We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First welcoming experience”
Review of Moondance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moondance Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at the Guesthouse. It was the perfect place for group to feel at home while traveling. The bedrooms are unique and lovely, and the living space is warm.
A very pleasant walk from the town center. The 7 of us enjoyed our stay thoroughly and look forward to staying again! Our contact with the owners was pleasant and they were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

We decided to try a B&B for our first time. We reserched alot of B&Bs online. We were looking for something more unique that had great accommodations than most B&Bs. After looking, We decided to book a room at Moondance Inn. It went beyond our expectations. The inkeeper was very nice and made us feel at home instantly. We stayed in the Gypsy room. It was very charming, with private bathroom and amazing two person whrilpool right in the room. The room had great detail. Good for romance or relaxation. The whole house is beautiful and appreciated. We were impressed with the breakfast served as well. We also liked how they serve complementary wine and appetizers early evening. Everything was great, We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that your first B&B experience exceeded your expectations. Thanks for choosing the Moondance Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was our second time back to the Moondance and each time it truly is a treat! The house is fantastic. Gorgeous and intimate, yet comfortable and casual . Chris & Mike are wonderful hosts and instantly make you feel at home. Each room has a very distinct character, with unique appointments and lots of nice little touches. Be sure to make some time to enjoy the large whirlpool tubs in each room, and then relax on the porch with a glass of wine afterwards. With great food, a stellar staff, and an atmosphere that just says "relax", it is a wonderful getaway, especially being so close to the Twin Cities. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: The King's Room has the largest bed, but the Garden room is the most secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you for staying with us. It is always nice for Chris and I to see familiar faces and it means alot to our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I probably wouldn't enjoy staying at any B&B if it meant sharing the house and a sit-down breakfast with strangers, but our group of friends like to rent all the Moondance Inn rooms together for a night and it is one of the most fabulous experiences we have together each year. The house is amazingly beautiful and getting to spend a long evening having drinks, dinner, playing games, chatting by the fire, etc. and then also getting to retreat with your loved one to a beautiful and romantic room at the end of the night is a fantastic getaway. I strongly recommend this house as a retreat for friends (or family) who want to spend some quality time together in an amazing atmosphere. You get the added benefit of delicious food, friendly and accommodating hosts, and learning some rich history about the house and time period it is from.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you for your kind review. Chris and I are glad you had a chance to share a good time with your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We loved staying at the Moondance Inn. It was fun roaming through the public areas of the house. There is so much too look at and so many cool chairs to sit in. Our room was remarkably quiet, the bed surprisingly comfortable, the room temperature comfortable, and the whirlpool tub delightful. Amenities like thick towels and robes are a plus for us.

Breakfast was excellent, and it's a treat to have any meal served. I was delighted to hear that we could request recipe's via email.

For the Garden Suite, I would recommend softer lighting in the whirlpool room such as a lamp on the dresser. It would also have been more functional to have a reading lamp and side table in the bedroom by the two chairs to read or play cards. It would also have been nice to have one more bar of soap so we had one by bathroom sink and one to use in the whirlpool; although, I must say I really liked the glycerine soap you provided.

Thank you for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I wanted a quick get-away and decided on Red Wing. Mike at Moondance convinced me he could accommodate a vegan diet and he really came through. Our room was great, the whirlpool excellent, and an uncommon touch for a classic B&B was a large t
TV tucked away in the huge attic great room hat allowed us to keep up with our favorite TV show.

Mike recommended Memorial Park for a great view of Red Wing and the Barn Bluff and we were certainly not disappointed.

Great value and a great time!.

Room Tip: we toured the house and would have been very pleased with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We had a 5 Star experience at the Moondance. The home itself is lovely, impeccably clean, and beautifully appointed. The guest rooms are equally attractive, and we all got a great night's sleep. Our hosts were perfectly charming, and Mike, in addition to holding a wealth of information about the history of the home, is a fantastic cook! They catered to our every need, and made us feel like royalty. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
0.5 mi away
St. James Hotel, Est. 1875
0.9 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
14.4 mi away
Willows on the River
Willows on the River
#3 of 3 in Lake City
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Red Wing, MN
1 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Inn

Address: 1105 W 4th St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range: £89 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour's drive from Minneapolis and St. Paul the Moondance Inn is a magnificent five bed room bed & breakfast. Located with in walking distance to downtown dining and shopping makes our location perfect for exploring Red Wing Minnesota. Prices range from $125 to $199 a night and there are numerous walking trails along the Mississippi river. Downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, and golf are all within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing