We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel:-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights while visiting Mayo Clinic. How many Hotels offer 1. Free Parking? 2. Free Breakfast(Belgian Waffles, 3 Different Varieties of Cereal, Oatmeal, Bagels, Breads, Yoplait Yogurt, Fruit Cups, Bananas, Apples, Hatd Boiled Eggs, 4 Different Varieties of Juices, Toast, An Egg Dish, Sausage/Bacon, and much more) 3. Free Reliable Wi-FI? 4. No Resort Fee? 5. Free Shuttle Service to Mayo Clinic & other places? 6. Free Bottled Water?(This May have been a HHonors perk), 7. Bedding including Duvet Cover is washed prior to your stay? 8. Business Center with 2 Computers/Printer? 9. Free Cookies, Grab & Go Snack Bags, 24 Hour Coffee & Tea Service in the Front Desk Area! A nice addition might be some Flavored Fruit(Oranges, Lemon, Lime, Peach etc) or Vegetabke (Cucumber & Mint) Ice Water as well......

We have been staying at Hampton Inns fior several years but this was our 1st stay at this location with 2 more stays booked as I need to return to Mayo Clinic Two or possible 3 more times. The employees are friendly especially Jessica at the Front Desk & Matthew the Shuttle Driver(who will be moving soon).....

We did have some loud kids in the room next to us. If they didn't stop banging their door I was going to call downstairs to the front desk but eventually they stopped. This Hotel is a busy place!

Overall we had a GREAT Stay in our Studio Suite Room. On the days I was wiped out from testing@Mayo we just told Housekeeping to skip our room for that day. I never felt afraid at this location although someone did break in to all of the soda pop machines, on every floor, and steal money from each one while we were there. I can't imagine who or why someone would do this? I think it would probably be a wise idea to install some type of security system in this area. Which brings me to another point. NO safes in the rooms. Not just at this location but at every Hampton Inn we have every stayed at. I don't understand WHY there is not a safe in guest rooms? Especially, with all of the electronics many people bring on trips today. Even a small safe in the closet would be better than not having one at all. Other Hilton Properties have Safes.

Just 3 minor "complaints" .....an inexpensive up to date 3 hole Paper Punch would be an excellent addition to the Business Center. The antiquated version, at the Front Desk, did not punch holes, in the right places, in some of my records for Mayo Clinic. This made it hard for me to put them in my very full binder. They just didn't fit properly. Also, the towels we had were really scratchy. It's uncomfortable to take a shower in hard water, when you are used to soft water at home, but then have to dry off with a worn scratchy towel......Time for some NEW fluffy towels! Lastly our bar soap disappeared everyday? And it wasn't replaced with a new bar so we had to find Housekeeping & get some Fresh Bars. The shape of the soap is an excellent concept! Much easier to hold onto to. We don't replace our soap everyday at home. Mostly, we use Liquid Soap so I finally went to the store & bought some. This might be worth asking guests if they want their soap replaced each day? And cost cutting as well for the Hotel!

The PERKS at this Rochester Location, combined with the Great Mayo Clinic Room Rate This Hotel Offers, far outweigh any minor complaints I have. I am looking forward to our next visit in just a few short weeks!

Kelly

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank InternetDiva69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the review. We always appreciate the feed back. We will go over the housekeeping issue with the team. We have safety deposit boxes behind the desk for our guests, we will meet with the staff to make sure that they are letting our guests know.
And I am pretty sure we can get a 3 hole punch in the business center, it makes sense to have one with all the guests we have that are here for the clinic and all the papers the receive from the clinic.
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were up here again visiting our granddaughter and had booked 5 nights. The first two nights were great, quiet and the hotel ran as usual. Friday/Saturday nights were a little different. Little league baseball tourney in Rochester and the hotel was filled to the brim with boys and some parents. The boys ran up and down the halls on all floors(4). They didn't yell or scream, just run up the stairs down the hallways to the other stairs run down or up and repeated until 11pm. My husband went down to the desk, he wasn't alone. The Assistant Manager was on duty (manager was busy). My husband talked to him about the noise. The manager said that every hotel in Rochester is filled with the boys for the tourney and they (the hotel) didn't have enough security to make sure that that didn't happen. He, the AM also told my husband that they are guests too! What? My husband told him to have the manager call our room. The manager did and said that he'll take care of the running up and down the halls because my husband wasn't the only one who said something. The manager also give us that nights stay for free! Now that's how you deal with a situation that was very unpleasant. This hotel along with dozens of others is also great for Mayo Clinic visits. So, there wasn't just boys, regular guests but many Mayo Clinic patients who need peace and quiet, which on normal nights at this hotel is perfect.
We will continue to use this hotel when we visit Rochester as it's, for us, in a great location, very clean and they do have a large breakfast and normally very quiet nights.
Carole

Room Tip: It you want more space, the king/queen suites are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the unfortunate experience you had while staying with us, and I sincerely apologize for the noisy disturbances you encountered during your visit.
Your feedback is important to us and we’re sorry that you were unhappy with the way this issue was handled. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to ensure we're doing all we can to serve our guests. We value your business and do hope you'll consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a GREAT stay at this hotel. The room was clean, big, comfortable. We all slept great. The breakfast was wonderful. The hotel staff was great. Our older kids enjoyed the pool. The suite was just right with older kids. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cathi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that everyone had a great night sleep. We hope to see you again/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If a quality fitness center is important to you, then this is not your hotel. The cardio equipment is obsolete and not calibrated (my pulse rating bounced between 190 and 130 within several seconds). What was worse was the condition of the equipment—parts were dangling by wires, other parts were missing, and some parts were held together with packing tape (I have posted photos). On the plus side, the staff was very pleasant and accommodating, the breakfast was superb, and the room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The pool is on the 2nd floor. If you get a room near the pool, be prepared for constant foot traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJA1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the unfortunate experience you had while staying with us, and I sincerely apologize for the condition of our Fitness center during your visit.
Your feedback is important to us. . Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to ensure we're doing all we can to serve our guests. We value your business and do hope you'll consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I keep getting amazed by how nice the staff is and what a wonderful hotel it is each time I stay there. As long as I am in Rochester this is where I will stay. If you are visiting the Mayo Clinic then this hotel is for you. It is so peaceful, not crowded, staff are extremely friendly and it seems like most of the guests are there for Mayo Clinic as well which is nice. I recommend this hotel again, I say give them a try and you will definitely agree with me.

Room Tip: High floor, away from the pool or elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent travel... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. We want our guests to feel comfortable during their stay here especially when they are visiting the clinic.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The staff here can't be beat. They were kind and helpful during a difficult trip. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The shuttle to the Mayo Clinic was super convenient. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74VickiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Vicki,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate each and everyone of our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We continue to find Hampton Inn North a great place to stay when receiving care at the Mayo Clinic. Clean comfortable rooms with internet service, breakfasts, shuttle service, and a relaxing hot tub make our visits excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Keith,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for staying with us while you are in Rochester. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#4 of 50 in Rochester
740 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
4.6 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 50 in Rochester
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North

Address: 2870 59th St NW, Rochester, MN 55901-3758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#2 Business Hotel in Rochester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £76 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Rochester with our free shuttle, Monday- Friday from 6 AM to 9 PM, to and from Mayo Clinic, St. Mary’s, Rochester Downtown/Civic Center and IBM as well. Perennially listed near the top of the “Best Places to Live” polls, the team at our Hampton Inn & Suites contends that among Rochester, Minnesota hotels, the Hampton Inn Rochester North is also quite a nice place to visit! Our hotel is conveniently located near the world-renowned Mayo Clinic, the largest IBM facility and over 300 hundred restaurants. Our “Minnesota Nice” team provides true hospitality with cosmopolitan services. We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North Hotel Rochester
Hampton Inn And Suites Rochester - North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing