We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have No Complaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Red Wing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Red Wing
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Have No Complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here several nights while husband on work related trip. Nice place to stay at affordable rates. Convenient location to shopping and dining.Train nearby but never heard noise at night. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granandgramplike2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nshah1, Manager at Super 8 Red Wing, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you staying at our hotel and the wonderful comments. We look forward to serving in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    90
    88
    36
    38
See reviews for
82
105
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I drove by this place on a late night when I didn't want to search around for hotels.

My first clue should have been when I walked in to ask for the price and they told me $150. It was a weeknight. Then, while I was still at the front desk, a guest walked up to complain about bugs on her bed. That should have been my second clue.

However, it was late and I didn't want to keep driving. I didn't expect much, but the room was super old and I was uncomfortable the whole night. The next morning as I was checking out, the manager said, "Oh you're the one who checked in when that lady was complaining. Well, she was wrong..." and proceeded to rant for 10-15 minutes.

I'm sorry, but I believe her...

Room Tip: Don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wl487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nshah1, Manager at Super 8 Red Wing, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is unfortunate that you didn't find our upgrades to meet your standards. Our rooms were all painted and new headbeds and bedding earlier this spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Red Wing hotels

Baldwin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

On the downside, the customer service is really lacking. Upon checking in, the front desk woman was unfriendly and bordering on rude. We were given the wrong room (we reserved a King non-smoking and were given a double Queen non-smoking). The woman was pretty rude when we went back to the front desk to get it corrected, barely acknowledging us and never apologizing for HER error. We reserved and paid for our room for 2 nights, but found out after staying one night, not only did she give us the wrong room, but it was completely the wrong reservation and for nearly an hour, we were without a room for that second evening. We spent an hour with the owner and on the phone with Expedia trying desperately to find another room in Red Wing. Finally, the owner discovered the error was actually we were checked in under the wrong name and our reservation was still there, so we still had a room. The owner did upgrade our room for the evening, but the entire experience left us with a very negative impression of the front desk staff and would not stay here again. On the upside, the rooms are clean and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank BeckiKapla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nshah1, Owner at Super 8 Red Wing, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Owner’s response:
We are truly sorry that you feel you didn’t get the best customer service at check-in and would like to take the opportunity to apologize for our staff. Mistakes can be made by anyone at anytime and not really knowing the situation if the staff person was extremely busy and or having a stressful situation we cannot be sure how this happened. It is always best to read the registration slip as you are checking in and make sure that it is YOUR name on the slip and that the rate is what you were quoted. An error was made by both the desk staff and the guest in this case. The owner graciously upgraded your room to a Jacuzzi suite which runs at least $75 higher than the
Original standard room booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
15.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Red Wing

Property: Super 8 Red Wing
Address: 232 Withers Harbor Dr, Red Wing, MN 55066
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Red Wing 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wing Super 8 is located within the historical Pottery Place area. Shopping and restaurants all within walking distance! Short drive to the casino! 60 Rooms + Meetings Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Red Wing
Red Wing Super 8
Red Wing Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing