We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hike, great view of the town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barn Bluff

Barn Bluff
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Red Wing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 350-foot cliff that was so named because of its resemblance to a barn.
St Paul,MN
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hike, great view of the town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have climbed the bluff twice. Once on the easier trail, and once on the experienced hikers trail(EHT). Both were fun. Suggest the EHT is truly more comfortable for those with experience. Its often very narrow. Slippery when wet. And very steep if you slip/fall off the trail. Take water, suntan lotion, and bug spray. We enjoyed the views and the hikes. Take a camera & don't be in a hurry!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ptjohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This hike has beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Start at the East end, There are stairs up this end. Each stair has the name of the person who donated it. Bring a camera and binoculars, there are spectacular views when you reach the west end. You can see barges on the Mississippi River. If you look on the west horizon on a clear day you can see the planes landing at the Minneapolis Airport. Also there are great views of the city of Red Wing. This is a hike not to be missed. On a hot day be sure you bring water to keep hydrated.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a nice hike for being in a city. It does have one section with a steep drop off which may not be suitable for younger children. Great vistas from the top of the bluff. This is a nice attraction for the city of Red Wing. We hiked there many times in the 5 years we owned a townhouse there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran7782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
541 reviews
287 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Birds Eye Views Ahead.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We couldn't find a legitimate parking lot and due to the weather, no one else was around, so we just parked on the side of the road at the bottom of the bluff. After our hike, our car was still there, free of any parking tickets, so go ahead and park where you want. This attraction isn't for everyone as their are some steep paths on the way up. Their are stairs located in a couple places to ease the hiker, but not the whole way up. Wildlife is a plenty, we saw typical MN wildlife as well as blue jays, vultures, and eagles throughout our hike. The Lake, the River, Red Wing; every direction a different, equally great view. Bring your camera, spouse, and hiking shoes/boots and do this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JesseWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“beautiful view of Red Wing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

great hike, a must do when in Red Wing! started with the South trail, once on top we walked several other trails.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barn Bluff also viewed

 

Been to Barn Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing