We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish We Had This Bakery”

Hanisch Bakery and Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Red Wing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hanisch Bakery and Coffee Shop is a wonderful small town bakery. Made from scratch pastries, donuts, breads, cakes, and cookies. Try a great lunch or breakfast sandwich in our coffee shop. Great selection to choose from in coffee, flavors, and drinks. Treat yourself to a smoothie or a malt, try the maple bacon donut, or enjoy the amazing buttercream cookies. Hanisch Bakery and Coffee Shop has something for everybody.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wish We Had This Bakery”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stopped in after enjoying a mini-cake that was ordered by our B&B as per a birthday request. Cutest little cake ever and tasted as good as it looked. Picked up another to bring home for a friends birthday, along with a couple of other pastries. Everything was "sinful" and will make a point to stop again the next time we visit Red Wing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irishnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    34
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St paul
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hanisch service equals heinous service”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Terrible service. Had no concern for my food allergy. Offered no alternative suggestions. Coffee was great. My husbands caramel roll was a little on the hard side. We should have went to Starbucks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaehlere3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
427 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Great Bakery”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great Bakery, amazing decorated sugar cookies. Great place for your usual donuts, cakes, pastures, cookies, and breads. The real gem is the unique cookies, and fun items they create for the different seasons. Which then work great for treats for your office, sales call, or for friends coming over.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mspreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Replica Top Tier Wedding Cake!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I'm here for work and my husband came out to visit for our 1 year anniversary. I didn't want to make him carry the top tier of our wedding cake on the plane so I went to Hanisch and asked if they could replicate it. They did a wonderful job and I'm sure it tasted a lot better than a year old cake would have tasted. We had almond cake with almond butter cream and it was delicious. Thank you for making our 1st anniversary that much more memorable!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overgaard, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can you say yum...”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I always walk to Hanisch's to get donuts and cookies for myself and the staff. This place is "to die for"! The pastries are delicious!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanisch Bakery and Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Hanisch Bakery and Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing