We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Old Hotel with Tons of History...”
Review of St. James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. James Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria MN USA
Level Contributor
324 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Classic Old Hotel with Tons of History...”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you want to stay at a classic old hotel, this is the place for you. We had a "premium" room that had a lot of space in it. The bathroom was quite small, but the room was very large and comfortable. All along the river (both MN side and WI side) there are train tracks. It is hard to get away from the train noise, no matter where you stay. Our room was a corner on the street side (away from the river and train tracks) and the noise was not bad. This hotel has tons of history and pictures from an era gone by. You could spend a few hours walking the halls and looking at the historic pictures.

Room Tip: River front has a great view, but the trains make a lot of noise. Street side is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    96
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
42
173
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannon Falls, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Picture this: Memorial Weekend, beautiful sunny 75 degree day, outdoor wedding with reception at the historic St James Hotel. Nothing could be more perfect because it was perfect. Nicole and her staff at the St James made this one of the most magical days ever for my son, his new bride and our 250 friends and family. From the planning stages to the actual day everything went as clockwork. From the cocktail hour to the reception to our beautiful hotel room that night and into the next day at gift opening it was just the most wonderful time. Classy establishment and classy staff. Thanks so much for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LylaLou2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
357 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

When I called to make a reservation I requested a specific room on the 4th floor and the clerk told me he would mark it as "do not move' so we assumed it was locked in. Our friends also made a reservation and asked for a room next to ours on the fourth floor. When we checked in we were told our room was on the third floor and not the one we booked. Our friends reservation was moved to the other side of the building in the "new" section of the hotel and they were upgraded to a suite which they did not ask for or want. We were trying to get the reservations sorted out when another clerk rudely voiced his opinion accusing us of giving the desk clerk "guff". We were totally surprised by this type comment since all we were doing was trying to find out who changed things or what happened. We ended up getting rooms near each other on third floor. The desk clerk gave us breakfast vouchers to make up for the mix-up, which was nice.

Our room was fine and the bed was comfortable. We had a nice sitting area and a rather small but adequate bathroom. The last time we were at the St James (which was a few years ago) our room was not clean; full of dust and cobwebs. We were a bit skeptical about booking here again but thought we'd give it a another chance since it used to be our favorite get away. Based on our experience with the reservation and the rude treatment we won't be back. I gave it an average based on the comfort of the room alone.

Room Tip: If you ask for a specific room try to get it locked in, get the name of the clerk taking the reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I spent a wonderful night at this amazing historical hotel. Our evening started with a wonderful meal at the Port....our server, RITA, was so helpful and our meal was just wonderful! After our meal we headed up to Jimmy's....since it was a Tuesday night and close to closing it was very quiet....and BEAUTIFUL! Our bartender, BILL, was truly one of the highlights of our trip. He told us a lot of history about the place, and even though it was very close to closing accomidated us and made us feel so welcome. Our room was so comfortable and the sheets felt amazing. Bathroom had snuggly bathrobes also.The next morning we had breakfast at the Veranda. Our server, LYNN, was charming and funny and the food was amazing. ALL OF THIS AND I HAVENT EVEN MENTIONED THE SHOPS LOCATED IN THE HOTEL! It was so unique to walk into a historical hotel with shops that make you feel like you're in Paris. Thank you all for a wonderful stay. Kudos to the St. James for a wonderful staff. WE WILL BE BACK!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pocketsschmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

All the modern conveniences set in a grand river town landmark. All rooms have been renovated and are quiet and elegant with antique furniture that take you back to the days of the river steamboat. Downtown location with many rooms overlooking the Mississippi River. One of my all time favorite hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a really nice overnight stay this past Memorial Day weekend. People at the front desk were polite and helpful. The hotel was very clean, well maintained, and tastefully restored in a way that hearkened to its original glory, but brought it into the 21st century. Our room (#306, "The Elinor") had a flatscreen TV, iPod docking station, king size bed (very comfortable!), and partial views of the river. We were even surprised with turndown service after we returned to our room at about 9 o'clock.
I expected some hallway and adjacent room noise considering a) it was a holiday weekend, b) there was a wedding party in the hotel, and c) historic hotels haven't been super soundproof in my experience. But the only noises I heard all night were a couple trains sounding their horns while coming through town.
The Port on the lower floor of the hotel is a good place for dinner and a drink. Cool solid wood bar, great bartender.
The St. James was certainly a far more memorable stay than any other chain hotels could have provided. I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our daughter and her new husband spent their "mini-moon" at the St. James in May of 2014. Their room was beautiful, Red Wing was lovely, but the most amazing thing was the attentiveness of the staff and management at the hotel. They paid close attention to every detail, and really went out of their way to ensure that the young couple felt cared-for and had the best experience possible.
Thank you so much to the staff of the St. James, the bartender up at Jimmy's Pub, the wait staff and cooks at the Veranda and all the people responsible for their intimate dinner at The Port.
We have been patrons of the St. James Hotel for over 30 years, and it's good to know that their tradition of excellence continues!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roysgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
1.2 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
14.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Property: St. James Hotel
Address: 406 Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2325
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places as gratifying as the St. James Hotel in Red Wing. From eagle watching to skiing, there’s plenty to do outside. Or if you prefer, there’s really no need to leave the building once you arrive. Fabulous restaurants, an intimate lounge, luxurious rooms and a pampering spa all await you. Book today and let us create a memorable experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing