We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of St. James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. James Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Certificate of Excellence
Lake City, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Don't miss a great place to stay and dine. The St James Hotel is a charming old hotel with great rooms and dining. Wouldn't hesitate to go there anytime. Jimmy's Pub is a great place for a relaxing cocktail and a burger. The Port has fine dining with great service and the experience that you'll remember for a long time. It's also a great location for business meetings and has many options for any size group.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    99
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
45
184
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is a charming old hotel with all the modern amenities a business traveler could need. With covered parking, multiple restaurants and an ideal center-city location, this hotel has got it all. But what sets it apart for me are the services (such as same and next-day laundry even on weekens) which are on a par with downtown hotels in major US cities and the staff. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. On my most recent trip, the front desk agent, Katie, helped me recover from an earlier loss of coffee cup top accident with special expedited laundry and stain removal services upon my arrival. Its hard to find a nicer hotel at any location or price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the riverview side can have train noise. Didn't bother me, but if you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topher77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hidden Valley Lake, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at the historic St. James. My husband insisted we go for a bloody mary this morning after seeing Dwight Yoakum at the casino last night. He has been here previously, but I had not. This is the most over the top antique hotel in the most charming little city I have been to in a long long time. The basement bar was elegantly gated in brass and closed, we were bummed since we saw some great beers on tap. We went up to the restaurant and asked if there was a bar open to just have a bloody and the lovely Ukranian (sorry, didn't get her name) hostess pointed us around the corner to a great little bar with the most engaging young bartender Andy. He made us a marvelous happy hour (11am?) bloody and showed us the half price appetizers - we ordered the fresh Ellsworth WI beer battered cheese curds - hot, puffy, melty served with marinara and honey mustard; bruschetta with lots of fresh basil, balsamic vinegar and shaved parmesan; tremendous jalapeno prosciutto poppers - halved jalapenos stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped with prosciutto, broiled til just crispy and served with sriracha mayo and lovely tomato and green onion garnish. Andy the bartender is an extraordinary young man, makes the bloody mix himself - ask him about bowling - this kid is a pro! I am so totally charmed by this place, we are driving 3 hours to come back here for Mother's day. Chris is the very gracious manager - you can tell by the way his staff is so engaged that they enjoy working here and have total respect for what a gem this hotel is, as well as reverence for its owners (the owners of Red Wing Shoes). Love it, can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ks714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Wing, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I just want to extend a big "thank you" to the St. James staff for our wedding on December 30, 2012. Victoria and the staff did an excellent job! Our wedding was perfect and the food was excellent. Outside of the Viking Packer game (which was delayed during our wedding), we could not have had a more perfect wedding. It was so beautiful and the staff at the St. James made our day special. The room, the staff set us up in (room 210), for our wedding night, was grand and elegant. What a wonderful gem the St. James is! I highly recommend this hotel for a wedding (big or small).

Nathan Ebert and Mary Smith

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Beautiful historic hotel in down town Red Wing Mn.staff was friendly. Choice of historic or more modern room. Great restaurants. Jimmy's pub was beautiful... Great atmosphere. Had a very nice mini vacation here. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacagal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Going to the St James is fun. You have your choice of restaurant venues from formal to casual. One can create the feeling of a progressive dinner where you can have appetizers at Jimmy's and then move to a formal dinner at the Port and finish with ice cream and coffee from Clara’s. It is always a treat to visit the historic St James.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy1380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This is our second year of staying at the St. James Hotel the weekend after Thanksgiving. It's a really nice hotel and the massage place attached is fabulous. We always get a room with a whirlpool so that we can relax at night. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are historic. And, the chocolates left on your bed at night are yummy!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
1.2 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
96 reviews
14.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Property: St. James Hotel
Address: 406 Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2325
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine 67 Victorian rooms, each exquisitely designed and decorated, with its own story to tell – literally. Each luxuriously appointed, striking that perfect balance between traditional and contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing