary happy hour (cheap wine, cheese, crackers) and a fridge with soda and bottled water. What was missing was any-time coffee/tea/cocoa, which are pretty standard for B&Bs. Overall a nice place to stay for a couples getaway.

Room Tip: Recommend Margaret's Room (smaller, cheaper, good morning light) and The Rose Garden Room (for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.3 mi away
St. James Hotel, Est. 1875
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Red Wing, MN
1 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
0.7 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Inn

Address: 818 W 3rd St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2205
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range: £78 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five enchanting bedrooms, all with private baths and fireplaces, some with whirlpools. Victorian antiques, stained glass windows and Quezal light fixtures complete the authentic look of the home. Minnesota Register of Historic places. Charming river town with shopping, golf, skiing, bike trail, Sheldon Theatre. Mid-week discounts. Full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing