We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of high praise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brentwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worthy of high praise”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

For thirteen years, we have enjoyed the privilege of being guests at the Brentwood Inn and Suites. Throughout those years, we have consistently experienced satisfaction and pleasure with our accommodations. The staff is professional, kind, friendly and helpful. The rooms are meticulously cleaned and comfortable. As it relates to the Mayo Clinic campus, the location is excellent and convenient, and the access to the subway adds to the convenience. We are grateful for the opportunity to stay at the Brentwood Inn and Suites when we are in Rochester.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GratefulGuests W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
GratefulGuests W:

We want to thank you for your continued patronage and stays with us here at the Brentwood Inn and Suites. You say that you are grateful for the hotel, but we are also so very grateful for you and your loyalty to our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you have been coming for so many years and have been continually satisfied throughout all of those years! It is because of guests like you that we continue to build a strong client base and continually receive repeat business. Thank you again for making us your hotel choice when you come to Rochester, and for doing so for the past thirteen years. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    51
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
29
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cordova, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This the first time for us, we have been Mayo patients many times and have stayed in many places. The connection to the subway is great. The accomodations are very comfortable. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The desk staff are very helpful. The elevator system is a little strange, but once you understand it it works great. When returning for a Clinic appointment I will stay here. A real value. We actually checked out early in the day and had to come back for a room as we needed to see another Dr the next day and the staff fixed us up with a comperabe to the one we were in the night before. Great Place.......

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamandDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
PamandDon:

Thank you very much for deciding to give our hotel a try. We are pleased to hear that everything went so well, and that you were able to utilize all of our great amenities we provide to our guests. We take great pride in being an independent, family owned and operated hotel, that provides our guests with the best in service, cleanliness, and convenience.
Thank you again for your stay with us, and we will see you next time!

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Although basic in amenities this location has King Suites- King and sofabed for families at reasonable price. Across street from Clinic and has excellent subway access. No charge for parking. The rooms are clean and housekeeping service was good. Access to subway opens available food courts and downtown.

Room Tip: Recommend King Suite for longer stays in newer section on south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikea1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Mikea1949:

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Brentwood Inn and Suites during your recent stay in Rochester. We are happy to hear that things went smoothly, and that you were able to experience the service and amenities that help us make your stay more enjoyable (i.e. our staff, subway connection, free parking, etc...).
We hope that the next time you are in Rochester again for whatever reason, we hope that you stay with us again. Thank you again for your excellent post and for your business, as we greatly appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have been staying at the Brentwood on 4th Ave. NW for our Mayo visits. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The suites have great amenities for an extended stay - "mini" living room, refrigerator, microwave etc. The fares are very reasonable for what you get. It's location is a short stroll to the Mayo. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. This inn has a friendly family atmosphere where patrons (patients and their family members) become friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisbeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Lisbeth S:

Thank you very much for the excellent review. It is because of patrons that you that we are able to continue doing what we are doing. The Brentwood Inn and Suites is a family owned and operated business, and we are very appreciative for your continued business.
We strive to be the best in the areas that you spoke about in your review, and it sounds as though we are doing a great job!
Thank you again for your continued patronage, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Rochester.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Thank you to Brentwood Inn and Suites staff for making a trip to Mayo clinic for a family members surgery a little more comfortable. The Inn is well maintained and very clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was well supplied and very clean and comfortable. Our 1 year old grand daughter was welcomed and the staff treated her like she belonged. Will definitely stay here again if we need to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
V Jack V:

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your excellent comments! I am so happy that you and your family were able to enjoy the hotel during your stay. We know how important it is to have a well maintained and clean hotel these days, and our staff does an excellent job on keeping up on both of these things. We also understand the importance of family, as this is a family owned and operated hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to having you and your family back in our hotel the next time you are in Rochester.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Brentwood Inn and Suites provide a very good value for the money in a downtown location. Best of all, downtown parking is included and the hotel is connected to the Mayo Clinic buildings by the subway walkways. This would be especially important during inclement weather. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast is OK, but not exceptional, as no hot items are included. The staff was helpful. We definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Tripadvisor Member:

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Brentwood Inn and Suites. We greatly appreciate your business and all of your comments. I am happy to hear that you were able to notice and take advantage of everything we have to offer at our hotel; from the subway to the parking to our great staff. We take pride in these things, and are very happy when we receive comments like this from our guests. In regards to the breakfast, we have started to have discussions on how we can make this better for our guests. I am hopeful that we can make some changes in that area.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The title says it all, or almost. This hotel is exceptionally clean with even the stairwells glistening. The beds are very comfortable and the air conditioner worked so well I think you could have made ice in the room if you kept it on maximum (Rochester temps were in the 90s while we were there).

We were only a 5 minute walk to the Mayo clinic. I assume the subway system would be even faster as there would not be any lights. We didn't try it as the weather was perfect for walking outside.

The elevator system is a bit odd if you are on the 4th (top) floor. From within the building you first take one elevator to the 3rd floor and than another one to the top floor. However, there is one from the parking lot (parking is free) that will go to all 4 floors. That is the one we usually took and then walked inside to the lobby if we needed to. I assume they added on to the hotel at some point in time which has resulted in this configuration. For us it wasn't a big deal because the only time we went to the lobby was for breakfast. If this may seem like it may be an issue for you I suggest asking for a room on the bottom 3 floors.

Breakfast was basic. One watch out is the microwave in the breakfast area. It is very powerful and you will likely boil over your oatmeal if that is what you choose to have (learned the hard way). We switched to getting hot water out of the coffee machine and that worked perfectly.

Wifi worked perfectly for us and we had full signal strength in our room. Staff were friendly and helpful.

There is no pool, hot tub, restaurant, or gym at this facility so if that is what you need this is not the place for you; however, if clean, comfortable, convenient, and economical are what you are after this is a great place to lay your head. Note - there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

If we return to Rochester to revisit the Mayo Clinic, I won't hesitate to rebook this facility.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod_D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Rod_D123:

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Brentwood Inn and Suites for your recent stay in Rochester. It sounds as though this was your first time staying with us, and it looks as though everything went as smoothly as possible (except for the oatmeal; my apologies). I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything from the rooms to the staff to the wifi was to your liking. We take great pride in providing our guests with the cleanest rooms and helpful staff, at an economical price. This is very important, and we understand the importance of all of these things.
In regards to the elevator system, there was an addition put on in 1999. The original hotel only has three floors, and that is why there is no access from the main elevator in the lobby to the fourth floor. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused, but I am happy to hear you figured the system out!
Thank you again for your stay and excellent review. Look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.8 mi away
Brentwood on 2nd
Brentwood on 2nd
#44 of 52 in Rochester
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#18 of 52 in Rochester
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 52 in Rochester
1,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Inn and Suites

Property: Brentwood Inn and Suites
Address: 123 4th Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901-2838
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brentwood Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Brentwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing