We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Lyons, NE
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I enjoy the Red Wing area and make at least one or two trips to visit each year. We always stay at the Nichols Inn. The welcoming we receive each time from the staff - the clean comfortable rooms - the delicious breakfast - are the reasons we continue to stay at the Nichols Inn and would not consider staying any place else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudySLyons_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    41
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
43
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at the Nichols Inn which is owned by the same people as the Americinn - The staff was very friendly and helpful. Were on our motorcycles - so we were looking for a close place to walk to - they gave us some good tips.
The facility and rooms were very clean - and the breakfast was very good.
This was our second time staying here and we will be back..
The Nichols Inn is a great value.
We walked to the Red Wing Brewery and the bread sticks and pizza were great and the staff friendly..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

This was the lowest priced hotel of all the ones we looked at in Red Wing, and we were thrilled that we chose this one. Our room was super clean and well kept. The front desk staff was kind, and the breakfast was very good. It was very quiet, and within walking distance to restaurants and parks.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hotel was clean. The beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast was fresh and the eating area clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful! We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa F, Front Office Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to rate us on Trip Advisor we really appreciate your doing so. We take a lot of pride in having friendly personal service and making every effort to ensure you have a comfortable stay with us. We would love to have you stay with us again should you return to Red Wing .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Reasonable hotel, clean comfortable room. Mine was quiet on the ground floor away from the highway because I note here that some reviewers claim it was noisy.

The breakfast area was small but then there were only 4 at breakfast on the morning I was there. Usual 'American continental' stype breakfast but Ok. For the first time I made my own waffles but that was the only hot dish available I think.

Room Tip: Based on what other folks have said best avoid rooms facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were able to get a room for a last-minute weekend getaway and thought it was a great value for the price. Our room, as well as the hotel overall, was spotless. The bed was comfortable. Lots of nice continental breakfast options (Malt O'Meal cereal, muffins, a setup to make fresh Belgian waffles, juice, milk, hard-boiled eggs). I hope they get their website fixed so people can see the amenities... We chose the place based on the fact that it had good reviews on the web and a reasonable price. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royalgreymini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We gave the manager ample time to contact us on our complaint, and nothing has come, so...we checked in, our room 'looked' like it was clean (towels folded, beds nicely made, no dirty glasses, etc. The first 'sign' was a bar of soap (used) in the bathroom....looked at the floor and there was hair .....decided to look at the sheets and they were obviously from the people before. There is a sign in the room telling you to put the little sign on the bed if you want the sheets changed, perhaps this also means when you check out so that next people have a clean bed??
The desk manager saved the day as she personally cleaned the room and handled the situation well.
I would have given the hotel an average rating if this incident didn't occur, and a poor if the desk manager didn't resolve the problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canberrayankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
0.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
15.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nichols Inn Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nichols Inn Red Wing

Property: Nichols Inn Red Wing
Address: 1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nichols Inn Red Wing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nichols Inn of Red Wing is a family owned hotel servicing the Red Wing area. Our property is one of the best values in the town. We provide free WiFi and a daily complimentary continental breakfast. The building is the quietest in Red Wing due to soundproofing and concrete construction. We offer group blocks and have long term rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Nichols Inn Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Inn Red Wing Hotel Red Wing
Nichols Hotel Red Wing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing