We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only three stars”
Review of Moondance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moondance Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Sterling Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Only three stars”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at the Moondance this past weekend and we did not feel it was a 5 star B & B. The rooms are nice and the whirlpool tubs are fine. The breakfast was quite good. However we were disappointed in the wifi which we were unable to get to work (not surprising when you read their instructions). Breakfast is at 9am and we wanted to get on the road by then. Most places we have stayed offer breakfast from 7 to 9 or 8 to 10. We were put off by the sign on the door telling you to take off your shoes when entering. And finally they have one shower for all the rooms and you have to go downstairs to use it running the risk of meeting someone on the stairs in your robe.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jananded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
We are pleased that our guests found the home and bedroom clean and to their liking; also, it is always good to hear that our breakfast was good. We did have some WiFi problems that have since been remedied through a new, more powerful, router. We were unaware that these folks wanted to leave early. Breakfast is regularly served at 9 am but we are happy to, and frequently do, provide guests with an earlier breakfast. If we are not asked, we have no way to know what they want. The shower comment is incorrect; every guest room has a private bath with a two-person whirlpool tub and hand-held shower. Our public restroom has a large, walk-in shower with two-shower heads on each wall that is available for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    13
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
96
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This was our first and, most likely, last stay at a b&b. First off be aware that there is no standing shower or television in your room. You will be sharing those ammenities with the other guests. Breakfast, which was mediocre at best, is shared at a large dining table as well. The meal didn't live up to the hype some reviews had mentioned, trust me. The house was definitely a piece of history worth seeing but can be found anywhere and not something i'll miss sleeping in. I spent every moment walking as if i were on eggshells in an attempt to avoid the 160 old screech uttered from every
step.
This bed and breakfast is much more suited to someone who has spent ample time in an aged home like this as a child and has fond memories of such. Ideally this would be great if you had family and/or friends willing to rent the place for a weekend with you. It's definitely not for everyone. Save your $200. Again, trust me.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whikx250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Each of our guest rooms has a private bath with a two-person whirlpool and handheld shower. Out public restroom has a large, walk-in shower with two-shower heads on each wall that is available for all our guests. There are no TV’s is the guest rooms. If you can find gold-gilded ceilings, Tiffany and Steuben chandeliers, kiln dried oak and walnut floors, 18 inch thick limestone block walls, and a porch that is 15 feet by 48 feet then you can see this house anywhere. You will find a few steps and floor boards that squeak in this 1874 home (maybe 10% of our 7,000 square feet). It is not possible to please everyone’s taste at breakfast but in the 12 years we have been open we have served courses such as blackberry/pecan pancakes, stuffed French toast, New Orleans ham steaks, raspberry puff pastries, thick sliced bacon, Greek omelets, chocolate Irish cream muffins, rhubarb torte, etc. The majority of our guests have been very pleased.

B&B’s are not for everyone and in this case I think these folks will find hotels and motels, or newly built structures more to their liking. If peace and quiet, luxury from another age, soaking together in a whirlpool, and dining with other travelers is your style then the Moondance Inn is a great place to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2011

This is a beautiful place to stay--regal and inviting. We were greeted by a gracious host and made to feel at home right away. There was an elegance and cleanliness to everything. I felt at home and that's not always an easy thing to accomplish. Our room was comfortable, inviting and warm with the beautiful jacuzzi and extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast and coffee was excellent--served with graciousness and consideration for our vegetarian palates. Overall, would highly recommend this B&B and plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanabc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The Moondance Inn was a quick drive from Minneapolis, but a lovely world away. Our room was tastefully decorated, with a large hot-tub and a very comfortable 4-poster King-size bed. The common room is large and open, filled with antiques, art, comfy furniture and a warm fireplace with a real fire burning. The breakfasts and evening hors'dourves were sumptuous. Best of all, Mike the host was extremely friendly and fun to talk to. He made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarie43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We have had an absolutely lovely time at Moondance. Everything from the smells of morning breakfast seeping aromatically underneath our door to the incredibly relaxing whirlpool tub (beware of the jets – they’re powerful!) to the perfect little heater that kept our room toasty thorough the night added up to make our stay relaxing and comfortable.

We cannot, however, do full justice to our stay without acknowledging the welcome and hospitality of our host, Mike. To say that he went the extra mile for us would be an understatement: we went cross country skiing, but I had forgotten my gloves, so Mike went in search of one of his wife’s pairs. My husband needs a gluten-free diet, and Mike accommodated all of his needs so that he could fully enjoy stuffed French toast, quiche, corn muffins, and blueberry pancakes with all of the other guests. These are just a couple examples of the genuine care that Mike showed to us during our stay – it seemed that nothing we requested was too much. We just cannot thank him enough for going above and beyond to make our stay so enjoyable.

Other random bits of advice we learned on the trip should you choose to go to Moondance (which we recommend!):
- If you turn on the whirlpool jets and only one person is in the tub, you can spin around in a circle.
- Sarah’s restaurant (in town) is excellent. Try the chicken wings for an appetizer. Delicious.
- Evening wine and morning breakfast are lovely opportunities to meeting interesting people. Set your alarm for 8:30 a.m. so that you’re sure to make it downstairs in time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuirkyKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2011

My wife and I were very excited to stay here for our 5th anniversary. Unfortunately both of our children ended up in the doctors office that morning. We called the morning of and Mike told me to keep him posted. When we called back later to confirm a no show Mike went above and beyond for us. It was a very busy weekend and we had to cancel the same day. Mike offered up having to still pay but he gave us a gift certificate for one year!! We have friends that loved the place and we plan on going as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert Lea, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This is an excellent Bed & Breakfast! We had stayed a single night previously and could not wait to return for a weekend. Mike and Chris are generous hosts that take the time to talk with everyone. We enjoyed wine with the other guests that were staying there. Later, we relaxed in the 2-person whirlpool bath, which is in every room. In the morning, we indulged in their own coffee blend to go with their unique breakfast items. It was all extremely delicious. We have to get the recipe for their cranberry muffins. Red Wing has much to offer in dinning and shopping. We went to the Eagle Center in Wabasha and did some eagle watching on both sides of the Mississippi. Kevin & Kim

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKBUFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.5 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.9 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Inn

Property: Moondance Inn
Address: 1105 W 4th St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour's drive from Minneapolis and St. Paul the Moondance Inn is a magnificent five bed room bed & breakfast. Located with in walking distance to downtown dining and shopping makes our location perfect for exploring Red Wing Minnesota. Prices range from $125 to $199 a night and there are numerous walking trails along the Mississippi river. Downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, and golf are all within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing