We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately NOT going back!”

Twigs Tavern & Grille
Ranked #12 of 301 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rochester's only restaurant with a dedicated Gluten-Free kitchen. Discover a unique and exciting dining experience at Twigs Tavern and Grille. Locally owned, Twigs offers many delectable menu options in a warm atmosphere. Gather around our Hot Rock Grilling or enjoy several small plates. You and your guests will enjoy a truly memorable dining experience.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Definately NOT going back!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The worst thing about this restaurant is that it wasn't very clean. The table was dirty and the plates the food was on had fingerprints and smudges all over. I noticed an employee cleaning the tables with a dirty rag instead of towels that could be disposed of after each use. They just had that on TV how much bacteria is on those rags restaurants use multi times.
The food was very disappointing, it was my husbands last meal before his surgery in the morning and we saw a Twigs add in the visitor's guide, it looked nice in the ad, but very dissapointing. They make a big deal of the outdoor patio but it wasn't a big deal.
The hotel " Best Western" which is connected, looked like a real dump especially the front desk and the restrooms which are the ones you have to use if you eat at the restaurant.
The only thing I can say was great was our waiter, he was friendly and he gave us great service. Stick to Pescara's, Chester's, Sontes or Michael's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi and P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    96
    32
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
215 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Don't pass up the desserts”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This restaurant is just off the lobby of the Best Western Hotel in downtown Rochester, MN. The meals we had were well prepared and were of the gourmet variety. Our server suggested a number of desserts and we settled on "Chocolate Enchanment". It was a large enough portion to share with a friend containing a moist chocolate type cake with real whipped cream on top and two scoops of ice cream. Sinful to say the least. The service was good and the prices seemed reasonable for the quality of the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn F, Manager at Twigs Tavern & Grille, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your visit to Twigs Tavern and Grille. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Chocolate Enchantment dessert. It is a favorite of many! We are thrilled that you were happy with your service and found our prices reasonable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Taryn Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good Food at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Really enjoyed a dinner with drinks at Twigs. Lots of choices, fresh and very tasty. Plus compared to Chicago prices (my hometown), it was a very good value. Paid $5 for a good-sized margarita, appetizers from $5, meals from about $12. Plus they have a substantial gluten-free menu. Sampled the gluten-free bread, and it was delicious---to my surprise! Sat in the outdoor patio, which was lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OntheGo630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn F, Manager at Twigs Tavern & Grille, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are so happy to hear you were able to enjoy a nice evening on the patio. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dinner and drinks. We have created our menu with options for everyone and are happy that you found our menu to have lots to choose from. We have worked very hard to ensure each and every item is fresh and tastes wonderful. We are glad that you were able to try the gluten-free bread. We hope you visit Twigs Tavern and Grille again soon. Sincerely, Taryn Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Good Place for Something Different”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

While in Rochester at Mayo, I visited Twigs twice. The first time we enjoyed cooking our meal on a hot rock. The sauces were delicious (don't miss the fresh cocktail sauce!), as were the sides of Twigs mashed potatoes and broccolini.

The second visit I tried one of their "smaller plates". I ordered the pulled pork nachos. The concept was great, but the meat itself was dry.

The outdoor seating is beautiful and relaxing. Request a seat there if you can!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn F, Manager at Twigs Tavern & Grille, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing your visit to Twigs Tavern and Grille. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with the Hot Rock you came back for more! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Hot Rock and found all of the sauces and sides delicious. Thank you for letting us know about the Philly Pork Nachos. We have looked into this issue to ensure that it does not happen again. We appreciate you letting us know. We are happy that you were able to sit and relax on our beautiful patio. Thank you for recommending it to others. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Rochester. Sincerely, Taryn Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
2 reviews
“Chef jeff”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Food was over priced . I had a steak sandwich and It was real tough and the horadiish sauce was over bearing . and sloppy threst of the sandwich was sloppy. ihad the mash potates they were dry .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefjeffmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twigs Tavern & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Twigs Tavern & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing