We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
michigan
1 review
“Charming”
Reviewed 5 March 2007

This was the second time that we have stayed at the Octagon House in Red Wing, and for sure not the last. The atmosphere is very charming and elegant. Delicate fabric covers the walls of this Victorian style B&B. A beautiful view of Red Wing, MN from the rooftop, which you will not find anywhere else nor forget. The breakfast served is so delicious you will not want to leave. Everything about this place is worth exploring. We cannot wait to go back!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank attypepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2007

We love this property and we love Penny. We always spend some time catching up and telling stories in her comfortable 'lounge' room, drinking wine and eating a few of her great snacks. Penny has the ABSOLUTELY best breakfasts. One of the friends we came there with has a nut allergy and Penny went out of her way to make sure they food was served special for our friend so she would not have any reactions.

Staying at Lawther is like staying with the 'Cool Mom'!!!

:]

The Hunters, Champlin MN

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2007

We had the most lovely time at the Octagon House in Red Wing. Penny, the proprietor, was a delight! The décor is lovely, the hors d'oeuvres were delectable, the rooms were lavish and Penny's breakfasts were outstanding. We will definitely return to this charming home-away-from-home.

  • Liked — Penny's personal touch
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything not to like!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out this b-and-b, it's fantastic!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMagistra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury MN
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2006

We had a very relaxing time at this very beautiful B&B. This getaway was just what we needed after the busy holidays. This B&B was not only beautiful but so well maintained. The breakfast was wonderful and the portions were very large. The presentation of the food was excellent. The B&B keeper was very friendly and shared many stories about the Lawther family. We loved the history of the home and also enjoyed viewing some of the other rooms in the house. We realized a one night stay is not enough and will plan our next experience for a least two nights. We are anxious to share this great find with our family and friends and look forward to future visits. Thnaks Penny!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank DorchesterFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2006

You would be hard pressed to find a B&B with a more friendly and wonderful hostess. Penny maintains a beautiful Victorian home, cooks the most memorable breakfasts you'll ever have, and generally makes you feel at home in the adorable town of Red Wing.

I've stayed here many times, and I'm sure I will be back. I cannot say enough good things or recommend it highly enough. You will not be disappointed if you go!

  • Liked — Great food!
  • Disliked — If you're looking for technology or if you have trouble getting around, you may be disappointed.
  • Tips/Secrets — The Cannon Valley bike trail is incredible, as is the shopping in downtown Red Wing.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianoaccompanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2006

My boyfriend and I have been to Red Wing several times for weekend getaways and every trip means a mandatory stay at the Octagon House.

Penny is the most gracious, friendly host, offering great recommendations for local food and shopping, a beautiful house, and a breakfast you'll never forget.

Once you go, you will definitely want to return and stay with Penny again.

  • Liked — Penny's hospitality is second to none.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank emohawk9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 April 2006

My wife and I have been to many B & B's, but this was by far the best experience we have ever had. From hospitality and history to the decor, awesome appetizers that greet you at the door and the mouth-watering breakfast that awaits you in the morning.

Penny's personality and sense of humor only adds to the fun! We learned so much about Red Wing and heard some fascinating stories of her travels.

The house is decorated masterfully and is truly a must see! It is the missing piece to the puzzle if you plan to stay in Red Wing!

It is highly recommended and you will leave with great memories and a great new friend!

Loved IT!

Steve & Tara

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.4 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
0.7 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 927 W 3rd St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2208
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing