We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A satisfied Mayo patient!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brentwood Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brentwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A satisfied Mayo patient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Brentwood for a week while doctoring at Mayo. You can't beat a subway attached hotel for convenience with the busy Mayo scheduling. The subway is really a tunnel system, no transportation in the "subway" other than wheelchairs. The tunnels are well lit and handicapped accessible. It is about 4 blocks through the tunnel to the reception desk at Mayo so if you have mobility issues, you will want to consider using a wheelchair--which are plentiful and free to use.

The hotel is nice, not upscale, but recently redecorated and very clean. There is a large, free, parking lot with a few spaces in a covered area. There is an elevator to all floors in the covered parking area for easy access to your room that is security controlled. The rooms are a reasonable size. We had a king mini-suite and it was very comfortable for 2 people. It would be ok for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children but would be a bit cramped for 4 adults. The mini-kitchenette has a larger 'dorm" sized refrigerator, microwave and sink. There is storage for food but it is not stocked with dishes so plan on getting your own (we just used paper plates, etc.). The bathroom is on the small size but they planned out the counter top well for extra space for your toiletries. The shower has great water pressure! The towels are thick and soft.

I've stayed at several hotels in the Rochester area and for the price, this hotel is top of my list now!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and found it convenient for getting to/from the Subway and Parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    45
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
26
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel was great when we visited the Mayo Clinic !! The underground walkway to the clinic is great on a rainy or cold day! Free parking and great rates make this hotel one of our favorites!! A real gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bartland4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a bare bones hotel. But it's comfortable. Good mattresses. You can walk a few blocks to Mayo at street level, or if you're unfortunate enough to go to Mayo in winter, the clinic can be reached from the hotel by underground passage, which is lovely with shops, artwork, waterfalls, etc. My only complaint about this hotel is the towels. They're threadbare. C'mon, folks, invest in some better towels! The soaps and shampoos are skimpy too, but we asked for more and got them. The hotel personnel are very nice. We left earlier than expected and they didn't hold us to a 24 hr cancellation. I don't hesitate to recomment this. For this price and location, it's perfect. If you're used to a Marriott, this isn't for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micki27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at the Brentwood, but our second visit to the Mayo. Hands down, this is the best place to stay while visiting the Mayo for location, value, and cleanliness. The staff was as courteous and helpful as possible, the room and building is spotlessly clean, and it is right across the street from the Gonda Building, which is the center of most Mayo activities!
The only negative I can say is that it is a little on the small side: we were in a two Queen room and the large countertop sink was actually at one end of the room. The bathroom contained the shower/bathtub and toilet. There was a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker included. One big plus were the beds: the mattresses were brand new and extremely comfortable, as were the pillows! The inn has been recently renovated, so all the carpeting is brand new. Breakfast is a simple fare of such things as muffins, pastries, cereals, and frozen omelets.
Brentwood will be our place to stay for all of our Mayo visits!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Danette M:

I would like to first thank you so very much for choosing the Brentwood Inn and Suites for your recent stay in Rochester. I am so happy to hear that everything went well, and that you will be back to stay with us the next time!
Nothing makes me happier than when we receive comments like yours because everything you said is what we strive for everyday.
As an independently and family owned hotel, we take pride in providing our guests with the best in service, cleanliness, and convenience. Since most of our guests are going through the clinic, we want to be sure that everything is as comfortable and like home as possible, and it sounds like we were able to accomplish this during your stay.
Unfortunately, there is not a lot we can do in regards to the room size, but I am hoping that this did not cause too many issues.
Once again, thank you so much for the excellent review, and we will see you the next time your are in Rochester! Thank you!!

Kindest Regards,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Brentwood Inn & Suites while visiting the Mayo and Methodist Hospital. It is the perfect location. It is connected to the Mayo buildings by the subway system which makes the weather a no factor. Parking, breakfast, and City newspapers are included even on Sundays. I would definitely stay there again if they have some rooms with H/C bathrooms. The low toilet and no bars is a little scarey for people with replaced hips. I am surprised that all the rooms are not H/C equipped given their location.

Room Tip: Ask for H/C bath if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauiartist100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Mauiartist100:

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us again at the Brentwood Inn and Suites. It is so great to hear from guests like you who, when returning to Rochester, decide to stay with us time and time again. Your loyalty and patronage is so greatly appreciated!
Also, I am happy to hear that you are able to use the amenities that make us so convenient and such a great hotel.
Regarding handicapped accessible rooms, we do have a few available. However, with our occupancy during the week, those tend to get reserved very quickly. My suggestion is when you make a reservation to request one of those rooms. I apologize if this may have caused any inconvenience during your stay. Perhaps, if we purchase taller toilets that this will help to alleviate some of the issues.
Once again, thank you so very much for your kind words, your suggestions, and your continued business. We greatly appreciate it, and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Rochester.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

With all the hotels around Mayo, it was hard to choose the one that fit us the best. Brentwood Inn & Suites was the perfect choice. GREAT location to Mayo. WONDERFUL staff. The rooms were nice and clean. They thought of everything to make the visit comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Lynn S:

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and for your kind words and review. I am so happy to hear that everything went so well for you, and that you were able to take advantage of everything our hotel has to offer. We take great pride in having an incredible staff and clean rooms, while being very affordable based upon our location. These things are of the greatest importance, as guest satisfaction is everything in the hospitality industry.
Thank you again for the great review, and please do come and stay with us again the next time you are in Rochester. We will look forward to seeing you!

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have been staying at the Brentwood Inn & Suites since 2001, on several occasions, when we either had appointments or surgeries at Mayo Clinic. I cannot say enough good about Brentwood. It is always very clean, the staff is very cordial and helpful, the location to Mayo Clinic and Methodist Hospital is excellent (connected by Subway and, believe me, that is something you want in single digit and sub-zero weather), and although the breakfast area is small, they do a very good job of furnishing a decent breakfast in limited breakfast space. The rooms are light and airy, very comfortable, and clean, clean, clean, which is so appreciated. When we first started going to Mayo, we stayed in a few other places around Mayo, and believe me, Brentwood is the best, and the best bargain. They also have on-site free parking, and a mini-fridge and microwave in the room, and a laundry room is available.

Room Tip: We prefer the second floor because it has no steps and can go directly to the elevator to the subway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentwoodManagement, Manager at Brentwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dolores M:

First of all, I want to thank you for your continued patronage and loyalty to the Brentwood. Thirteen years is a long time, and I am extremely happy we are able to have this relationship with you. So THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH! It is because of people like you that help our hotel (being independent and family owned) continue to be successful.
You said so many wonderful things that it truly shows the amount of times that you stayed with us. For us, offering a clean, competitively priced room, with excellent amenities and guest service, is what we strive for on a daily basis. I am happy to hear that we have been so consistent over the past thirteen years, as this makes me extremely proud and happy!
You as the guest comes first, and it sounds like we have done our job.
Once again, thank you so very much for the incredible review and your continued loyalty and support of the Brentwood. Let us know if there is ever anything you may need. Take care, and see you the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Brentwood Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.8 mi away
Brentwood on 2nd
Brentwood on 2nd
#43 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.1 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#18 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Inn and Suites

Property: Brentwood Inn and Suites
Address: 123 Fourth Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brentwood Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Brentwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing