We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveniently located near Mayo Clinic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brentwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Conveniently located near Mayo Clinic”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a pretty basic hotel. The room was very clean, beds were OK. The continental breakfast was adequate, although the coffee was very weak. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and I was able to leave my car in the parking lot during Mayo Clinic appointment, even after checking out. Mayo is a 3 block walk away (and connected by pedestrian subway), and there are several restaurants, Starbucks, and Caribou Coffee within a few blocks. Free wifi was good. Reasonably priced room. Although the facility and amenities are basic, the helpfulness of the staff makes this a good place for a short stay, especially if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smj000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
smj000:

Thank you for staying with us recently, and for the kind review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our ameninities that we provide for our guests. I am also extremely happy to hear that staff was so helpful. They all do such a wonderful job and we take great pride in having such an outstanding group of people. I hope that when you return to Rochester that the Brentwood Inn and Suites will be at the top of your list. Thanks again, and see you next time.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    48
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
27
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutherland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is in such a great location if you have to spend a few nights. You can walk to the clinic or Methodist hospital in just a few minutes. They are also connected to the Subway and this is another good option. We did have trouble with the air condtioner, had to run it at a low temp to get it to cool the room. There are places you can get food in the subway but do close early. I liked that they have a fridge and microwave so that i could run over and grab a quick sandwich and get back to the hospital in a short time. Also helped that they have free parking.
Staff is very friendly and make a stressful time a little easier. Beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaCubsfan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
IowaCubsfan25:

First of all I want to thank you for your stay at our property. I am very happy to hear that you were able to use the amenities that we provide for our guests. Like the previous review, I apologize for any inconveniences during your stay (especially the air conditioner). It is my hope that you mentioned something to our front desk so that we were able to take care of the issue.
Nonetheless, I am happy to hear that the staff was exceptional and were able to help you and your family during a time when may not have been the easiest. We have an incredible staff that have been with us for several years, and we take an incredible amount of pride in this.

It is my hope that you will continue to stay with us if you continue to travel to Rochester. Thank you again for your review and your business.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Other favorable reviews I've read are basically on the mark. This hotel is dated but clean. They are not trying to be something they are not; this is a good choice for a short term stay to visit the Mayo clinic. I'm not sure this would be the place for a multi-week stay for someone with a chronic illness. The "suite" we stayed in was just a divided room - KS bed on one side and small couch on the other. Room included flat screen TV with decent cable, free wifi, hair dryer, microwave and small fridge. Bed was comfortable, although my wife did not like the very firm, overstuffed pillows. The A/C seemed to have trouble keeping the room comfortable - it was usually either too hot or too cold. Rooms did allow sounds from other rooms to penetrate - heard footsteps from above and some wall knocks next door. These sounds were very minimal and not a real problem for us. We were on the streetside with no noticeable external noise. Clientele were mostly mature adults; I didn't notice anyone with children. Free parking was nice and we were always able to find a spot. There is no restaurant (other than comp. breakfast) or pool in the hotel. This is a good choice because of the friendly staff, relative quiet, cleanliness and overall value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
jsw59:

Thank you for your kind review of our property. We are exactly what we are, a family owned and operated hotel. We take pride in everything we do, and we greatly appreciate your business. I hope that you were able to speak with our front desk staff and that they were able to help and accommodate you with any of the inconveniences that you mentioned. I wanted to be sure to point out that we actually have quite a few long term stays due to our cleanliness, helpful staff, rates, and convenience to the Mayo Clinic via our subway connection. Regardless, thank you so very much for staying with us, and we hope that you will be returning to our property the next time you visit Rochester.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This place is perfect. Nice clean rooms. The air conditioner works great. Always had hot water. Connected to Mayo Clinic subway. It's in a great location except for the one way street out front but that's not the hotel's fault. The staff was always friendly too.

Room Tip: We got a king size room. It comes with a frig, microwave and a couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Terra F:

Thank you for staying with us as well as the wonderful review you provided for us. We are happy to hear that we were able to take care of your needs during your stay in Rochester, and that we were able to provide you with great service and a friendly staff. We are also happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the subway connection that we have to the clinic; it is truly a wonderful ammenity.

Thank you again for your patronage, and we look forward to having you back at the Brentwood Inn and Suites.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were very pleased with the accommodations at Brentwood. Staff was great to work with. As others have stated, beds were very comfortable, and rooms were a nice size, parking great and secure access to the Subway is fantastic. It was one of the reasons we chose Brentwood to try this trip. On our first trip to Rochester we stayed across the courtyard from the Gonda Building. Rates were considerably higher and room was considerably smaller. We will definitely stay at the Brentwood when we need to come back in 3 months.

The review would have had a top rating except for the fact that the door on 417 needs to be replaced. There is too much light that shows through and I'm not sure how much of the lock actually gets into the door frame. That's our only negative for our stay.

Room Tip: I took the advice of a previous reviewer and requested a 4th floor room so no one would be walking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minntac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
minntac:

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Brentwood Inn and Suites as your lodging provider while in Rochester. Even though we are downtown, we provide clean and comfortable rooms at a very affordable price, and this is extremely important to us. We are happy to hear that you were able to utilize many of the amenities that we provide to our guests such as the subway system and free parking.
We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that the door may have caused. We will be sure to have maintenance check out the issue and take care of any issues.
Thank you again for your stay, and we look forward to seeing you back at the Brentwood Inn and Suites during your next trip to Rochester.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I originally booked at another hotel and when I arrived, I saw that it wasn't for me. So, at 2 a.m. I had to find a new hotel and Brentwood Inn welcomed me.
The rooms are absolutely lovely and so is the shower. The personnel is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable and there's some kind of a fleece for a blanket that's really nice and warm and soft. I was so impressed. And, it is within a walking distance to the Mayo Clinic and shops and even not too far of a walk to the health food store. There's a refrigerator in the room and a microwave. It truly is lovely and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schirete Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Schirete Z:

Thank you very much for staying with us recently, as we realize that there are many choices in Rochester. We are happy that you thought of us and had such a pleasant stay. Additionally, it is great to hear that you enjoyed the room (we just completed a major renovation earlier this year) and noticed many of the upgrades that we made, from the blankets to the beds.
We take a lot of pride in providing the best in service and convenience to our guests, as we know that it is vital in our line of work.
Thank you again for staying with us, and also, thank you for the kind review. Please be sure to come back and stay with us the next time you are in Rochester.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel was perfect for the price. We previously stayed at another hotel earlier, but weren't willing to keep paying $200/night for a room. The people at the reception desk are kind and very accommodating. The lobby has a few chairs, TV and then a breakfast room. Breakfast is your run-of-the-mill cold breakfast; toast, bagels, spreads, doughnuts, cereals with milk, juice, coffee and hard boiled eggs. The room itself is alright. 2 queen beds, large flat screen TV, microwave, mini fridge, and a desk with a chair (that the TV is on) instead of a dresser. My issue was that there wasn't much room in the desk drawers to put clothes... because it's a desk and not a dresser. The beds are super comfortable! The only thing that gave us a hard time sleeping was the air conditioner unit, which the manager said that they would gladly change for us. (They apparently remove the whole unit to clean it between guests). They come through and clean the room every day. Just make sure that you put up the "Do Not Disturb" sign if you like sleeping in- and take it down if you want your room to be cleaned. The hotel itself does not have a pool or extra amenities (other than the breakfast nook and free paper daily). There is a computer that the guests can use and print their boarding passes or other sheets- free of charge. There is also a blood pressure cuff located next to the computer in the breakfast nook as well. It is located close to the subway system of Mayo Clinic, although for us, it was faster and nicer just walking above ground and outside. There is a parking garage attached if you plan on driving as well.

Overall all, we had a great stay and would stay here again!

Room Tip: The 3rd floor has stairs half way through the floor. If you have a wheelchair, ask for a separate fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Amy B:

Thank you for staying with us at the Brentwood Inn and Suites, as we are happy to hear that your stay was a success. We appreciate your business, kind review and suggestions that you may have for us.
We apologize for any inconvenience or disturbance that the air conditioner or lack of storage space may have caused you during your stay.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities that we provide for our guests and that overall your stay with us was very favorable.
Thank you again, and we look forward to having you the next time your are in Rochester.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.8 mi away
Brentwood on 2nd
Brentwood on 2nd
#44 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.1 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#18 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Inn and Suites

Property: Brentwood Inn and Suites
Address: 123 4th Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901-2838
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brentwood Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Brentwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing