We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Customer Service Not So Much...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Rochester
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Customer Service Not So Much...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have stayed here for our daughter's dance competitions for many years. We started when it was new and never had any troubles so we kept returning. Last year there was some check in issues of our rooms not being ready and running out of food at breakfast. We figured it was just an off year so we tried again this year.
Here is my best advice: This is a nice hotel, but pricey. Rooms are set up well for space other than just a bed, they all have sitting areas with a mini fridge and a microwave. The pool is VERY small, but being we have older kids it was not an issue we just waited until later when the younger kids cleared out. To ensure we did not have check in issues this year I called two days in advance and spoke with the hotel staff to verify there would be no trouble with an early check in. Normal check in is 3:00 and we requested 2:00 (nothing too crazy). After explaining our hour wait last year they said they would be sure our rooms were cleaned first. So, we arrived at 2:30 and they (i needed 4) were not ready. When I asked why I was given many excuses..."no guarantees for early check in" "short staffed". When it was all said and done our last room was ready at 3:20 which was 20 minutes later than the official check in time.
Needless to say we will not be staying here again next year. There is a new hotel I did not know about a block away that we will try the next time we need to stay in Rochester.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review on our hotel. I am very sorry about your frustrations during check in time. We do truly try our hardest to complete all guest requests and I am so sorry that we were unable to accommodate your early check in request. We do hope that you choose to try us again in the future so we can try and make up for past shortcomings from our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    48
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
86
38
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mass
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I rate this hotel "average" in value.

The common areas-- elevators, hallways-- need a good vacuum. I have stayed here multiple times, and cleaning of rooms also have room for improvement.

The service at this hotel is outstanding - front desk staff go above & beyond to make your trip comfortable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Your feedback on your stay is truly important to us and lets us know where we succeed and where we can improve! I have relayed your impute to our staff and has been addressed! Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We've stayed at this hotel now a total of 3 times in the past 5 months during visits to Rochester for the Mayo Clinic. Twice in the past we had our kids along but this last time it was just my wife and I and we booked a king room. The room was nice and clean with plenty of room. Nice couch and a table to set up our lap top. Once again the staff was friendly and polite. Great hot breakfast with eggs and sausage and hot coffee. Comfy bed, nice bathroom, and overall a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funk5-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! Its great to hear that our repeat guests are enjoying their time with us EVERY TIME! We hope to see you again in the future on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel was quiet and clean. It was out of the busy part of the city which made it nice. The room was big and cozy. The breakfast was good. The pool area is small, but very nice. The fitness room was more than adequate. The staff were helpful and pleasant. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel! Your feedback is important to us! It’s great to hear that you had such an enjoyable night! Your reviews are important to us because it will help us better our hotel and your stay! Thank you again! And we hope to see you again on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk River, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were not here very long, Kids enjoyed the pool and we enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. The room was very nice especially liked the couch and coffee table .We would like to have been able to check in a little early but without checking to see if we could they told us no. We will check next time to see if it is a possibility, if it is not we will not stay there again. We like that option. Other hotels we have checked in to have always been okay with that.

Room Tip: Room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on your last stay! It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! I am sorry that we could not accommodate an early check in. We always try our best to get each guest in as early as possible. Before going to the hotel I recommend to call our morning desk staff to tell them you would like an early check in. This will put you first on the list to get the first room available of your room type. Again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stay in about 20 hotels a year. Stayed this past weekend. The hotel was very clean, able to check in earlier, rooms were very roomy and very clean, breakfast was solid. Heard no noise from other rooms or people in the hallway. Front desk staff were very helpful. A very solid stay - no complaints and our family will stay in this hotel again. A very nice hotel. Thank You for the great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMH4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel on your last stay with us! It's wonderful to hear that you had such a good night stay! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Rochester and hope to see you more often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamar, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I, together with our two adult children and 4 year old grandchild stayed here for 5 days while visiting family. We travel frequently and have stayed in many kinds of hotels. This one ranks right up with the best. We rented a suite which was roomy and comfortable and we adjusted nicely to sharing one bathroom. The beds were comfortable and with a variety of pillows, I didn't end up with a neck ache. The pool and hot tub were great fun for us all. I used the exercise room which was clean and well maintained. Since it was snowy and cold we particularly enjoyed the all day hot coffee! Every staff person from front desk to housekeeping were friendly and accommodating. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milestogo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razu248, Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We really appreciate the great comments you had about our hotel and glad to hear that your entire family enjoyed everything we had to offer! We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West - Medical Center
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#6 of 52 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Rochester

Property: Comfort Suites Rochester
Address: 4141 Maine Avenue SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rochester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#16 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® is located on the southeastern area of Rochester Minnesota. Just minutes from Mayo Clinic, St. Marys Hospital and IBM Executive Briefing Center. We offer discounted rates for Mayo Clinic visitors as well as St. Marys Hospital visitors. For information on these discounts as well as others please contact us directly at the phone number listed above. We are very close to a variety of shopping stores, restaurants, and a movie theater. We are also minuets from a number of parks golf courses and ponds. We offer FREE transportation to the Mayo Clinic, and St. Marys Hospital Mondays – Fridays, FREE parking, FREE wireless Internet FREE local calls, FREE weekday local newspaper, and a FREE hot deluxe breakfast, which include waffles, eggs, meat, fresh fruit, cereal and more. We also offer a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag which includes various breakfast items if you are in a hurry and have no time to sit down for breakfast. Take a dip in our sparkling indoor heated pool and indoor hot tub. Enjoy our our exercise room during your comfortable stay with us. We have a business center that is equipped with two computers, copy and fax services. We also have a meeting room that can accommodate meetings or family get togethers. All of our rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, charging station for phones and other devices. We offer snacks, and laundry detergent in our Sundry Shop, coin operated laundry facilities in our beautifully decorated lobby area. The Comfort Suites® is a new development built in 2008. We offer fantastic customer service and wonderful amenities waiting for you to visit us in Rochester Minnesota. Book a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing