We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
South Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place in the middle of everything”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stay here every year on our family trip back from Nisswa MN. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is good. Over the years we have frequented I have noticed a downhill slide in the front desk staff and I am not sure if the ownership has changed but when we first started staying shortly after they opened for years everyone was great and helpful- now you have to hunt them down for a question?? BUT--it is close to everything and there is nowhere else I'd wanna stay in Redwing-- as the choices are limited. It is affordable and great location.

Room Tip: When you are assigned your room close the door and check to assure it is locking from the outside. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiawahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa F, Front Office Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for being our guest at Red Wing Nichols Inn. I am sincerely sorry that you did not receive the great customer service we enjoy providing. We have had some new people at the front desk and I will share your comments with them. Your comfort is very important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    41
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
43
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We reserved a king room. Everything was ready and waiting when we arrived, as well as a pleasant staff. Room was clean, had sufficient space, and had comfortable bed. Simple, yet adequate furnishings were in the room. Great shower with plenty of water pressure. Nice breakfast area with plenty to choose from. Convenient location to groceries and shopping as well as a nice river walk and downtown area. Would definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa F, Front Office Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent visit to Red Wing. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to relax and rewind.

I also want to thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had a great stay here, on my business trip. Would stay here again, and would recommend it to my colleagues. Simple, but clean and well kept. Looks pretty new.
Pretty quiet... the only thing I heard was the tub draining upstairs.
Smokey Row cafe (near by/few blocks away) had great eating options but closes at 3 pm

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nata051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After finding the motel on the Internet we stopped and booked a king room. Very clean, quiet, and knowledgable reception staff. Morning breakfast was very complete,and open longer than most. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We showed up at the Nichols Inn on a Tuesday night at 10 pm after a camping trip was rained out. The interior front door was locked, which I appreciated from a safety standpoint. We rang the front desk and were immediately let into the hotel. We didn't have a reservation, and asked the very nice young man at the desk for a room with two beds. He was able to accommodate us immediately. We were given a room with two queen beds that was extremely clean. I travel a lot for work and have become a bit of a snob when it comes to hotel rooms. I would say this room was cleaner than a lot of the higher end hotels I stay at regularly. The decor was plain as were the furnishings, but we were just happy to have clean, dry beds and a hot shower. As a bonus we didn't take advantage of, there was a mini refrigerator in the room. The continental breakfast was included, which was a surprise to me given the very affordable nightly rate. This is an annual camping trip and we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Nichols again if the weather is bad...actually we talked about staying there again even if we don't get rained out!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyons, NE
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I enjoy the Red Wing area and make at least one or two trips to visit each year. We always stay at the Nichols Inn. The welcoming we receive each time from the staff - the clean comfortable rooms - the delicious breakfast - are the reasons we continue to stay at the Nichols Inn and would not consider staying any place else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudySLyons_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at the Nichols Inn which is owned by the same people as the Americinn - The staff was very friendly and helpful. Were on our motorcycles - so we were looking for a close place to walk to - they gave us some good tips.
The facility and rooms were very clean - and the breakfast was very good.
This was our second time staying here and we will be back..
The Nichols Inn is a great value.
We walked to the Red Wing Brewery and the bread sticks and pizza were great and the staff friendly..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
329 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
15.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nichols Inn Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nichols Inn Red Wing

Property: Nichols Inn Red Wing
Address: 1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nichols Inn Red Wing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nichols Inn of Red Wing is a family owned hotel servicing the Red Wing area. Our property is one of the best values in the town. We provide free WiFi and a daily complimentary continental breakfast. The building is the quietest in Red Wing due to soundproofing and concrete construction. We offer group blocks and have long term rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Nichols Inn Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Inn Red Wing Hotel Red Wing
Nichols Hotel Red Wing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing