We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moondance Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$89
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Red Wing)
US$76
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkway Motel(Red Wing)
US$49
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
104
14
7
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
14
7
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchbed and breakfastb bmoon dancewine and appetizersother guestsget awaybeautiful propertyrich historygreat roomnext morningmid weeka wonderful stayspent nightsbreakfast was deliciousfrench toasthot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Each year we stay at a Bed and Breakfast for our Anniversary, this year was in Red Wing and came across the Moondance Inn with great reviews on bedandbreakfast.com. The reviews proved to be true. The Home is beautiful, the Plum painted front porch was brighter in person than the pictures showed. The willow porch furniture was comfortable and relaxing to lounge with the morning coffee. The home furnishings were beautiful, had a nice wine and appetizer hour. The Garden Suite room was beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast was definately a highlight - started with fresh fruit, than warm chocolate chip banana break, a "fancy pancake" w/ brown sugar sauteed peaches and glazed ham steak, followed by a fresh strawberry shortcake with heavy whipping cream! The dining room plastic table clothes with bright flowers was not in line with the decor of the B&B. The garden had a large portion "under construction" so didn't have the full impact. Coffee wasn't served until 8:00 am. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a strange schedule to be using a B&B but wanted something more memorable than just a motel. An early morning appointment kept us from the Breakfast part of the stay, but the Bed portion was wonderful. The decorating of the home was exactly as it should have been for this house, the amenities in the room were perfect, and we enjoyed our abbreviated stay. What will bring us back to this home however, was the graciousness of the hosting couple who took the time out of their day to chat with us regarding the home and their unusual Puli dogs. Those minutes alone were worth the price of admission and have guaranteed our return. Our sincere thanks to Mike and his wife for their consideration.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtxdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

On our visit to Red wing we stayed at two different B&B's both Victorian homes and décor. The Moondance Inn had more of a modem twist to it's décor and it's ambiance without leaving it's Victorian roots . This B&B has nice rooms. I noticed that they fill fast. We had the last room available. Would've like to have seen the other rooms. Owner was very accommodating. Very comfortable bed, nice tub in the room. I can not say the same for the other B&B we stayed at. The bed was ROCK HARD. Cd collection available for use in rooms. I do recommend this B&B while staying in the Red Wing area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a lovingly preserved and beautiful house. The front porch is fabulous. Downtown with its several quaint shops and good restaurants is only a few blocks away, and in nice weather it is a pleasant stroll through a lovely old neighborhood fill with charming homes. If you're a cyclist, the Cannon River Trail ends/starts in Red Wing. It is quite scenic.

Room Tip: Consider eating at one of the restaurants in the historic St. James Hotel downtown.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ftmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the Moondance Inn for my husband's birthday. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely and very clean. Our host Mike was very congenial, answering our many questions about their house, their Puli dogs, as well as giving us tips on good restaurants, and things to do in Red Wing. Offered garage storage for our bikes, too. Plus, he made a delicious breakfast for us on Sun. a.m. We also enjoyed the wine and cheese set out for us Sat. afternoon. Nice touch! We spent a lot of time on their comfy front porch visiting. The upstairs community room would be a super place for a family reunion, etc. Definitely check out this B&B for a wonderful place to stay in Red Wing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you. It was very nice meeting both of you. We're glad that you stay met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews