We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful...Relaxing...And a Superb Host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Lantern Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Restful...Relaxing...And a Superb Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days at the Golden Lantern Inn over the recent Memorial Day. Sioux is a wonderful host. You arrive to a warm greeting, a nice tour and a chance to get all your initial questions answered. So helpful. Breakfast was excellent. We did some biking and enjoyed coming home in the afternoon to a tray of dips, snacks, cookies or whatever that day offerred!
Highly recommend the JT Suite...roomy...his/her sinks in bathroom...2 person tub with jets...king bed...above the living room so quiet in the evening.
One dinner suggestion--Nosh in Lake City. Right near the marina..great food, great views..great vibe.
Thanks Golden Lantern for making our trip memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-DA-Hut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    35
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
184
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milaca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Beautiful B&B with interesting history. Sioux, the owner, was very helpful in sleeping 3 to our room. Sioux had many helps for things to do in the Red Wing area. The breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

My husband and I just stayed overnight at the Golden Latern Inn, but it was the most relaxing weekend. We stayed in JR's room, loved the king size bed and whirlpool. The room was very clean and private. We enjoyed having breakfast (which was amazing) in our room. Giving us a little more time to enjoy the room. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara9530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful B&B for our Anniversary. The room (Helen's Suite) was perfect with it's gas fired stove and sitting room, great for relaxing. The hostess was very accommodating and the option to take our breakfast in our room was something I can see many couples enjoying.

Thanks to a recommendation from our hostess, we enjoyed a great dinner in Lake City, just south of RedWing, at a restaurant call Nosh.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DornMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

This was our first experience with a B & B and LOVED the Golden Lantern Inn! We stayed in JR's suite and loved the privacy, décor, whirlpool, and view from the room. The house was wonderful to go thru and enjoy the great architecture designs and patterns of the rooms and learn about the history of the house and it's original owners from years ago. Breakfast was wonderful and we certainly enjoyed our chats with Sioux, the host, and the three little "greeters" during our stay. We are looking forward to a return visit in the near future this year again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Quiet, charming, wonderful food. Each room has its own lovely character. Apps and wine in the afternoon were a nice surprise. Breakfast was on time and very nice. Innkeeper is a sweet lady. Will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed here with my husband for a nice romantic anniversary- Everything was perfect- We stayed in JR's room, which has a fabulous king size bed, and loved the whirlpool- the floors had just been refinished so that really added to the charm of the room. Breakfast was perfect-" ask about the broiled grapefruit or the "pear extraordinaire" . Had a great time with dogs, Spencer will steal your heart. All in all it was a wonderful getaway- Another nice touch was option of in room breakfast or in dining room-

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice, just depends on what you are looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.4 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lantern Inn

Property: Golden Lantern Inn
Address: 721 East Ave, Red Wing, MN 55066-3435
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 4 blocks from downtown, this Inn was built by the founders of Red Wing Shoes. House is adorn with great woodwork and features charm, elegance, serenity, and comfort. Spectacular gardens and grounds. Many packages, specials and choices of venues for breakfast. Highest rated Inn in Red Wing. Four of the five rooms are suites. Four have fireplaces, four have Jacuzzis all have private baths. Breakfast available in your room--the only Inn in Red Wing offering this feature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing