We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order fish as its a fish restaurant.”
Review of Pescara

Pescara
Reserve with OpenTable
Pescara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 303 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$36
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd St SW and Broadway
Transit: We are located 2 blocks away from the Rochester City Bus Depot.
Description: Pescara invites those with an appetite for fresh, forward food to share small plates, savor fine wine and enjoy selections from sea and land. Located in the newly renovated DoubleTree Hotel in downtown Rochester, it"s the perfect place to gather for business lunches, pre-theater appetizers or romantic dinners.
Goleta, California
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Order fish as its a fish restaurant.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Surly porter, shrimp fra diablo over wild rice with a salad was very good. Fruits of the sea with pancetta was very good. Brussels sprouts were excellent. Dined here two evenings. Service and staff were excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank goletagone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    157
    62
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Brunch for Quality and Value”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've been to Pescara for dinner, and it was very good, but when I had brunch there recently, I just had to write a review! The buffet is quality rather than quantity with quiche, shrimp pasta, gouda home fries, even lobster bisque, but I really loved the items you can order from the kitchen, which are perfect portions. We tried a bunch of items, and the standouts were the oatmeal pancakes and the biscuits and gravy. A mimosa is included and the service was great. For about $20, it's a steal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karisma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey, but really amazing.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have eaten here both for lunch and dinner and the service and quality of the food was exceptional. The only complaint would be that the dinner service was nearly $200 and we each only had a glass of wine. For special occasions, though it is probably worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grant m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Town!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Rochester, MN is often thought of for one thing - the Mayo Clinic. And while it may be the sight of one of the best medical centers in the world, doctors, nurses and support staff have to eat. Pescara is the place that is referred to over and over again as the best spot in town, and I have to agree. The seafood is fresh, flown in daily, and prepared in creative and interesting ways. I sampled the sockeye salmon with a soy glaze and a spicy chili sauce on the side and it was simply outstanding. They also serve steaks and other fare but the seafood has been so good that I have stayed with it visit after visit. The sides are big enough to share as is the delicious hummus appetizer.
Pescara isn't the cheapest spot in town as the dinner seafood can run $25 - $35 a la carte, but there is a great $10 lunch list that I have enjoyed on each of my last few visits. I have also shared a couple appetizers and made a great dinner out of them (the bang-bang calamari was yummy!).
Jenni at the bar is a delight as are the rest of the outstanding staff. If you're heading to Rochester, make Pescara a must try as it truly is the best spot in town!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and attentive service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited Rochester three times over a six week period and have experienced all of the restaurants. Pescara is the best, not just in terms of food but even more in terms of attentive service. I've had fish tacos, shrimp tacos, lobster bisque, and the great Crab Louie salad. We'll be back on our next visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pescara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing