We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of St. James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. James Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Going to the St James is fun. You have your choice of restaurant venues from formal to casual. One can create the feeling of a progressive dinner where you can have appetizers at Jimmy's and then move to a formal dinner at the Port and finish with ice cream and coffee from Clara’s. It is always a treat to visit the historic St James.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katy1380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

This is our second year of staying at the St. James Hotel the weekend after Thanksgiving. It's a really nice hotel and the massage place attached is fabulous. We always get a room with a whirlpool so that we can relax at night. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are historic. And, the chocolates left on your bed at night are yummy!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

A beautiful hotel with comfortable rooms. We too were disappointed that the lobby was not used as a lobby, but a museum that only featured a setting. Why not use this valuable space for guests to arrive? Prices were too high.

Room Tip: Rooms showcasing the river are the nicest, if you want a scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Our son and daughter in law held their wedding reception here last weekend. It could not have been more beautiful. The Summit Room was gorgeous, the "ready rooms" for the bridal party were so nice, the food was excellent and the view of the Mississippi can't be beat. They stayed in the bridal suite with some very nice surprise gfts from the hotel. It was just overall an excellent choice. HIghly recommend this as the guests were all giving us many positive comments and had fun!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMom8082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Have stayed at the St. James many times, but this time was extra special as we were celebrating a milestone birthday. Our room was upgraded and we ended up with a most spacious room overlooking the river. The beds here are always comfy and I love the pillow menu. While it is a very old hotel, it had all the modern touches - flat screen, mini fridge, whirlpool tub. The Aveda bath shampoos are the best and the extra touch of leaving chocolates (big bars!) on the pillow and leaving the radio on playing to classical music to greet us were over the top. Love this place! Will be back at Christmas time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine102262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is a decent historic hotel that was renovated in the 1980's and has not been touched since - the overriding impression was that this was probably the height of chic about 30 years ago. While our stay was not unpleasant (our room was spacious and comfortable), it was not remarkable in any way other than having the notion reinforced that the 1980's were a bad time for historic renovation and popular style decisions at the time were inclined to disguise, rather than showcase, historic features. It is unfortunate that the historic lobby is not used as a lobby and is something of a museum-type afterthought rather than a feature proudly displayed to arriving guests. The parking garage is quite tight with tight curves and low ceilings and would be rather frightening if it weren't in Red Wing. On a good note, the service was nice and we enjoyed our room service in the morning. The location is good as far as walking around the downtown and looking at the shops. However, the room rates are rather high and I feel that the value isn't there for what we were hoping to be a much more charming property. Perhaps a more sensitive renovation with a fresh crop of room updates would make this a more romantic and elegant destination worthy of the prices asked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The St. James Hotel is all a historic hotel should be - beautiful, elegant and hospitable. We couldn't get reservations here (they were booked solid) but we visited a couple of times for drinks and dinner in the basement pub, with stone walls - a great ambience. Not your traditional "pub" food. This place has a chef that makes some extraordinary dishes - something you'd find in a 5 star restaurant. I had pasta and my husband had lamb - it was truly magnificent - made from very fresh ingredients and vegetables. Lots of locals come to the pub. The main dining room was inviting with a view of the river. The hotel staff were so accomodating - although we were just passing through everyone wanted to make our experience a good one - and they knew we weren't staying there. Some very nice boutique shops with fine quality clothing and home accessories. If I ever visit Red Wing again, I'll be sure to make reservations at the St. James well in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatormom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
1.2 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#7 of 9 in Red Wing
375 reviews
14.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Address: 406 Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2325
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range: £82 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine 67 Victorian rooms, each exquisitely designed and decorated, with its own story to tell – literally. Each luxuriously appointed, striking that perfect balance between traditional and contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing