We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday inn rochester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
KSA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holiday inn rochester”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

good location, clean, easy accessible to down town shops and mayo clinic vis skywalk.Free internet. swiming pool at site
i wrote to the manager and he did not respond to me over my 8 days stay( they wrote contact us and we will make your stay comfortable.
Although i booked my room with brake fast and taxes, they added brake fast tax and gratuity of 18% to my bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerKSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    61
    62
    29
    27
See reviews for
63
39
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I give it an average because good and bad were balanced. The important things were good: we had a large room with two queen beds, the bathroom was standard with a good shower and plentiful tho well washed and therefore not soft towels. The hotel was quite and centrally located in downtown. Reception was on the second floor because the first floor was office space. The decor was gaudy in the hallways. I found the bed comfortable. There is great turnover because most people staying here are going to the Mayo clinic for evaluation consultation or treatment. The front desk was behind on updating the paperwork and the clerks were discussing who had done more of the filing while the computer was very slow. We got assigned a room that was already occupied and the clerk blamed the customers who had extended their stay but not notified the desk. An employee escorted us to the new room and asked my wife "What brings you to Rottenchester?" the room keys were cards that had to be changed daily because they kept malfunctioning. One time as I was waiting to get a new room key/card the front desk person was telling someone checking in that he was getting a coupon for a free drink so" you can celebrate if your appointment at the Mayo Clinic goes well...or you can have a cup of coffee in the morning." Note: parking in nearby city parking structures is $12/ day thru the hotel with unlimited in and out. The 24 hour charge in the same parking is $12.50 per day and you have to pay each time you leave. Several of the lots are connected to the hotel and the Mayo by skywalks. This was not mentioned when we booked the hotel. Breakfast is Not included in the room rate. Had we known these facts we would have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, which we prefer, which quoted a higher price but includes free parking And free breakfast. Caveat empetor. The HI Downtown does have a pool, sauna and exercise room. So as I said, a mixed bag and therefore 3star rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrStuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Of course the hotel was beautiful with great rooms, but the service makes it five stars. From the moment we arrived, the staff was willing to go out of their way to make our experience good. The room was large and very clean. We came into town for Mayo Clinic and we can travel all the way there from our hotel by skywalk or they have a shuttle, which was awesome because it was rainy. There was a bartender that was rude, but when we told Jen and Cherri they profusely apologized for him and told us it was his first night and that they were willing to go to any length to make it right. When we said we didn't need anything extra, they called our room the next morning to tell us that they had dropped breakfast and coffee right outside our door. It was so nice! They definitely went above and beyond on service and I would reccommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We could of not asked for better service, care, and food. The staff were amazing!! Sherri was the best and made sure all of our guests were well taken care of throughout the entire weekend!!! Erika was on top of making sure all of our needs were met and planned for prior to the event! Our reception guests were absolutely amazed with everything and we received nothing but compliments throughout the entire night! WTG Holiday Inn you ROCK!!!

Room Tip: By the pool side is a little noisy in the morning if you are trying to sleep...so if you want peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tambi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Cherrie went way out of her way to see that our stay was as comfortable as possible. The staff was wonderful. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Walking distance to Mayo clinic. Having tests done at Mayo Clinic. Had stayed on outskirts of town the previous night, much more convenient to be downtown for early morning tests.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
640 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We came down from the twin cities to attend a concert at the Civic center..after reading reviews I was expecting an old rundown hotel but I was surprised by the very nice and large room...the only thing that indicated this was an older hotel was the small size of the bath...everything was new looking.. Granite counters ..flat screen TV, Microwave, Fridge & bedding a very nice room.
We got a package of parking ( the public lot they share with city charges $12 per day, room and breakfast ( $20 per room)...so that was good and the civic center is a 2 block walk in the skyway..very conveient...the breakfast was good and the $20 covered all but Tip
I'd stay here again if going to the civic center.

Room Tip: the higher you are the less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This Holiday Inn is in the cluster of hotels and motels that are close to and serve the Mayo Clinic. It is very close to the main cluster of Mayo buildings and many if not most of the people who stay here probably have something to do with Mayo--a patient, visiting a family member, attending a meeting, a sales call etc.

The pros for this property is that it is a full service hotel and very convenient to Mayo. It is appropriately priced for the level of service and the quality of the hotel.

The cons: it is old and in the past it has not been as well managed as it could have been. Right now it is in transition. It will be interesting to see what it is like when both the business processes and the environment are upgraded--and when I stayed here at the end of August there was a rennovation under way, although it seems like this won't impact the rooms, just the common spaces.

I have stayed here at least a half dozen times and tried 4 or 5 other properties in the area. This Holiday Inn is a bit tired but it has the best balance of convenience and price in the immediate area. No doubt I will stay here again.

Room Tip: There are a lot of restaurants or all kinds in walking distance that give you options that are cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear MadDog459,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am delighted you liked the convenient location of our property and the level of service and quality we offer. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with the renovations. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Rochester you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.3 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#17 of 52 in Rochester
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 52 in Rochester
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadway Plaza
Broadway Plaza
#35 of 52 in Rochester
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Address: 220 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-6514 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by the pedestrian skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and featuring live music every Friday night. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.50 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing