We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Fragrant Shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunan Garden

Hunan Garden
Ranked #75 of 300 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Has won best Chinese resturant in Rochester for many years, small and family run. Phone number 507-285-1438
Oronoco, Minnesota
Level Contributor
338 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Yummy Fragrant Shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Had our food to go. The order only took 10 minutes. We ordered hot & sour soup (tasty but not the best ever), egg rolls (o.k.), fragrant shrimp with extra vegetables (really yummy with lots of pea pods, mushrooms, water chestnuts, bamboo shoots and plenty of shrimp) and almond chicken (which I did not try).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank richie1732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
190 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Prices, Fast Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We went at lunch, and had way more food than we could eat, even though 3 of us split two dishes.

The soups were as expected: the hot and sour and egg drop did not disappoint, nor did they wow. The pork fried rice was tasty and the Chicken dish we had was nicely done, and did have some spiciness. Brown rice came with the chicken dish, which is a nice addition.

Service was mostly very good, with the exception of needing to ask twice for chili garlic sauce.

Prices were very reasonable, and we packed enough take away for a dinner. For a city whose cuisine is not at the cutting edge, this is very decent and it fits the midwest style I've noticed in other restaurants. When you factor in the price, it will do for most people or families, as long as you are not expecting gourmet.

If you are from a big city, or are a foodie, overall Rochester restaurants will disappoint more than wow you. Most people are either from the region or are here for world class health care, and having a meal is the important part.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan Fagnani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really good "midwest Chinese"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

As several reviewers have noted, if you are looking for what you ate in China or Singapore, then don't come to Rochester :). The complaints pointing out a lack of authenticity are valid, but for midwest style Chinese food this place is really really good. The service was great, portions were big. Cost was reasonable (around $8 on average for many main dishes) We had a group of 5 and had the group special, sharing 5 entrees with drinks and appetizers included. Everything was quite delicious. I travel all over Asia and eat with Chinese friends there, its not like this, but that doesnt mean that the food at Hunan Garden isn't delicious. My favorite was the big crunchy egg rolls.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuyJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hunanese copy cuisine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Well, the dishes are by far to big. It doesn't taste like Hunanese food…not authentic…
The shrimp soup tastes like a tomatosyrup.
The tables are by far too small for 4 people to eat comfortably.
If this is the best in town, possibly, but it must be the only one in town then.
The menu card is full of nice dishes, but what you get is different…
We tried also to eat the Beijing duck, except the sauce the duck was nowhere near an original one.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernhardb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, WI
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My absolutely favorite dish is the Sesame Chicken, where the chicken is lightly bread but yet crispy. The main dish is served on a bed of always fresh lettuce. If I'm in the mood for something else, I highly recommend the Mushu Pork, which has never disappointed me. I love the crab rangoons and the pot stickers.

The restaurant is super casual and most of the staff are friendly and attentive. For a great dinner at a great price, I highly recommend Hunan Garden. One of my favorite places to go whenever I'm in Rochester.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennelliott14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunan Garden also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing