We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You better love BBQ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You better love BBQ”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is attached to a Famous Daves, so everything smells like BBQ. The smell permeates all the way to the other end of the motel. The room is large, but my first impression was dirty. The room may have been clean, the sheets seemed clean, but the overall feeling was dirty. I did not want to touch the bed spreads, I can only imagine the stains visible on black light. I never took my shoes off as the carpet appeared very worn and dirty. The bathroom is in need of a major overhaul. The porcelain in sink is chipped and worn away. The water presure was good, and the towels substanial. I was glad I was only staying one night.

Room Tip: As far from the front door as possible unless you love smelling BBQ
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear your stay did not meet your standards. I will be working on these issues so they will not affect future guest's stays. Thanks again for letting us know how we are doing.

Lynn Budahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    64
    33
    15
    12
See reviews for
67
25
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osage, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Front desk gentleman was very nice and told us about breakfast, pool hours, discounts at nearby restaurants, etc. Room was spacious and clean - loved the fluffy towels! Pool stays open late which is nice after a long day - great hot tub! Next time will ask for a couple extra pillows as there were only 2 on the bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Lynn Budahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

we had a 2 week stay at guesthouse due to mayo clinic visits, guesthouse was great! best prices - good service - great employees! Demetrious and Linda both went out of their way to help us in our time of need. these two are excellent employees and well deserving of commendation. If we ever go back to Mayo, Guesthouse would be our choice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ATM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest-

Thanks so much for the review on TripAdvisor! I am happy we were able to accommodate you during your visit to the Mayo Clinic. I will pass along your words to both Demetrius and Linda!

Looking forward to your next stay,

Lynn Budahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were stressed out because of the emergency situation for visiting Rochester, but Demetrius showed us first class attention thru-out our stay...we were a group from St. Paul and Salt Lake City, so he had a lot to handle...thank you Demetrius!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! I glad your stay was enjoyable, I will pass along your words to Demetrius.

Hope to see you again in the future!

Lynn Budahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We got into our room and it smelled like spearmint or more precisely like that ring in urinals. We couldn't find where or why but it was so strong our eyes burned. We called the front desk to change rooms and when I picked up the phone is was sticky. Yuk. See picture. We were able to switch rooms but I felt that the carpet was...ewe. We had a dog and I wonder if they keep pets on the first floor and so they don't really care about the carpet? I am allergic to cats and I could feel the allergy coming on in the second room but I survived. The first floor is the only floor I saw. The breakfast area was nice. There was a great area for pets right behind the hotel. Pool was ok. Kids enjoyed. Location is good for quick access to HWY 52, restaurants and grocery store.

Room Tip: Not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time the let us know how we are doing. My apologizes on the stay not meeting standards. I have passed along your comments to housekeeping so we can ensure these are not issues for future stays.

Thanks again-

Lynn Budahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed at the Rochester Guesthouse International Inn several times now, and have always been pleased with the clean accomodations, and friendly, helpful staff. If there is ever a need, they are eager to meet it. We have used the free shuttle service to Mayo Clinic from the hotel, and am grateful that the hotel provides that to it's customers.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are easier for those with disabilities to navigate, there is an elevator, but lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynB55718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for you the excellent review on TripAdvisor!


Lynn Budahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The whole family had a great stay over the weekend. This is a very solid 2 star hotel experience and this review is given in that context. The hotel is pleasantly decorated and it actually looks like new carpet and painting have been done recently. The remodeled pool area is fantastic and a big hit with my daughter. The continental breakfast was average. Staff were great. A nice option not advertised on our booking site was 3 nearby restaurants offering 10% discount to GuestHouse Inn guests. If your fine with the aesthetics of a 2 star hotel this is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear your family and yourself enjoyed the stay and we hope to see you again in the future!

Thanks again,

Lynn Budahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
2.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Rochester
TownePlace Suites Rochester
#30 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kahler Apache
Kahler Apache
#45 of 52 in Rochester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester
Address: 435 16th Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901-1808 (Formerly Travelodge Rochester)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester provides travelers with a clean and comfortable place to relax no matter the reason for travel. Take advantage of our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free wireless Internet access, and free shuttle service to and from the Mayo Clinic facilities. Enjoying our large newly renovated indoor pool and relaxing in the whirlpool while you kids play under the waterfall is unbeatable at this Rochester, MN inn. Guests appreciate that we are minutes from Downtown Rochester, home of the Mayo Clinic. Special Mayo Clinic rates are available that include complimentary van service Monday through Friday. Connected to our Rochester, MN hotel near Mayo Clinic is Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que which provides dine in, or call for guest room service. Enjoy large guest rooms with microwave, mini refrigerator and high speed wireless Internet access. Kids and adults alike will love our great pool, whirlpool, and game area. Our Rochester, Minnesota inn is conveniently located close to all area businesses, entertainment and dining districts. The award winning GuestHouse Inn & Suites hotel in Rochester is happy to be at your service and was honored with Boomerang Hotels Excellence in Guest Service award for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Inn And Suites Rochester
Guesthouse International Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Hotel International Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing