We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not as nice as used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Rochester
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We come to Mayo Clinic annually and over the past few years we have stayed in this hotel; however, it seems to be not quite nice as used to be. The staff is always helpful and the rooms are generally quiet. The doors can shut loudly. The breakfast is sufficient for a hotel (we normally don't eat the breakfast before the appointments) and is normal hotel fare waffles, yogurt, cereal etc. The wi-fi works great on the 1st floor but doesn't seem to be very strong on the 3rd floor. Overall the hotel doesn't seem to be cleaned as well as it used to be.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jyssica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at out hotel! Your response helps us keep up to date with anything that we may have missed, or truly excelled at! Its great to hear that you have stayed with us many times and we hope you choose our hotel again! I have been in contact with our WIFI company and we are resolving the WIFI issues. We have also put in place a new Public Area cleaning schedule so we can be sure that your stay is as comfortable as it was on your first trip to Rochester! We hope to see you again soon and thank you so much again for taking the time to write your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Not sure I understand the negative reviews, others have posted as we did not experience any of what was described. We stayed here 2 nights during a trip for medical care at the Mayo Clinic. The hotel is about 4 miles away from the Mayo Clinic but it is an easy drive to and from and very direct. Only a few turns and you are there. The rates were very good and the hotel is nice. Our room was clean and neat. The hotel is quiet and staff was kind and polite. The breakfast was good both days and the pool was nice too. Plenty to do in the immediate area and lots to do in a very short drive (10 minutes or less) including a mall, restaurants, etc. We are returning (unfortunately) for more care at the Mayo Clinic and have already made reservations at this hotel for a longer stay

Room Tip: Book a room away from the pool. Can be loud if groups or kids are in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funk5-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay! Its wonderful to hear that our staff and accommodations exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Please contact us at any time to book another stay on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I spent 10 days at this location. Requested a quiet location to recover. We encountered HUGE SPIDERS, MAJOR ELECTRICAL ISSUES in the restroom, filth from previous guest that was cleaned up 4 days into our stay after multiple complaints. They laughed about the spiders. Not funny to me, I'm afraid of them! It took them 3 days to address the electrical problems. They put a sports team adjacent to our room! No piece or quietness. Breakfast is poor, undercooked eggs, poor selection.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel if you require peace and quiet! Due to surgery, we stayed on the bottom flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us your thoughts on our hotel! I am very sorry about the issues you encountered during your stay! I am very sorry about the spiders that you had found in your room! Like most hotels in Rochester we do have an exterminator come in monthly to check all of our nooks a crannies of our hotel and I brought it up to him on their last visit and it has been addressed. I am not sure why it took so long for the electrical issues in your bathroom to be addressed by our maintenance staff but I have spoken to them about it and they have been a lot more attentive sense your stay! I am very sorry about the noisiness of the kids from your stay. We do have each group member sign a Group Conduct Contract stating that there will be no running and no yelling in the halls at any time and that quiet time is enforced at 10 pm every evening and we try our best to keep up with them. I am very sorry again about the issues you encountered and we hope you will try us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Have stayed here multiple times over the last 3-4 yrs. The last 2 disappointing stays have degraded our rating from a 5-star to a 3-star. The same dirty messes (cracker crumb piles, small pieces of paper litter, lint piles, etc) were in the exact same places in the hallways and elevators when we checked in and when we checked out 48 hours later. The pillow cases and the sheets on one of the queen beds were wrinkled and appeared unchanged from prior visitors use. (We didn't use that bed!) The room AC unit sounded ike a jet engine when the compressor kicked in and did a better job keeping us awake all night than regulating the room temp. The snack shop has been closed. The breakfast has been considerably pared down from the past. The OJ and decaf coffee remained empty the entire 30 min we waited for their refill during the breakfast hours. (The front desk gal was in charge of both the desk and breakfast and could not keep up evidently.) Sadly, this used to be our favorite motel in Rochester. In short, management changes since early 2013 have obviously resulted in cutbacks in both services and cleanliness. We really liked this quiet south part of Rochester, but will give that up for better comfort and care of customers elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel! I am so sorry that your stay was a little disappointing compared to your last stays! I hope to make it up and you will try our hotel in the future! I have spoken with our housekeeping staff and have directed them to vacuum the hallways more often, and the bedding issue has been addressed. I have also spoken to the desk staff on keeping the Market Place fully stocked at all times. As for the breakfast, we are in the process of hiring new staff for that position and the issue will be resolved shortly! Again I am very sorry about your disappointing stay but I truly hope you will give us another shot in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Room was a little on the small side but very clean and comfortable and met our needs beautifully. The king size bed and pillows were excellent. Bathroom was much nicer than most but I would have appreciated a rack by the sink to hang a hand towel and a spot for the hand washing soap.
The heating controls were a little odd and took some effort to figure out.
The hotel is a bit out of town but is an easy drive to shops and restaurants. We loved that the area was quiet with a nice paved walking trail.
The breakfast area was decent but felt cramped if there were more than 3 people trying to get food at a time. Usual selection of cereal, waffles, pastries, sausages, fruit and yogurt. Juice comes from one of those machines that mixes it as it pours...not my favorite. Still, it provided a sufficient grab and go way to start the day.
Staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank JKfamilywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for taking your time to tell us your thoughts about our hotel! Its wonderful to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations with their professionalism as we is their personalities! I am sorry to hear that our air control system was a little difficult to figure out. I know that it is a new system to the Rochester area and something that is hard to get used to! I hand towel rack in the bath room is a wonderful idea! We will try and work our some sort of an idea to make that happen! Thank you again for taking your time to review our hotel and we hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are super spacious. I booked the 2 queen room with a pullout couch, and was pleasantly surprised by the space in room. Significantly larger than your average 2 queen room. The bathroom was excellent, and the whole place was very clean. The pool area was nice--main pool a tad small, but the kids enjoyed it much the same. The hot tub was large, and very hot--which I like. The breakfast was not one of those breakfasts you would remember for weeks, but it was better than many--2 waffle machines, an egg choice and a meat choice. Certainly a 4 star breakfast. We were just passing through Rochester on a mini vacation, but clearly many people staying here were Mayo bound, so that seems like a good option as well. I believe they have a shuttle. Loved the staff as well. Overall, I would certainly recommend this place to my mom...and she has so many hotel requirements it is comical.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! Its great to hear that you had such a wonderful time on your Mini Vacation! Its always nice to hear that our staff, breakfast, and pool area are the favorites during your stay! Thank you again for taking the time to tell us your thoughts! We hope to see you and your family again soon on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

!st trip to Mayo, and what a blessing this Hotel was! Very clean! The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar was great! Bacon, muffins, waffles, fresh fruit, juices... and more! The beds are very comfortable! Tons of pillows! I will staying there again very soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! Its wonderful to hear that your stay met all of your expectations! We hope to keep exceeding them each time you stay with us again! Our breakfast is something that we strive for to be delicious everyday! With the hot items changing every day we hope that you stay with us more to try each of our menu items through out the week! Thank you again for taking the time to write a review on us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
7.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West - Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Rochester

Address: 4141 Maine Ave SE, Rochester, MN 55904-6934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rochester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#16 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £71 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® is located on the southeastern area of Rochester Minnesota. Just minutes from Mayo Clinic, St. Marys Hospital and IBM Executive Briefing Center. We offer discounted rates for Mayo Clinic visitors as well as St. Marys Hospital visitors. For information on these discounts as well as others please contact us directly at the phone number listed above. We are very close to a variety of shopping stores, restaurants, and a movie theater. We are also minuets from a number of parks golf courses and ponds. We offer FREE transportation to the Mayo Clinic, and St. Marys Hospital Mondays – Fridays, FREE parking, FREE wireless Internet FREE local calls, FREE weekday local newspaper, and a FREE hot deluxe breakfast, which include waffles, eggs, meat, fresh fruit, cereal and more. We also offer a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag which includes various breakfast items if you are in a hurry and have no time to sit down for breakfast. Take a dip in our sparkling indoor heated pool and indoor hot tub. Enjoy our our exercise room during your comfortable stay with us. We have a business center that is equipped with two computers, copy and fax services. We also have a meeting room that can accommodate meetings or family get togethers. All of our rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, charging station for phones and other devices. We offer snacks, and laundry detergent in our Sundry Shop, coin operated laundry facilities in our beautifully decorated lobby area. The Comfort Suites® is a new development built in 2008. We offer fantastic customer service and wonderful amenities waiting for you to visit us in Rochester Minnesota. Book a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing