We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comforting at a time away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Renville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comforting at a time away from home”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We came down here for our first trip to the mayo. We booked a room with a stove and fridge and when we got into the room it had a stove, fridge, microwave,toaster,coffee pot and on top of it the biggest surprise was to open the drawers and cupboards and find pots and pans, real glass coffee cups and glasses, silverware and other stuff to cook with.. it may not seem like it but when you are away from home and you can find a few things that makes you feel like your in a home its relaxing. We will be staying here again for sure. Not sure why people are complaining about the pool being full of kids, smoke butts outside and the breakfast... one yes there is kids in the pool.. its a hotel and think back to when you were a kid.. you never wanted to leave the pool it was the best ever. The people smoking outside... well the whole hotel is smoke free so why is that a problem and last.. OMG 4 inch tall waffles you make yourself for breakfast hot and steamy with butter?? I have never seen that at a breakfast before.. soft bagels cereal, hot chocolate, spiced cider, yogurt, fresh fruit, I mean if you cant find something in all of that to eat your way too picky.. Will recommend and stay at again thanks so much.. oh and the price is really good the ones downtown charge for everything including water, and parking.. umm no.. try this out its great..

Room Tip: Get a suite... its way less than an average room at any other place and you can keep your hot stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the excellent review on TripAdvisor! I am glad we could accommodate you during your time in Rochester.

Thanks again-

Lynn Budahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    64
    33
    15
    12
See reviews for
67
25
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night driving through Rochester. It was not fancy or new. It was clean and about what you could expect for the price. Continental breakfast was a little below average. It could use some updates but was good for one night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate you letting us know how we are doing!

Lynn Budahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Amber and Linda at the front desk offer excellent service. We have been staying there for 6 months working in town and the rooms are always clean and Amber and Linda at the front desk always check us in very quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: All rooms on the 3rd floor are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor!

Lynn Budahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

When we checked in the desk was dirty, behind the desk was a ton on junk just laying around. We went to our (1st room) there were big black hairs on the toilet, bathroom floor, in the tub. So I went to check the bed, we pulled back the covers and there was hair in both the bed. Needless to say we went to the front desk to request another room. We got to the desk and the lady had NO idea what we were talking about. The lady that checked us in couldn't believe our room was dirty. We went up to our (2nd room) and it was even dirtier than the first. Hand prints on window and mirrors, the floors we obviously not vacuumed, hair in the bed, bathroom, and floors, food caked in the microwave. We returned to the front desk and she told us she could not give us our money back, but gave us another room. To her credit she did come up and see the rooms and how dirty they were. The (3rd room) was better but no where near as clear as a hotel room should be. Whom ever owns this hotel should be ashamed of themselves. This hotel is known as a place to stay if you have to go to the Mayo clinic, I would not anyone who is sick to stay her. To sum it up, dirty hotel, strange people sitting outside the doors, and I wouldn't eat the continental breakfast who knows if they clean their kitchen!!!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and stay at a better hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyssa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our family loved this hotel! We were able to relax and have a blast at the same time. We loved the pool area for the children. The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean! We can't wait to plan our next trip to this hotel. It will be coming very soon. Can't say enough about this hotel. If you are looking for a hotel go here you will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stay at Guesthouse Inn every time we visit for Mayo clinic. The Guesthouse staff is very friendly and Amber is great in making sure we have everything we need. Several restaurants are close by with Famous Daves connected to the hotel. A great place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Prairie, Il
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful. Especially Amanda. She made our stay so much more enjoyable. Looking forward with visiting with her. Also Linda was able to answer our questions about the area. The hotel was clean and the pool area was recently remodeled. Would stay here again and plan on checking out the chain when we travel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtjjeda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
2.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Rochester
TownePlace Suites Rochester
#30 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kahler Apache
Kahler Apache
#45 of 52 in Rochester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester
Address: 435 16th Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901-1808 (Formerly Travelodge Rochester)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester provides travelers with a clean and comfortable place to relax no matter the reason for travel. Take advantage of our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free wireless Internet access, and free shuttle service to and from the Mayo Clinic facilities. Enjoying our large newly renovated indoor pool and relaxing in the whirlpool while you kids play under the waterfall is unbeatable at this Rochester, MN inn. Guests appreciate that we are minutes from Downtown Rochester, home of the Mayo Clinic. Special Mayo Clinic rates are available that include complimentary van service Monday through Friday. Connected to our Rochester, MN hotel near Mayo Clinic is Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que which provides dine in, or call for guest room service. Enjoy large guest rooms with microwave, mini refrigerator and high speed wireless Internet access. Kids and adults alike will love our great pool, whirlpool, and game area. Our Rochester, Minnesota inn is conveniently located close to all area businesses, entertainment and dining districts. The award winning GuestHouse Inn & Suites hotel in Rochester is happy to be at your service and was honored with Boomerang Hotels Excellence in Guest Service award for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Inn And Suites Rochester
Guesthouse International Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Hotel International Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing