We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“winter getaway”
Review of Lake Pepin

Lake Pepin
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Red Wing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Picturesque twenty-two-mile lake in the Mississippi River Valley.
Champlin, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“winter getaway”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

we drove by but did not stop since it was a little chilly but would like to stop the next time we are down

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    20
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ice sailing”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We saw 50-75 ice sailing craft in use on Sunday morning - the last Sunday in January. They were by Lake City.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank New_grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Took a drive around the lake in January and even then it was beautiful. Would like to go back in summer or fall.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lake of the Pearl Paddleboat”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We took one of the last boat rides of the year in October 2012. Admission was reasonable for adults and children, and snacks were $1. Seating is not reserved; you can grab a table with chairs inside (heated) or on top deck. Kids enjoyed going in and out / up and down on the boat, which is very stable. They also had fun watching the paddlewheels turn as we motored around Lake Pepin. Captain gave us some information about the sights and lake; otherwise, music played in the background. If you've never been on a paddleboat, I recommend this trip for you and your family. I think you'll enjoy the slow moving ride, and if you go in the summertime, you'll probably see many sailboats, eagles, and other interesting sights.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina_Travels_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great scenery”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

beautiful outlook and restaurant over the lake. Nice paddlewheel boat ride - although we couldn't take it - we saw many who did and they loved it. Lake Pepin also had a nice inn right at the restaurant. Was a very relaxing atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gatormom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Pepin also viewed

 

Been to Lake Pepin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing