We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far exceeded our expectations!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Round Barn Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far exceeded our expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Very well presented historic charm, free from the usual drawbacks of an old inn. We loved how the owners reviewed, and have preserved history... We've stayed at many B&B's and have never had such an enthusiastic, welcoming, and interesting experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    7
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
66
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Had a wonderful time and would highly recommend. The 3 course breakfast was a real treat. Lots of attention to details in the house and rooms. The bed was also awesomely comfy. Elaine and Robin were great hosts. The bread baking in the outdoor oven was a fun learning experience and the tour of the round barn was interesting.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNgal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a wonderful place! Not your typical old run down B&B, this place is immaculate, top notch, first class and the best we have stayed at by far. We left feeling like it was definitely worth the price and that it was an "experience" not just a night away. The beds are AMAZING, the host and hostess are friendly, accomodating and truly care about thier guests experience while still allowing you privacy. The little touches really made it worthwhile, the breakfast "appetizers", the selection of specialty beverages in the fridge and the beautiful gardens with little hidden benches, fountains and bird feeders, not to mention home made cookies that melted in your mouth.

One of the best parts was chatting with other guests over coffee on the screen porch while our bread baked just steps away in the outdoor oven. The smell was heavenly and made the whole experience one we will not soon forget.

My only regret is that we only stayed one night and not two! It would have been nice to have a little more time to climb the bluff, explore the area, relax in our luxurious room and enjoy the company of the hosts.

As to the reviewers that gave this place a bad rating, I would say that you obviously haven't stayed at many B&B's. Of course you hear the other guests walking around, it's a B&B not a hotel and of course the hosts talk to you....you are staying in thier home!!! Of course breakfast is a long affair, that is the point of the bed and BREAKFAST!!! Maybe those people should have chosen the Super 8 instead of this charming little slice of heaven.

We will definietly be back and will bring our friends too. Thanks Elaine and Robin for loving what you do and sharing your home with us.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great with awesome views. You would be happy in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank showbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE WI
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Thank goodness for the central air of the Round Barn during that beastly hotter than Hades week last week! They accomodated our last minute reservation when another B & B where we had reservations ended up NOT having central air-OY! Round Barn's rooms are exquisite-we stayed in the Willow Room. The breakfast was four deeelicious courses-YIKES! Home baked bread, great stories, nice company, a bed we will end up buying on our own which we just melted into. Thanks Round barn-we WILL return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulda
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The facility is beautiful, the setting is peaceful and how wonderful not to have phones or TV!! Our room had a fun 2 person tub in it that we enjoyed very much. The breakfasts were magnificent! About the only thing I would add to other glowing reviews here is the owners are a wonderful Christian couple that take exceptional care of their guests. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was our second stay at the Round Barn Farm. It was even better than our first stay. We stayed in the Willow Suite. It is pure relaxation as you lounge on the double chaise, or swing in the willow swing beside the fire place. The Linens are crisp and so white. The house keeping crew does an excellant job. The breakfasts are incredible and the bread baking fun. Strole through the garden, sit in the gazebo or enjoy a tour of the round barn. The hosts friendly and fun. The train tracks and trains add to the tranqulity. A must do trip.

Room Tip: Largest suites are at the top of the house on the 3rd floor. All rooms are wondeful and airconditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I don't actually remember the first visit to the Round Barn Farm B&B&B. What I do remember is that I didn't want to leave, that I wanted to go back... SOON. My experience on that first visit (a few years ago) set the bar of expectations high for every other place I might find myself staying.

The ambience of the entire complex is a mixture of leisure, adventure, comfort and satisfaction and delight. The food is out-of-this-world delicious, served with charm, warmth and simple 'around the table' chat. I felt at home.

The barn is an amazing structure and has a deep history worth learning about. The gardens invite you in with beauty and simple country charm, along with fragrances of flowers of all types. Sitting in the cool of the gazebo melts away any stress one might have brought along by mistake to this charming oasis.

Hiking up the bluff behind the house and barn yields a wonderful vista of the valley below and offers an invigorating experience in any season. Breathing in the country woods air is not only refreshing but I think healthy. AND... afterward one can simply lounge lazily on the screened-in porch.

The rooms are a masterful mixture of class and comfort. Each being identified by a theme giving it uniqueness and its own charm and personality. 'Comfortable' beds would be an understatement.

From the front porch to the barn to the dining room to the bed room... each moment at the Round Barn Farm brings delight, wonder, rest and relaxation, and a most satisfied and full tummy. Yes, I do enjoy those gourmet breakfasts at the Round Barn.

I can't wait to return. I give this place my HIGHEST recommendation and endorsement.

~ Mark Triplett, Photographer

Room Tip: Trains run by often and blow their horns as they pass the road which is about 500 feet from the B&am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mocha-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
4.0 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
7.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
4.8 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Barn Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Barn Farm B&B

Property: Round Barn Farm B&B
Address: 28650 Wildwood Ln, Red Wing, MN 55066-5606
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Round Barn Farm B & B Event Center is where old fashioned American and European ambiance meet in a 3-story country manor farm home, just outside Red Wing Minnesota. Each room has A/C, private bathroom with a whirlpool tub for two and a gas fireplace or franklin stove. Large shared living room space is available with a wood burning fireplace right next to a generous screen in porch. During the warm season, we are hosts to some wedding celebrations that enjoy the B & B and a great barn dance in the historic round barn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing