We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I like the gyro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aida

Aida
Ranked #8 of 140 Restaurants in Richfield
Price range: US$1 - US$14
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Greek, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Food wasn't the only thing on the owners' minds when conceiving Aida. Transforming a scuzzy old Taco Bell into something a little more upscale and making this the neighborhood hangout is also a priority. Whatever you order, rest assured that your food comes from the heart. All the dishes on the menu are traditional family recipes that owners' family grew up eating themselves. Named after the classic opera Aida by Giuseppe Verdi, which was first performed in Cairo in 1871, Aida serves Egyptian-Mediterranean cuisine the way Egyptian's consume it - free of bells and whistles, bravado and belly dancing. Simply, it's Egyptian-Mediterranean fare that you can't get enough of. Be warned, the Mediterranean Sampler will have your mouth watering for days after you dine. Whether you've come for couple-time or camaraderie, whatever you do, don't skip the baklava. It's big enough to share, and hypnotizing enough to become a lifelong favorite in an instant.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I like the gyro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I don't like a lot of Greek/Mediterranean dishes, but I love a gyro, and this place does it well. You can customize your meal rather than have it served by their recipe... you want tomato on your gyro, you get it. You want something else, no problem. Lots of options. Good fries with that gyro, too. Reasonable prices, very friendly service, this place does it right. If you're looking for Mediterranean food, find your way to this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopkins-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Mediteranian Food, Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This former Taco Bell has been transformed into a first rate place for Mediterranean food. Skip the gyros and try the excellent kababs and spiced rice dishes. The food is fresh and well prepared. The folks working there are all very nice. It's sort of a hybrid--order at the counter and they'll bring the meal out to you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MInneapolis
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Mediterranean food South of Minneapolis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I just left the Southdale library at York Av. looking for a different place to have lunch and driving at 66th Ave. we saw that place so we decided to give a try - what a great surprise. It is like a fast food, but of much higher quality than typical fast food sandwich. We both like Mediterranean food, so my wife ordered a plate which had basmati rice, kofta Kabob, tabuleh with quinoa and babaganouj. I ordered the same but green salad instead of rice and hummus instead of baganouj. And it comes with fresh warm bread.. It took 15 minutes to prepare as they make the kofta kabob from scratch.
It was delicious, fresh and very good quality. They serve food in real ceramic plates and stainless steel silverware, not plastic and paper. You can see people working on the kitchen, I like that. I hope they keep up with the quality of their food.
I highly recommend this place, the food is delicious, it is not easy to find a place to eat these kofta kabob with such good taste and fresh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulo_MSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's a Richfield gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

After driving by Aida for oh, the past year or so, we finally stopped in and had a great lunch. I got the Mediterranean plate - and selected falafel and grilled veggies with rice, feta cheese, spinach and an olive oil vinegarette, and added chicken for $2.99 extra. It was a really good sized lunch with lots of tasty chicken, and I ended up taking the rest home for dinner. Hubby had a gyro salad with cucumber yogurt dressing, olive, feta cheese and onions and said it was good.

The restaurant is lovely - considering it used to be a Taco Bell. The slate floor tiles, granite tabletops, gorgeous blue mosaic tiles around the ordering area, purple drapes, etc. have made a huge difference. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Mediterranean cuisine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

I have driven past Aida for several months now and have thought about stopping in to try it out and for one reason or another I didn't make it in there until today. The service at the counter was a little slow but the atmosphere was nice and the food was great! I had a chicken Shwarma gyro. You get to pick three toppings (veggies, cheeses, etc) and a sauce. If you want to make it a meal you can add rice, salad, falafel or fries and a drink. The price was very reasonable. I wasn't crazy about the falafel but I think I have decided that they just aren't for me period, so I don't fault Aida for that. I will be back, if you haven't been you should go soon!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spohara88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aida also viewed

 

Been to Aida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing