We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Getaway”
Review of Golden Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Lantern Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Champlin, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter Getaway”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This was our first experience with a B & B and LOVED the Golden Lantern Inn! We stayed in JR's suite and loved the privacy, décor, whirlpool, and view from the room. The house was wonderful to go thru and enjoy the great architecture designs and patterns of the rooms and learn about the history of the house and it's original owners from years ago. Breakfast was wonderful and we certainly enjoyed our chats with Sioux, the host, and the three little "greeters" during our stay. We are looking forward to a return visit in the near future this year again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    35
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
185
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Quiet, charming, wonderful food. Each room has its own lovely character. Apps and wine in the afternoon were a nice surprise. Breakfast was on time and very nice. Innkeeper is a sweet lady. Will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed here with my husband for a nice romantic anniversary- Everything was perfect- We stayed in JR's room, which has a fabulous king size bed, and loved the whirlpool- the floors had just been refinished so that really added to the charm of the room. Breakfast was perfect-" ask about the broiled grapefruit or the "pear extraordinaire" . Had a great time with dogs, Spencer will steal your heart. All in all it was a wonderful getaway- Another nice touch was option of in room breakfast or in dining room-

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice, just depends on what you are looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We went to the Golden Lantern for a short overnight and had a delightful stay. The room was well tended, the environment relaxing and the breakfast was wonderful. We had the choice of eating with others in the dining room or having our breakfast delivered to our room. We liked having this choice. We have already begun planning a return trip in the spring. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Golden Lantern was a great place to stay for a getaway and quick ski trip between the holidays in December. The house is beautiful and was decorated taste fully for the Christmas holiday! Siuox went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and even gave us a small breakfast the morning we had to leave early prior to when breakfast was to be served.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We recently spent two winter nights in Leta's room and were very comfortable. Sioux was a very accommodating, gracious and informative Inn keeper who pointed us to restaurants and "things to do."
Our room, although the smallest of the rooms at the Inn, was clean, quiet and comfortable only to be upstaged by breakfast...both mornings.
For those who like to stay at B&B's I would heartily recommend The Golden Lantern for its' location and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The house was decorated very nicely, and the location was great (just a short walk from downtown). The welcome we received was very friendly, and the breakfasts were delicious. That said, there was an odd smell in our room (Meg's Suite) both nights that we stayed there. It actually made it hard to sleep. And strangely, this is the first B&B we stayed at that didn't have a plate of cookies out every day. You only get cookies on the day you check in. The only treats that were set out everyday were two small bowls of store-bought candies (Hershey kisses in one, and Jolly Ranchers in the other). For the price we paid, I was surprised that the owners skimped on the homemade treats, which to me are a hallmark of B&Bs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WItraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.4 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lantern Inn

Property: Golden Lantern Inn
Address: 721 East Ave, Red Wing, MN 55066-3435
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 4 blocks from downtown, this Inn was built by the founders of Red Wing Shoes. House is adorn with great woodwork and features charm, elegance, serenity, and comfort. Spectacular gardens and grounds. Many packages, specials and choices of venues for breakfast. Highest rated Inn in Red Wing. Four of the five rooms are suites. Four have fireplaces, four have Jacuzzis all have private baths. Breakfast available in your room--the only Inn in Red Wing offering this feature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing